We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent and peaceful jungle stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kali Adventure camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kali Adventure camp
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent and peaceful jungle stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We visited Dandeli as 3 friends (age group around 40) from Pune with an aim of spending some quiet time in the jungle as a part of our Coastal and North Karnataka trip in first week of November 2012. The foremost point that I observed is that the staff is EXTREMELY courteous and strives very hard to ensure that the visitor gets refreshed. I spoke to a few staff members to check out what made them so passionate and courteous towards the customers and I got the reply "Sir, people come here away from the city to forget their city headaches and want some good time here. If we don't behave properly with them, they will find this holiday no different than their city life with irritation throughout the day. We try to make their stay worth the money and time they spend".
We had heard about this resort from friends and the Trip Advisor reviews also rated it highly so based on the reviews, we booked the river view tent accordingly. The resort is next to the town yet once inside, it is quiet, peaceful and tranquil. It had rained for 2-3 days (probably the "Neelam" cyclone effect) so there were not many wildlife sightings near the usual waterholes and a thick fog in early morning limited the visibility for bird spotting but these are factors outside our control. We still got good walks and outings in the jungle. We spotted a couple of crocodiles in the river below, got multiple sightings of the Malabar HornBill, spotted a few bisons, deers etc in the jungle and got acquianted with some unknown jungle trees. There is carrom and Table tennis to spend some indoor time.

The fits and finishes inside the tent are not very great, but there is a sitout and more than enough open space to stroll around or loaf around so minimal time gets spent inside the tent. (Families with high expectations of interior finishes may find this tent accommodation unsuitable). Food was homely / good, nothing extravagant but there was this sweet dish to settle the meal in a nice mode. Few reviewers on TripAdvisor had mentioned the noises from town disturbing the tranquility. To this effect, we observed that 2-3 times in a hour, one gets to hear the sound of a passing heavcy vehicle. There is a mosque that gives out the prayer on the loudspeaker at its designated timings ibn the day but it is not a disturbing sound, it goes with the atmosphere undisturbed. There are mosquitoes (what else can we expect in a jungle lodge) but a layer of Odomos keeps them away and the tents have nets which guard off the insects from entering the living space.

If one is looking for activity heavy jungle trip with lots of safari thrills or adventures, then this may not be the best place but if one is looking for a tranquil holiday in the laps of the forest with acctivities enough to keep us engaged for a couple of days, then this is a highly recommended place.As regards value for money or the value for the travel time, each traveller should take his/her own call, the price is indeed Rs 3250 per person per night (all inclusive package)

Room Tip: River View tents preferred to rooms located inside the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sameer_Agashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    85
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
78
41
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

I am a big fan of Jungle lodges and resort, I have been to Devbagh(Karwar), Bannerghatta nature camp etc however Kali adventure camp was a terrible experience. I will never recommend this place to any one, it’s not worth going to Dandily from Bangalore and not at all worth paying 3000 per person for a tented cottage per night!
Resort is just 1km from the main road so it doesn’t give you the jungle effect, its situated on the bank of river kali however the river looks like a dirty pond and on the other side of the river you can see the house construction work going on. The paper factory works all night. Sirens at 11pm and 4am and machine noise at all times. Chimney visible over the trees. Mosque call to prayer at 6 am and Hindu temple at 7 with loudspeakers! It was quieter in the centre of Bengaluru. I felt like we were staying in government guest house, resort is over staffed and they keep themselves busy in their own work like playing volley ball and carom.
They take you for a coracle ride which is hardly 0.5km and what you see is people are washing clothes on the other side of the river, regular seen which one can see while traveling in local train around Kolkata. Can you just pay so much for food and nature work and this kind of ambience?
If you are a bird lover or nature lover you should go to old magazine house ganeshgudi or Bandipur which is also a resort by jungle lodges.

Room Tip: Please do not visit this place, its not a nature lovers place!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pranita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Tasty food (just like home) not too extravagant, very polite and courteous staff (never ever had an 'not this' moment), was not a rafting season and thanks to supreme court safari was banned as well, so had not much to do but the 3 day stay for enough to rejuvenate, had nature walk, bird watching, long Jeep trip in the forest, coracle riding. To sum up- Go for it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sablokj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Jungle lodges are always known for their exemplary service and this is place is no different.
Its very accessible from the bus stand ( ~ 2km away) and you will find plenty of rickshaw's who can drop off at 30-40 rs.
Resort is situated on the banks of Kali and when we visited the place it was pouring cats n dogs because of which water level was dangerously above the normal level. Even the entry to resort was submerged till knee level and rumors were that crocodile had made its way.
Could not go for coracle ride which was big appointment, however the staff compensated that by taking us on ride inside the jungle and to Syntheri Rocks ( must see)
They provide buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner as part of package which is recommended Food ( Veg) is extremely tasty and they also have small bar attached.
If you want to spend time inside the resort like we did because of the downpour, you can choose from carrom, table tennis (worn out bats :( ) and cycling . They also have in house store if you want to buy Jungle Lodges merchandise.
One should avoid visiting during monsoon's as you will not able to do anything else but sit in the resort and enjoy kali river flowing.with all its fury
Take good camera along for bird photography as you can spot Hornbills, parakeet etc
Ensure you take the itinerary along as seen in the website as they may offer alternatives based on the season you visit.
You can also split your stay in Old Magazine house which is close by and is offered at much lower rate than kali. However, I cannot comment on this as I have not been there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank navaneeth78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

this place is amazing..stayed in river view tents..gr8 location,good food,friendly staff..river flowing in front of the resort..u will hv lot of things to do..safari(though there is no much wildlife)nature walk,bird watching,coracle ride,fishing,tt carrom..on time food and snacks..a nice bar..loved this place..must visit..but after october so that u dont miss rafting..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Praveenbgowda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Run by the government., its one of the best places to stay in Dandeli.

Good points ;

Good Airconditioned accommodation. Tents and regular rooms are also available.
Situated on the banks of river Kali.
Sprawling grounds filled with trees and vegetation
Good food especially vegetarian. Typical south Indian food. Bar attached. Full board included in accommodation.
One of the few locations having excellent white water rafting, upto class 4 rapids. (rafting charges extra)
Tariff includes a Corracle (round country boat) ride down the river.
Tariff includes a jungle safari.

Cons;
'Spa' desperately needs proper staffing and uplift.
Rafting - the highlight of the place is seasonal, check availability in advance by calling the resort directly.

Overall a very good property to visit.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Horizonseaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Jungle Lodges Kali adventure camp is situated quite close to dandeli city , its about 2 km from dandeli bus stop and takes around 40 rs by rick .The property is decently maintained and the staff is co - operative . we reached early and since their check -in is around 12 in the noon we opted for buffet breakfast since it was not included in our package . The Breakfast was average to say the least and for that price ( 170 rs per head ) it was extremely over priced .
During the Check IN inquired about Jungle Safari , their website clearly mentions 2 Jungle Safari 's but over here the manager told us the package includes only one Safari which i guess was a big disappointment for us , we felt cheated ,I suggest Please confirm the itinerary at the time of booking i showed them their itinerary on their website
on my phone , they gave a lame excuse that it has not been updated , they offered us a extra coracle ride instead
Checked in to our room which was clean , spacious and air conditioned .. the bathroom was decent too .. no problems whatsoever with the room
Went for the coracle ride after that , Coracle ride was Fun , we were able to spot the pied malabar hornbill which is a treat to watch , brahminy kite , darter bird , and also a couple of basking crocs around 6 ft in length i guess we were extremely lucky to spot all these in our ride
Lunch was simple but tasty juts like home food , enjoyed it .. rested in the afternoon and went for Jungle Safari at around 3 30 . The Dandeli wild life sanctuary is around 30 - 40 km from the resort , The Safari is a 3 -4 km ride inside the sanctuary one must be extremely lucky to spot any major wildlife here , deer peacocks , peahens are in abundance and are mostly spotted by all , we also spotted a huge serpent eagle
but the real surprise and one incident that made this whole dandeli trip worth it was when we spotted the elusive black panther just outside the sanctuary .... a big thank you to our guide mr shasheedharan who spotted it across the road ,the panther stood there for a minute staring us in the eye and then disappeared in to the woods , was able to click some decent snaps in the mean time
what an animal !!! sheer black beauty
i guess it was no less than a miracle that we spotted this elusive animal .
In the evening snacks( bhajjiyas ) were provided along with tea/coffee and the Dinner was decent too
To Sum it up the overall experience at Kali adventure camp was good , the staff is very cooperative and helpfull , food is good enough , rooms are cosy
a bit over priced i guess but then with the amount of wildlife that we spotted in a day i am not complaining

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank juleykedar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dandeli
0.0 mi away
Magenta Resort
Magenta Resort
#1 of 1 in Dandeli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leisure Vacations Westend, Karwar
9.9 mi away
Bison River Resort
Bison River Resort
#1 of 1 in Ganeshgudi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
State Lodge
State Lodge
#13 of 31 in Dandeli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Whistling Woodzs Wilderness River Resort
23.5 mi away
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#14 of 18 in Hubli-Dharwad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kali Adventure camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kali Adventure camp

Property: Kali Adventure camp
Address: Kogilban, Dandeli 581325, India
Location: India > Karnataka > Dandeli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Dandeli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kali Adventure camp 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Kali Adventure camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing