We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take no for an answer”

Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Previously known as "Italia Retro Restaurant at The Board Inn"
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

I've recently had stomach surgery the restaurant was told and asked in advance if they did small portions we were told Yes and to tell our server. I ordered a half portion of contempory pasta to be told i could only have 3 types of sauce as half portion so i ordered half portion bolognaise waiter then went on to say this was only small portion was i aware it was only 50g of pasta full portion was 100g i said Yep i was aware and that's what i wanted in end in only shut up when i told him about surgery i felt bullied and humiliated another member of our party of 11 also thought it was beyond a joke

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Salsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Guest Relations Manager at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

I would like to sincerely apologise for the breakdown in communications that lead you to be asked on numerous occasions about your order, and I can assure you that this was only meant in a caring manner . It would never be our intention to humiliate any of our customers as I would like to think that this is demonstrated by the number of positive comments made. Once again please accept my sincerest of apologies.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

361 - 365 of 453 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

The atmosphere was fantastic from the minute we walked in. Food was the most authentic i have had and the staff were beyond friendly.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank niki82a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Guest Relations Manager at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words, we are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and I look forward to seeing you again.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A much needed gem of a restaurant. Great ambiance, great (italian) staff and first rate food all at a reasonable price.
We have been about 10 times including a teenage birthday meal for 8 and not a singlle adverse comment!

A must try!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Meldrew54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Director at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

We are dleighted that you think we are the best Italian in the area and we hope to see you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

after good reviews and living near to the tavistock retro italian 13 family members decided to visit on the 26th january for a family celebration and we all enjoyed it.the staff were attentive without being overbearing .most people had starters and the portions were generous as were the main courses and the food was of a good quality me and my husband both had steaks mine with diane sauce .the diane sauce was freshly made andwe had home made chips .the desserts were lovely as well.they also have a cosy bar area to sit in with a log burner.they also do an early bird menu.well worth visiting if you are in the area and we plan to visit again .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Director at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Hi Karen

We at Tavistock Retro are delighted that you enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you again

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Having visited most of the Italian restaurants in the area, I can honestly say this is by far the best.
The food is fantastic, atmosphere relaxed, staff attentive without being overbearing, great wine and all at very reasonable price. We will be returning soon.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Manager at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Hi Stephen

thank you very much for the great review, we hope to see you back soon

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn also viewed

Washington, Tyne and Wear
Chester-le-Street, County Durham
 
Chester-le-Street, County Durham
Washington, Tyne and Wear
 
Chester-le-Street, County Durham
Durham, County Durham
 

Been to Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing