We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visiting”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester-le-Street
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Low Urpeth Farm B&B
Reviewed March 3, 2014

What a lucky find! On arrival greeted buy Hilary and Peter whose lovely ho e I was welcomed into. This farm house is just as beautiful as any home could be. I was served tea and shortbread in the very comfy lounge after a welcome chat from Hilary I was shown to my
glamorous bed room is so lovely words are hard to describe .The view over the fields are stunning , the tea and coffee tray was well stocked with a nice selection.
After a nice shower I spent a quite evening relaxing and reading my book.
On awakening to the blue tits singing in the morning I had a lovely breakfast Hilarys bread is fab and had some nice fresh poached eggs after nice raspberries and yoghurt. I shall be back when I tavel to see my Dad next ,

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank luckyhoneypoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 68 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

Chose this B&B since it had good reviews and it deserves them. The room was comfortable, spacious, clean, comfy. The breakfast was as good as it gets, with everything you could ever want available. The hosts were welcoming and helpful. Cost £85 for two of us for the night. No grumbles.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank CumbrianFellwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed 2 nights for a family event nearby and our only regret was it wasn't longer!
We were very favourably impressed by the standard of accommodation - beautifully decorated and furnished traditional farmhouse, immaculately kept and every need catered for. Hilary and Peter were charming hosts - attentive and helpful. Breakfast, with its array of top-quality local produce, was a delicious highlight taken in the communal dining room with a chance to meet and chat with other guests. All in all a wonderful stay and outstanding value.

Room Tip: Robert's room with en-suite was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Having first stayed here when going to see Take That at Sunderland's Stadium of Light in May 2011 I have now stayed on several occasions whilst staying over in the North East on business trips.

Service and comfort are always excellent; rooms are immaculate with excellent decor and breakfasts (always using fresh local produce) substantial and a fitting start to the day.

Ideally located for local attractions (Durham, Newcastle and Sunderland are all less than 15 minutes drive) and on the doorstep of both the Beamish Museum and Chester le Street for Durham County Cricket and International Tests and One Day Matches the farmhouse makes an ideal base for anyone wanting to visit these North East attractions.

For a farm stay with a touch of quality I have yet to find anything better in the UK.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnBWharfedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights whilst completing a course at Beamish Musuem and was extremely well looked after by Peter & Hilary. The room (Queen Anne) was very well appointed with pleasant views to two sides. Breakfast was wonderful and each day I was able to choose a different combination from the menu of extremely tasty local food which was nicely presented. Hilary's wonderfully light bread is also worth mentioning as well as the homemade marmalade. You can expect a warm welcome and I thoroughly recommend Low Urpeth Farm B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick_and_Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I work as a Carer for two lovely ladies a mother 85 and her daughter 60. We have been staying in Katie's Cottage since Tuesday, there is absolutely everything you need here to live home from home. I like to cook everything fresh for my ladies as well as bake homemade treats, this is not a problem here, my car is still full of the things that you need to cook homemade food in normal self catering accommodation, not here. The accommodation is beautiful, comfortable and peaceful.
10 out of 10 from me. Thank you for the experience, we will return.

Room Tip: Beautiful accommodation, very cosy, but not cramped
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susancarr33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have recently spent three days at the farmhouse and can do no more than endorse previous remarks. A remarkably friendly, welcoming farm with a very relaxing manner from Hilary and her husband. Splendid accommodation and food. Can recommend unreservadly and hope to visit again when in the region.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DavidMcNBeverley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chester-le-Street hotels
2 mi away
The Lambton Worm
The Lambton Worm
#1 of 7 in Chester-le-Street
161 reviews
0 mi away
Moorings Hotel
Moorings Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
106 reviews
0.7 mi away
William IV Hotel
William IV Hotel
#5 of 7 in Chester-le-Street
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street
#1 of 3 in Chester-le-Street
101 reviews
5.2 mi away
Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apartments
Plawsworth Hall Cottages & Apart...
#1 of 1 in Chester-le-Street
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Urpeth Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Urpeth Farm B&B

Address: Low Urpeth Farm Near Beamish, Chester-le-Street DH2 1BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Chester-le-Street
Price Range: $55 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Urpeth Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North East Eng Tourism Award Best B&B Gold '12: Award winning Low Urpeth Farm is a family run B&B (4 Star Gold) on a working farm 3 miles from Beamish Museum & Durham County Cricket at Chester-le-Street, 20-25 mins from Durham City, Sunderland, 15-20 mins from Washington, Gateshead, Newcastle & Team Valley. Self Catering Cottages are also available. The stone Farmhouse B&B which dates back to 1898, is 4 Star Gold & has three large shower en-suite bedrooms (Double/Twin/King) with tea/coffee welcome tray, large luxury bath towels, including free WiFi internet access. A lounge is also available for guests. Sample the award winning Cracking Urpeth Breakfast served in the splendid traditional dining room overlooking the mature garden and fields. Choose from the superb choice "Cracking Urpeth Breakfast", Northumberland Sausages & Onion Marmalade, Poached Eggs or Smoked Salmon and Scrambled eggs on muffins, a selection of fresh fruits, nuts/seeds and yoghurts. Vegetarian and other dietary options also catered for. Our breakfast, where possible, is fabulous locally sourced farm-assured, seasonal, organic and/or fair-trade produce mainly from County Durham, Northumberland and Tyne & Wear and our own brand HILARY'S HOMEMADE Wholemeal & Jams to name. Recent Awards: 2012 North East England Toursim Best B&B Gold. 2013/2009 TasteDurham: Highest Quality & Local Produce; 2011 Scores on the Doors (Food Hygiene) 5 out of 5; 2012 & 2011 North East England Tourism Taste Bronze; 2012/2010 Enjoy England Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low Urpeth Farm B&B Chester-Le-Street, County Durham, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing