We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cracking evening”

Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Previously known as "Italia Retro Restaurant at The Board Inn"
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Another great meal and evening at the Tavistock, I would recommend you give this ago, great for a party or as we have experienced a very friendly welcome after tough day at the office. A really relaxing and friendly place for a drink or meal, the staff can't do enough for you. T&J

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Trevor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Director at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2012

Thank you Trevor, for your kind words and we are delighed that you feel that you can drop in for a drink as well as dine. Look forward to seeing you soon

Regards.

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 382 of 441 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

food just O.K, atmosphere not good. nothing to write home about. have had better at Deano's at Cheaster le Street. In my opinion don't bother.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank lindy406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Director at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Dear Lindy406

Thank you for your review, we are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the atmosphere or your overall experience. We welcome all reviews both positive and negative so that we can constantly look to improve. We hope that you do visit us again in the future and we have rectified the issues that you mentioned.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Very good food, polite and friendly staff and they have a happy hour on pizza and pasta between 5-7 , there is also a bar which is friendly enough. This is the only place near the travelodge where I stayed unless you fancy eating in a grim service station. The place was packed on a Monday night so that has to be good !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank louloumadgirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Director at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your kind words we are delighted that you enjoyed your evening with us and I hope to see you again if you are staying at the Travelodge,

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We were recommended by the receptionist from the nearby Travelodge.
After a short walk we ordered drinks in the pub then booked a table, after 5minutes the waiter seated us. We ordered starters and although the cheesy garlic bread was one of the best we have ever had, the prawn and salmon starter was lacking in taste.
The mains of margerita pizza, pollo pizza, lasagne and chicken with mushroom sauce were all nice however, more mince was needed in the lasagne as well as a stronger tomato sauce as it was abit bland. The pizzas looked nice and the chicken was quite a piece! However, the service wasn't brilliant. We asked for 2 drinks and they got it wrong, quickly rectifying their mistake though. And when we were still eating mains a waiter hovered around watching us for a few minutes which was uncomfortable. Also we asked for tap water which never appeared.
But for a quick, stop off meal it was fine. Prices reasonable too. Would recommend to hotel visitors simply for convenience but not much more.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bs_92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Director at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your review, I am pleased that you enjoyed your evening and we have noted your constructive comments and taken these on board.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having read good reviews about this restaurant I decided to give it a try, as I only live about a mile away. The starters were miniscule, the main courses weren't very large either although the pasta was tasty and cooked to perfection. We decided against sweets as our budget is limited - £26 for 2 people is a bit steep considering the small quantity of food provided. I'm disappointed to say it wasn't as good as I expected.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank kikelmool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonathan G, Director at Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review Tavistock Retro Birtley, we would like to apologise that we did not meet your expectations with regard to the size of the portions that we sell. It is through both positive and negative feedback that we can improve our offering to the guest. Once again please accept my apologies.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn also viewed

Chester-le-Street, County Durham
Chester-le-Street, County Durham
 
Washington, Tyne and Wear
Washington, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Tavistock Italia Gastro Pub at The Board Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing