We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As my ancestors say "See Jog Falls atleast once before you Die"”
Review of Jog Falls

Jog Falls
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Shimoga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“As my ancestors say "See Jog Falls atleast once before you Die"”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I would say, dont visit this place just once but as many times you get to see this. It is the best water falls I have seen in my life. I would sit infront of it for hours and do nothing. Forget the whole world and get yourself indulge with the natural beauty of it. Visit this place during Sep to Nov and plan when it has rained in Talguppa area few days before your travel. Best if to visit the foothills of the Jog falls.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shiv_Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    243
    102
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
751 reviews
470 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 538 helpful votes
“December - wrong time ! Go in July/August !!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

It is December, I could not imagine that there shall be so less water. I knew it is not going to be as good in July/August, but, it was something so less as if it was peak summer ! Quite disappointed. Anyway, did not want to miss any fun and trekked all the way and had different angles and views at the falls. There is a small dam all the way down which gives good views.

Looks like it would be interesting to walk down if there is more water !

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Karthik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Walk down the stairs and trek”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

There are 1400 steps. You'll enjoy it when you walk down all the steps and then trek on the stones and reach near the falls. When you walk down the legs will shiver and when you walk up you'll feel tired

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank neekrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Terribly overrated”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This place is overrated.. agreed, this is the tallest (or deepest) water falls in India, however the quantum of water is not that much. When I visited in last week of Dec 2012, there was hardly any water. I have also visited this place earlier (twice) during peak monsoons.. there wasnt too much water then either!!

Coming to the attraction, there are two viewpoints - one is the main entrance developed by the government. Take the road to Shimoga, from there to Sagar (70kms) and from there onto Jog Falls (30kms) - there are milestones all along and its difficult to lose the way. If coming fro Honnavar, on the Sagar road, just take a right to the falls. Once there, pay the parking fee and enjoy the beauty of the falls from the viewpoint OR walk down to the base of the falls using the steps provided (of course, it would be a daunting task to come back up). There is also a view bridge to view the Hydro electric power station.

Get back onto the main road, and a left U turn a few metres after the bridge - you come to the British Bungalow - the views from here are even more spectacular - you can walk upto the rocks from where the water falls - it is believed that the best way to enjoy this waterfall is to lie down on one of the many rocks and look straight down to the base. An experience in itself !!

A must visit place, but dont be disappointed with the amount of water.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank ramansvinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rajahmundry, India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“jog falls”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

This is no doubt a majestic Falls when there is water here. We were here this Oct '12 as recommended and the falls were a sad little stream. Would not advise going to this place this year and check the river levels before driving out there.there you can take a nice man he is guide at jog.he showed me each and every place there if any body wants help at jog they can take his help i will give you mobile number and upload his photo with his auto

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Srinivas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jog Falls also viewed

Shimoga, Shimoga District
Shimoga, Shimoga District
 
Shimoga, Shimoga District
 

Been to Jog Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing