We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Sonmarg Glacier
Nearby Hotels
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
$73
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
20
25
17
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
25
17
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom servicehotel offerstravel agenthot waterrooms are averagesindh riverjahangirglacierviewmanagerhospitalitymrhygienetoiletsmaintenancemeadowsproperties
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 67 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

researched all of the properties here and none sounded reliably ok, so chose this on a few tripadvisor reviews. it is impossible to make a reservation here except by calling on the phone from india, (tried to use be indian reservations web site but it was useless), so we took a chance and just "arrived". there was a room. management friendly and competent, restaurant OK, room nice with view of area where the horses/horsemen go out for hire so that was fun to watch from the balcony, also views of mountains. room was quiet. the place is right across from where the road/trail goes up to the glacier, so if that is what you want to do (it is all there is to do here) it is a perfect location. also, one can hike up toward the glacier from here. but a bit far from the center of the town if one needs to be there. glad we stayed here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FROOOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Five of us stayed here for two days in early Sept 2012 just before we were to start a trek. Since Sept is out of season, we got very good rates at the hotel. Three of us were to share a room and we asked for an extra bed, and the hotel staff gave us the suite! It had two huge rooms and with amazing views, one room opened towards the Sindh Nallah and the other one towards Thajiwas.

The new wing is particularly good when it comes to views, and we saw the older building being refurbished when we were there.

Rooms are very clean, bathrooms are modern, there is hot water available in the mornings or on demand and the restaurant serves very tasty food. Sun rise and sun set views are great from the hotel, esp. around sun set, they would serve tea on the lawns of the hotel.

The hotel is just outside Sonmarg town, so it is outside all the hustle-bustle. The pony ride to Thajiwas starts just outside the hotel.

The hospitality was so good that we did not feel like leaving the hotel! I plan to go back there in winter soon...

Room Tip: Choose the new wing, and ask for the suite that is the first room on the right as soon as you enter the new wing, this has the best views.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KrishnaAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed with 5 of my family members in this hotel for 2 nights enroute to Amarnath in June 2012. What a stunning change of surrounding scenery between June and April!! In April 2011, when we visited this place, the whole area is covered with snow and white and white and white!! Now, in June, it is green, green and grey everywhrere!!. The hotel having about 15 rooms, is decent and clean. It will not exibit anything luxurious but quite comfortable for a daynor two. The rooms are decently big enough to accomodate 3 easily and runnign hot water is a bonus!! Hotel is located on the banks of sind river and provides beautiful views of peaks and valleys! The view of the The Tajiwas glaziers is amazing and breathtaking. The view on the full moon day is beyond words to explain!!
The bathrooms are clean. But again the beds are harder and definitely can be improved for softer and comfortable ones!! The in house restaurant serves veg and non veg food. We being the vegetarians, were happy with the quality of the food!! The soups and the sandwiches were really good!! They even facilitated us by giving the packed breakfast to carry along to Amarnath!! This proved out ot be very useful on the way to the shrine!! The room tariff is not very high and just OK for the quality of rooms and food.A decent hotel to stay with neat rooms, good facility and tasty food. The staff is very friendly and service minded. Thanks.

Room Tip: Take rooms in first floor, facing Tejiwas glaziers becuase they have balcony and gives best views.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EXPERTPMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Located very conveniently, just before the ZoZila pass, the hotel is on the banks of Sindh river.

The rooms, itself gave an impression of being a poor dump, unkept...
(Bulbs fused in room, stink in the rooms, linens not necessarily cleanest, no hot water on demand, but on specific ask). The first, instint was for us to leave and run. Dammed, if the reservation goes waste.

However, other hotels of Sonmarg, had similar situation.

So we were back at Sonmarg Glacier hotel.

We chose the new wing to stay, assuming it was new and better infra.

The location of the hotel is a magical boon. The rooms opened into the Sindh river and sound of chipring birds and gurgling river below, filled your night.

Anyways, we were over-whelmed by the hospitality extended... the request for clean linen, was followed up with replacement with BRAND NEW linen. The towels, changed with BRAND NEW out of the packet towels. Room freshner, additional pillows, cleaner pillows etc appeared magically.

The Owner/Manager at desk, was polite to ask us, if we were tired during the day, and though, it was required for the meals to be in Restaurant (near reception, but if we want, he can send anything we order for main dinner to our rooms).
Since we had plans to leave early (6AM) for Kargil, they offered on their own to pack the breakfast on whatever we wanted. Opted for sandwiches, but to our delight later, not only did the sandwiches came in, just as individually we had asked, but also some juice and some water to accompany it.

The stay was warm, very hospitable, and very rarely, I have seen, the first impressions (of rooms being a poor dump) changed into a place, I would go back again to.

Thank you for being the highlight of our Kashmir trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlokSinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Dear pals
i have just come back from an amazing trip to amarnath ji and some days of fun and travel in the beautiful valley of kashmir.
on my way to amarnath ji, i had planned a one day stay at Sonmarg Glacier, again strongly referred by my friend who had stayed there last year and loved it.
I can never forget the amazing hospitality shown by the staff at Sonmarg Glacier and especially Mr. Imitiyaz Wani, who went out of his way to make us feel at home and taken care of. The location is breathtaking and has been well detailed by others.
But for me, the most touching part was the way the staff dealt with us, helped us for every single smallest need of ours. I really respect the management of the hotel for grooming such great team and culture!
For now, till the time they dont loose this trust, this is my blind choice for self and for any recommendations i shall make to anyone for stay in sonmarg.
Regards
Puneet

Room Tip: anyone planning to stay there,,,,do choose the first floor rooms with balcony facing both the sing river and the glaciers!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank link2puneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews