We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely short stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chester-le-Street
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Low Urpeth Farm B&B
Burnley, Lancashire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely short stay”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was here on an overnight stay whilst on business up in the North East and I have finally found somewhere that meets my expectations. I had just travelled up from Durham and Bishop Auckland after a day of visiting customers, and needed somewhere before travelling on to Gateshead and Newcastle the next day.

Low Urpeth Farm provided me with everything I could have wished for including welcoming hosts in Hilary and Sandra, who provided home made biscuits and tea in the lounge after settling in. My room was tastefully decorated, and fully equipped with everything one would want, including free wi-fi which is always handy whilst away on business.

The farm itself is set in a quiet and idyllic setting away from a busy country road, but is nevertheless very peaceful and tranquil, essential for a good nights sleep. It is hard to believe that it is only 10 minutes away from the busy Team Valley, where I was heading the following morning, but it was ideal.

The following morning I was treated to a lovely cooked breakfast with a whole variety of cereals, nuts, fruits and yoghurt's on the side as well as a variety of fruit juices to accompany it.

I could go on and on, but it was just what I had been looking for, and certainly will look forward to my next visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bancroft6656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay at Low Urpeth Farm. We are pleased you found the location ideal for your business trip to Newcastle, Gateshead and Team Valley.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip.

Kind Regards
Peter, Hilary & Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
33
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in August and ..we went wow when we walked into such a lovely Bright clean cottage .
Lovely private back area and patio .The breakfast on the last day was an extra treat and enjoyed by us all.Would recommend to any one going to that area .Also the proximity to getting to Newcastle Beamish Gateshead etc is brilliant ..But you are still able to get away from it all at the Cottage .
Lovely and thanks
Anne coward
Cumbria

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cowardanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Anne,

Thank you for your lovely comments about your stay in one of our self catering cottages (Katie's Cottage).

We are pleased you loved the special "extra treat" of breakfast on the last day in the Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast Dining Room and that you found the proximity of the cottage "brilliant" to "Beamish, Newcastle, Gateshead, etc".

Peter & Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Hilary and Peter made us feel very welcome at our three night stay. Large room, loads of storage in antique furniture, molten brown toiletries, dressing gowns, huge towels, fluffy pillows and quilts, comfy seats, leaflets enough to plan any holiday, wonderful breakfasts - we didn't eat until the evening! This was all topped off with helpful, useful advice about the area. There are also two self-catering cottages and if we ever go in that direction again (which is probable) we would 100% stay in this accomodation. Highly recommend it! Thanks for a lovely break.

Room Tip: Queen Anne room was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey5525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowurpeth2011, Manager at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Audrey,

Thank you so very much for your kind comments. We enjoyed welcoming you both to Low Urpeth.

We are pleased you liked the room and the "wonderful breakfasts". It was kind of you to mention the luxury finishing touches (fluffy pillows & quilts, molton brown toileteries, etc.)

We look forward to welcoming back either in the B&B or self catering cottages if you are in the area! Peter & Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed for one night at Low Urpeth Farm about three weeks ago and found our hosts to be extremely welcoming, friendly and very accommodating. We were greeted with tea and biscuits in their very comfortable lounge. Peter confirmed for us that the table they had booked for us at a nearby restaurant was available for us at the pre-arranged time. Our bedroom was very comfortable, the en-suite well-appointed and the breakfast menu was extensive and the food excellent. Hilary even gave us a voucher to get a discount at the Beamish Museum. We cannot rate Low Urpeth Farm highly enough.

Room Tip: Our room at the front of the house was large with a well-appointed ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2800trucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments about your trip to Low Urpeth Farm. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you liked our "extensive" breakfast menu as well as the Beamish Museum discount vouchers.

Peter & Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We loved this B&B. Very nicely sized rooms with lots of amenities. The bed was a touch on the hard side, but it seems that is the way the British like them. The shower and the water pressure are heavenly! Breakfast was very good, and you have soooo much to choose from. Our lovely hosts recommended a great restaurant for us and were very friendly and welcoming. We had no idea how close this little spot was until we arrived, and yet we were out in the quite and beautiful country! We also got 25% of four Beamish tickets which was a great bonus!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Learnigntotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Belated thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at Low Urpeth Farm.

We are pleased you enoyed your time spent at Low Urpeth and the North East of England.

Glad you liked the "heavenly" water pressure in the shower in the Queen Anne Ensuite.

Thank you also for posting the images of Low Urpeth Farm.

Peter & Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We arrived early, but it was not a problem and we were made to feel so welcome with tea/coffee and homemade shortbread served in the guests lounge. Hilary, Peter and their Daughter (a mind of information on the area) were so accommodating and nothing appeared to be much trouble. A very quiet setting, ample parking always and pleasant surroundings. Our room was the Elizabethan room we understand and was beautiful with the bedding of the highest standard and furniture dating back to 1883!! What a priviledge! The dining/breakfast room was a sight to behold; the table set out with finest bone china, homemade preserves and marmalade. Breakfast was amazing; never have we experienced such a choice and thats before the cooked breakfast arrives!! All in all a memorable stay and we will certainly recommend. Thankyou for the experience.

Room Tip: The Elizabethan room is quiet, overlloking the gardens and countryside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonCountryBumkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Many thanks for lovely comments.

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us from the welcome arrival, to the room, to the breakfasts making it a "memorable stay".

See you again soon?

Peter, Hilary & Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We have just spent a week enjoying the wonderful welcome and accommodation offered by Hilary and Peter at Low Urpeth; one of us had previously stayed B&B on a business trip, and the experience was such that Low Urpeth's self-catering option was the obvious choice when we needed somewhere to stay on a more extended visit to this part of the world. The cottage was lovely; comfortable, spotless, pleasantly decorated and with an unusually extensive range of kitchen equipment (it's not often you get a steamer and electric cake-beater on offer), which suited us very nicely, as one of the joys of the north east is its excellent food culture, plentiful farm shops, etc. The setting combined views of the rolling countryside with the convenience of easy access to both local facilities and Newcastle-Gateshead (bus stop a five-minute walk from the farm for those without cars). Entertainment was laid on the DVDs provided in the cottage by our hosts, and by the antics of the courting pheasants outside. The friendly welcome included thoughtful extra touches, such as a pot of real home-made jam. Of course, we had to abandon the self-catering ethos on our final day and booked ourselves in for the splendid breakfast offered as part of the B&B experience - excellent food to suit all tastes, and served in style in the airy breakfast room. As this trip was made partially for business, it was very useful to have wifi laid on: a good combination of traditional hospitality with more 21st-century requirements. We'll be back.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGroke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lowurpeth2011, Owner at Low Urpeth Farm B&B, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Many thanks for your very kind comments on staying at Katie's Cottage (Self Catering) at Low Urpeth Farm and enjoying the Cracking Urpeth Breakfast experience on your last morning!

We noticed how much you enjoyed the wildlife and the walks and using local local transport to explore.

We look forward to welcoming you back! Peter & Hilary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chester-le-Street
3.2 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
1,976 reviews
1.2 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
265 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Washington
Holiday Inn Washington
#4 of 6 in Washington
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
0.9 mi away
Campanile Hotel Washington
Campanile Hotel Washington
#6 of 6 in Washington
324 reviews
8.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Durham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Low Urpeth Farm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Low Urpeth Farm B&B

Property: Low Urpeth Farm B&B
Address: Low Urpeth Farm Near Beamish, Chester-le-Street DH2 1BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Chester-le-Street
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Chester-le-Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Low Urpeth Farm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North East Eng Tourism Award Best B&B Gold '12: Award winning Low Urpeth Farm is a family run B&B (4 Star Gold) on a working farm 3 miles from Beamish Museum & Durham County Cricket at Chester-le-Street, 20-25 mins from Durham City, Sunderland, 15-20 mins from Washington, Gateshead, Newcastle & Team Valley. Self Catering Cottages are also available. The stone Farmhouse B&B which dates back to 1898, is 4 Star Gold & has three large shower en-suite bedrooms (Double/Twin/King) with tea/coffee welcome tray, large luxury bath towels, including free WiFi internet access. A lounge is also available for guests. Sample the award winning Cracking Urpeth Breakfast served in the splendid traditional dining room overlooking the mature garden and fields. Choose from the superb choice "Cracking Urpeth Breakfast", Northumberland Sausages & Onion Marmalade, Poached Eggs or Smoked Salmon and Scrambled eggs on muffins, a selection of fresh fruits, nuts/seeds and yoghurts. Vegetarian and other dietary options also catered for. Our breakfast, where possible, is fabulous locally sourced farm-assured, seasonal, organic and/or fair-trade produce mainly from County Durham, Northumberland and Tyne & Wear and our own brand HILARY'S HOMEMADE Wholemeal & Jams to name. Recent Awards: 2012 North East England Toursim Best B&B Gold. 2013/2009 TasteDurham: Highest Quality & Local Produce; 2011 Scores on the Doors (Food Hygiene) 5 out of 5; 2012 & 2011 North East England Tourism Taste Bronze; 2012/2010 Enjoy England Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Low Urpeth Farm B&B Chester-Le-Street, County Durham, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing