We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a 'Home' stay!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shimoga
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kolavara Heritage Homestay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Little deep into the countryside, we had to keep asking for directions but once we reached there we were at total peace. Please stay for at least 2 nights to really enjoy all the sights and the property. Superb masala tea (chai) and clean toilets with hot water is all that really matter in any place that I stay. The fact that there is practically no mobile network is a blessing. You can sight peacocks early in the morning if you can get up early. The owner Nischal is one of the sweetest guys I have ever met,most accomodating and very courteous; a thorough gentleman. The staff is minimal and nearly invisible till you need them. Then they will magically appear and attend to you. I found that very commendable.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pritam_Assrani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 238 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you are looking for a place which will make you forget the hustle and bustle of the city life, then look no further than Kolavara Heritage. I had visited this place during the third week of October and boy did we come out refreshed. It is a home stay to the true sense and we have already decided to make it an anual must visit place. This was our first trip with our 15 month old son and to say that he was taken care of very well would be an under statement. Vathsalya and Nischal are perfect hosts and I dont think I need to add any more than what has already been mentioned. Their care is genuine and it shows in the way they interact with their guests. Vathsalya's navigation skills can put gogle maps to shame, literally. I never got lost once while i was following her directions both while coming to the home stay and while returning to Bangalore.
The Food, i still drool thinking over it. Awesome experience and awesome place. I would suggest this place for any one and every one.

Room Tip: Try room 4 and room 5, they are on the right hand side of the property and open up into the coffee p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DassNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

We "lived" in this "home" for three days in first week of October 2012. This is a real "Home Stay" in which you feel part of the Kolavara Household, with personal attention from all four members of the family, who even have food with the guests. What makes us feel like returning to this place again is the friendly atmosphere and the polite way in which Vathsalya and Nishchal interact with us. The elder person in the family, Mr Narayana Murthy is a well known public figure in the area and is associated with the management of some educational institutions and was an office bearer till recently of the famous Kuvempu Memorial at nearby Kuppali. One can have meaningful and interesting conversations with this elderly but very active person and his equally resourceful wife. Even within the few meals we had, we could taste multiple varities of local dishes which were really great. They have their own small lake and a waterfall within their own estate, where you can walk around and enjoy. For those with interest in farming and agricuture, there is a lot to observe and learn, what with their coffee, arecanut plantations and the newly laid our rubber plantation. Overall, a great experience..

Room Tip: All rooms are very good. Large groups can opt for dormitory type, which is also very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Renuka5213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked this homestay for our weekend stay near Thirthahalli mainly based on its rating on TripAdvisor. And it is a unique little gem near Thirthahalli, home of Rashtrakavi Kuvempu.

It is the perceptive and friendly service that makes it worthwhile staying in this family-run homestay. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home.

I just really enjoyed the food that was served and had an excellent taste of Malnad cuisine..!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank simha45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We had a 3 day stay at Kolavara Heritage Homestay. Beautiful place. All the reviews are totally true. Vathsalya and Nischal were very polite and treated us like guests. The food was amazing. Every meal had a malnad cuisine special item. We relished the obattu, the bread halwas, appam, idiappam, neerdosa, akki roti, masala roti, jackfruit bajji, curd vada to name a few. Great place for people who love nature. No mobile signal or internet connectivity. Very ideal to destress and stay away from your routine. Trekking in the nearby hill was just superb. There is a tunga river nearby and it is a safe place with no one to disturb. We had a great time soaking ourselves in water. Hot water was available 24x7. The best part is all the workers in the place are nice and smiling. Wish we could stay a little longer.

Room Tip: They have a nice big room with 2 twin beds and a single bed suitable for 5 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nithyavenkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

First we decided what kind of holiday we want, a Family of four, Home stay, no swimming pool, billiards,AC,TV, continental food ( cooked by professional hotel cooks) etc , for all these we dont have to travel 330 Kms from Bangalore. We had had experience of home stay at coorg some time back, and had decided on a home stay holiday again,where we were looking for Good ,authentic,malnad ,vegetarian, food; good hospitality, far from the crowd and city . i wanted my vacation to begin with the journey (drive from Bangalore ) wanted to enjoy my journey as much as the stay, the best stretch of the drive was from Shivmoga to Thirthahalli.
Once in the home stay, we were guests of a family unlike a hotel where we are guests but of a corporate/ company Hotel..

Food was excellent, variety of food amazing,trekking (with Nagabushan as our guide) was fun, Poets home now a museum and the place where he got his inspiration was breath taking, we did not go to Agumbae,( as the ones that went the previous day said that the roads were bad.

Hospitality was at its best at Kolavara, would definitely recommend to people who are looking forward to a similar holiday, ie no music , Tv, swimming pool etc, but to relax, rejuvenate, recharge,. Definitely safe to go to with family. If you are from outside Karnataka and want to know how good people of my state are , this is the place.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the open veranda seemed to be better, but my room was also comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sumangupta1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Kolavera is secluded from the hustle bustle of the usual city life. Situated exactly 300 kms from Bengaluru it is surrounded by areca plantations and scenic views. The Kolavera house is a beautiful heritage property with a perfect home stay experience - starting from birds waking you up to the fresh nip in the air with a tinge of firewood fragrance coming from the kitchen to compliment your breakfast ambiance - a fresh filter coffee to a walk into the areca estate - authentic Malnad lunch to comforting yourself in the cozy beds for a quick recharge nap for a small nature walk around the plantation followed by a camp fire accompanying hot "yummy" fried snacks ,soup & a hearty chat with the hosts.

There was loads of entertainment in the games room for the kids (and adults sometimes) and we just loved the down time lazing, doing nothing, chatting, sipping hot strong coffee and amazing passion fruit juice, tender coconut water(another good part). We had the exclusivity of the place, being served, pampered like Kings & Queens.

The good thing about Kolavera is the approach road which is a superbly laid out NH 13. Right from Shivamogga city to Kolavera, the road journey is a breeze. In fact this place is strategically situated close to many tourist destinations like Agumbe, Kundadri, Sringeri, Sirimane falls & Kupli. All these places are a photographers delight.

The hosts, Nischal, Vatsalya and their entire family are extremely hospitable and are ever ready taking care of the guests needs. Their ever smiling face and the warmth displayed is un-matched and simply outstanding. All in all, a fantastic time spent and we are already planning the next trip.

Nishchal, Vatsalya… see you soon. And off course, thanks a ton for making our stay extremely memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brundakartyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shimoga hotels
30.7 mi away
Royal Orchid Central, Shimoga
31.7 mi away
Green View Clarks Inn
Green View Clarks Inn
#2 of 7 in Shimoga
23 reviews
31.2 mi away
Hotel Jai Maata Grandeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
54.2 mi away
Hotel Mayura Gerusoppa Jogfalls
30.7 mi away
Hotel Sanman Lodge
Hotel Sanman Lodge
#11 of 22 in Shimoga
10 reviews
30.6 mi away
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
Sri Mahalakshmi Residency
#8 of 48 in Shimoga
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kolavara Heritage Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kolavara Heritage Homestay

Address: Kolavara Basavani | Thirthahalli District, Shimoga 577205, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Shimoga District > Shimoga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Shimoga
Price Range: $88 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Kolavara Heritage Homestay Shimoga, Karnataka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing