We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only best option in Shimoga.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Shimoga
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Right from check in everything goes smoothly. Rooms are specious, Staff is courteous, Food is good. I am a regular visitor here and I don't think I will shift to any other hotel in Shimoga.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeeKay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
There are newer reviews for Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

440 - 446 of 472 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2012

1)Check in: fast/smooth 2) Room: Beautiful and very modern 3)Linen/Towels: Very clean and crisp
4)Bathroom: Clean/spacious 5)Central Ac but a bit noisy 6)Big flat screen samsung Tv 7)Location: On the main road and very prominent 8)Service: very good though last year it was even better 9)Breakfast: Very good. 10) Check out: Fast. Will stay here whenever in Shimoga and recommend to friends. Overall 8/10

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarojpatni2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

The Royal Orchid is an excellent location, adjacent to the bus station and very close to the railway station, right in the city center. Excellent service in the hotel. A relatively new hotel and probably the best in town

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaivishramBaindoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Goes without saying that this is the best place to stay in Shimoga. Found the hospitality at par with the other hotels in this chain I've visited. I am a foodie and thus had many trips from the Room service and the guys never disappointed :-) Loved Pinxx and the ambience though DJ could have been better. In terms of food quality, Tiger Trail rocks and the buffet breakfast did not disappoint. One thing worth noticing was the cleanliness and the housekeeping team sure does a great job on this aspect. Missed seeing a swimming pool and some indoor amenities such as snooker, pool though understand the positioning of this property does not let such amenities be included.

Overall my first choice for a stay in future whenever I am in Shimoga.

-Sajal Jaiswal

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sajal80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Royal Orchid at Shimoga is like an oasis in the region, since there are no other Star properties in this city. I booked the Club room for 2 nights through an online travel agency, which had a tempting offer that included complimentary Breakfast and 1 day sight seeing tour except Jog falls. The Club room is very spacious almost like a suite measuring about 1000 square feet equipped with latest gadgets and amenities. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable for pleasant sleep quality. The stay is value for money and could be compared to any International Star rated property, perhaps better. The Health club and Swimming pool are huge attractions at any Star property, which are both missing here. I wish the Management considers this request seriously. The best part was the food served at their 2 signature Restaurants. Being a foodie, I loved the sumptuous Breakfast spread and incidentally the South Indian food festival started on the day we landed. The range of food items served was really vast and covered delicacies from every southern State. We also tried Tiger Trail restaurant for dinner. The food was of the highest quality especially the meat preparations. Overall the service is real quick and the staff go out of the way to make you happy. We had some issues with the door and Air conditioning and it was promptly attended to. However the Room service is little slow and you may have to plan well in advance. The check out process also took more time than expected since some of the food bills were missing, which I did not get finally. Overall I was extremely satisfied with the service and the ever smiling staff members.

Room Tip: Go for the Club room almost like a suite
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arvind_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Good place to stay at shimoga. Food and service everything was excellent but there were mosquito in the room that made the sleep irritating. No place to workout and no facilities for kids.

Booked through royal orchid website and got around 30-40% discount.

-Venky

Room Tip: Choose a room which is not facing the road.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venky79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stay at Royal Orchid Shimoga was superb.

Very pleasent and helpful staff

Team lead by F&B Manager Ravi Ojha and his staff were very Good and provided great service

My stay was just planned for 1 day but had to extend to 5 days due to the great royal treament recieved from the staff

I was unable to leave the place

The stays was worth the money spent as serfvice was on par with a 5 Star deluxe class hotel

I would recomend Royal Orchid Shimoga to all travellers to Shimoga who want a 5 star hotel expereince at 3 star property

Amit

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit_Viswanath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shimoga
1.0 mi away
Green View Clarks Inn
Green View Clarks Inn
#2 of 7 in Shimoga
19 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Jai Maata Grandeur
0.0 mi away
Regenta Inn
Regenta Inn
#401 of 666 in Bengaluru
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.6 mi away
Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls
0.0 mi away
Akash Inn Shimoga
Akash Inn Shimoga
#3 of 47 in Shimoga
52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
#9 of 47 in Shimoga
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga

Address: B H Road, Opposite Vinayak Theatre | BH Road, Shimoga 577201, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Shimoga District > Shimoga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Shimoga
Price Range: $45 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing