We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a location!”
Review of Jog Falls

Jog Falls
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Shimoga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow, what a location!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

The drive from Gokarna's side seems straight out of National Geographic Africa.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank starpeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    247
    102
    18
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I visited Jog Falls last year (from 1 st Dec ~ 5 Dec 2011) when I visited my Son ( awarded a TM Pai Gold from Manipal.”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Water Fall has its nature and beauty.It was worth the travelling time by car from Karnataka.The journey takes approximately 4 hrs drive.Jog falls executes the beauty in nature with the pearly failing water from a very high altitude with abundance of love scenery.Safety measure along the way was adequate for me to climb up and down to the Jog falls.There is a good potential tourist attraction if there is a facilities for stay in.Pay and use toilets are available and they are kept quite clean. Recomended only a day trip if to promote Tourism on Jog Falls.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Anthonychong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great tourist attraction but lacking in amenities”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

I visited Jog falls in April 1st week knowing too well that this is not the right time to see the Falls. I had a tempting offer at Royal Orchid Shimoga, which I could not refuse and hence the visit.The journey from Shimoga to Jog took us only about 90 mins since the entire stretch of about 105 kms is just superb. As expected not much to enjoy since we could see only 1 waterfall with the flow barely trickling down the huge mountain slope. Maybe post monsoon is the right time to enjoy Jog falls. Compared to Hogennakal in Tamil Nadu, I found this place much better. There were no touts running after us ; nobody chasing tourists for oil massage ; parking was free and entry hassle free. The place was also kept clean and I liked the enclosure from where you can view the Falls without getting too close. There is good scope to improve the facilities for stay and food if private entrepreneurs are allowed. Currently this place has just 1 decent Restaurant managed by the Government. The only toilet facility was locked for some reason. I could see a tourist lodge but it was deserted and needed repairs badly. For such a world renowned tourist destination, Jog Falls should be seriously promoted by the Tourism Ministry.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
10 Thank arvind_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nothing... literally NOTHING!!!!”
Reviewed March 1, 2012

When I think of an attraction which was a total disappointment.. Jog Falls is what comes to my mind. Even though it is the second biggest falls in the country there is no water in the falls. I have seen more sewage water in the cities sewers than in the Jog Falls. There is no place to stay other than the Karnataka Tourism Hotel which allows only online booking. A complete waste of time, effort and money is what it is.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Chakravarthy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
783 reviews
504 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 706 helpful votes
“nice place to visit during rainy season”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Water fall is full in rainy season and the nature is in its full beauty. One can enjoy the fall and greenery to the fullest. Jog falls, is situated in the Shimoga district of Karnataka. Originated from the river Sharavati, it is 104 km from Shimoga, and 379 km away from Bangalore. Far from the hush and rush of the city life, Jog falls executes the pleasant beauty of nature with the pearly falling water from a high altitude creating a heavenly scenario. With the abundance of flora and fauna, you can enjoy well here. Children of all ages can play and hike here. Both trains and buses can be availed to reach this destination; however bus and car journey seems to be the best to complete a trip to Jog falls.
Pay and use toilets are available and they are kept quite clean. Coffee and food is also available Visiting uring sunlight is good to enjoy the fall and surroundings.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank loki_knows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jog Falls also viewed

Shimoga, Shimoga District
Shimoga, Shimoga District
 
Shimoga, Shimoga District
 

Been to Jog Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing