We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!!-will be back soon”

Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $38
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Previously known as "Italia Retro Restaurant at The Board Inn"
Durham, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!!-will be back soon”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Been several times and the food is always cooked to perfection! One of the nicest italians with excellent service. They are fantastic with the children and always take time out (sasha especially) to make a fuss of them! Good atmosphere every time.
Love it!! :-)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Director at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    85
    38
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic - will will all be returning!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our evening; all six of us enjoyed our food, felt welcome and had a good laugh with the staff. Try the salmon and asparagus pizza, it is gorgeous!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raygro222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Director at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great second visit!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our first visit to the Tavistock proved to be disappointing due to the location of our table, although the food was great. We have been on two more occasions since, and must say we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was much better being in the main part of the restaurant, as the atmosphere was excellent. As on our first visit, the food was superb. Starters of mussels in the marinara sauce were very tasty, and the lasagne for the mains melted in the mouth! We have also tried the pizzas, which were really good. The staff are very attentive and friendly and made us feel really welcome. If you like Italian food, you'll love it here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davival
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Director at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for returning after your first visit was marred by a poor table and we are delighted that you enjoyed your evening. We have decided to use the area that you sat in on your first visit as a private area only.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Reasonable main course food with reservations”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were recommended this bistro by family and it was OK. There are quite a lot of tables in a small space and as a previous reviewer has mentioned some are in a corridor like side room. The main dining room is down some steps with toilets upstairs so not suitable for disabled access. We were welcomed pleasantly and service was prompt. Starters and main courses were average; pizzas were large with decent dough but a bit salty. Desserts were not so nice. My sister's brownie with raspberries turned up without the fruit and when she asked about it was simply told that they' d run out. I left half of my rather dry and dusty lemon meringue torte and when asked about it explained that it didn't taste very good. I was told "Well you should try something different next time." Yes I probably will - a different restaurant - disappointing as we could do with quality restaurants in this area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank horacesmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Director at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, I am sorry that you thought that the meal was ok, we will addres the issues that you have raised with regard to the desserts and the salty pizzas and we hope to welcome you back for a much more enjoyable experience.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

1ST VISIT to the tavistock, warm friendly greeting, seated quickly and the food was superb.
The staff are really polite and patient not like other places rushing you out......brilliant 1st visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ctmazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Director at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn also viewed

Chester-le-Street, County Durham
Chester-le-Street, County Durham
 
Washington, Tyne and Wear
 
Chester-le-Street, County Durham
Chester-le-Street, County Durham
 

Been to Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing