We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jog Falls - mesmerizing view of natural water fall”
Review of Jog Falls

Jog Falls
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Shimoga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
DUBAI
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Jog Falls - mesmerizing view of natural water fall”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Jog-falls is most wonderful scenario of water mass falling from such a great height, amidst thick rainforest mountains of majestic Western Ghats. This is great scenery is so satisfying to the eyes of any visitor.
It was arduous journey by Car from Temple city of Udupi or Mangalore Airport. Once you reach the falls, you feel it’s worth taking all trouble. It is such a wonderful experience visiting worlds second highest natural water falls. The flow is controlled as Linganamakki Dam built on up stream. However full glory of falling water mass can be better viewed during full Monsoon months of July August

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PRATHAPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    252
    103
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellary, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Less water”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We expected much water at jog falls its not right time to watch jog falls and it is very dangerous at bottom of jog falls

Helpful?
1 Thank UBALAJIRAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Probably better during the monsoons”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Jog Falls is quite majestic even when the water flow is reduced due to controlled discharge from the Linganamakki Reservoir. To witness it in all its glory, it is probably better to visit during peak monsoon season - June - September

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ToffeeTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“jog falls-gerusoppa falls”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

jog falls is one of wonderful scenic beauty attraction to be visited has said in rajkumar's movie song-before u die atleast see this falls for once,it has 4falls-raja,rani,rocket and roarer.From bangalore by road its 7hr.Online booking for kstdc Mayura hotel is available,the rooms are very good except for room service which is not available.There is music fountain at 7.30-8pm.When the water levels are low u can climb down to the falls for breath taking view.there are many view points to see this falls.On the way to the falls via shimoga there is wildlife park which can be visited..

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank lathasiddharth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadh
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“best place in karnataka”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

every year I go for my annual vacation to India. a visit to Jog falls is must. it is the best place place I have seen in my life.
it is just 100 Kmtrs away from my home. had visited twice. I ride my bike to this place with my wife from thirthahalli , shimoga dist.
3000 stairs. that is massive count you have to beat. you have to go down.. going is easy but when you return you will need someone to carry you...once you go down you will reckon it is worth.
better go early as possible. spend some time down near water fall and retrurn back in the afternoon. remeber it will take around half an hour or more to go down bu when you return 3000 stairs you need more than an hour or half to climb.
carry some food while you go down.
spectacular view of falls is just amazing. we went there during November and October. there was plenty of water. but best bet would be to go there during monsoon June to august and even September. but I heard that you will not allowed to go down stairs during mansoon time which you will be disappointed.
there plenty of small roadside hotels to eat but for hotels to stay you might have to travel some distance.
you will enjoy the most if you go there with your friends rather than you r family. road is nice for travelling. its not patchy.
a must visit place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank shakir a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jog Falls also viewed

Shimoga, Shimoga District
Shimoga, Shimoga District
 
Shimoga, Shimoga District
 

Been to Jog Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing