We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely sunday lunch”
Review of Church Mouse

Church Mouse
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Church Mouse in Chester-le-Street is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely sunday lunch”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We have been here a few times for Sunday lunch as it is very tasty. I can highly recommend the belly pork. We have found the food from the normal menu can be a bit hitty-missy, but are never disappointed with the sunday lunch. And the desserts are heavenly!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michaela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    198
    113
    79
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“The most pretentious pub I've ever been in”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Despite the best efforts of the staff the atmosphere was awful and the drinks very expensive. Sadly the location is ideal but I'd rather put myself out and travel further, to a decent establishment even if that means we would need a designated driver!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GarethDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“relaxed”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

lovely surroundings open fire,relaxed atmosphere, staff very friendly, great choice of food, even when full plenty of staff no waiting between courses.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carol w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Quick lunch...”
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

A quick visit to the church mouse for lunch. The menu has changed from the last time I was there & to be honest I struggled a little bit to find something suitable for lunch,so I just ordered the soup of the day & it was lovely. My boyfriend ordered the hunters chicken & he really enjoyed it. With 3 drinks on the bill( hot chocolate, one pint & a small coke) it still came to £20! The pub was very quiet & relaxed. Our food only took about 15 mins to come out. As long as I can remember the pub has always been very popular & often has good deals on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vickbi1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A friendly warm and welcoming atmosphere, excellent food , good choice, clean and effecient. The food is above what I would call pub grub and is well presented

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Church Mouse also viewed

Chester-le-Street, County Durham
 
Chester Moor, County Durham
 

Been to Church Mouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing