We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, decent food and very clean”
Review of Sand Dune Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sand Dune Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Nubra Valley B&B and Inns
Mountain View, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place, decent food and very clean”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Guest house is quite new. We paid about 1050 INR for a night, it was a very confortable stay. The bathrooms were extremely clean (maybe since they were new) with continuous supply of hot water. The room was well equipped with a TV, sufficient charging points and an emergency lamp. They do not offer room service. You will have to confirm the menu to them in advance. There is a common dining hall at the entrance that serves buffet as well as ala carte. Overall it was a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prithisquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    13
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is located at the end of Diskit market. It a very new property and construction is still on. They are charging as per full planned facilities inside room but all are yet to be there. Rests of the things inside room were basic and were charged INR 800 per night. This price tag may justify once all facilities are there like shower, etc once construction is over. Hot water is available between 6am till 10am. Food taste was excellent but you have to inform them in advance if you want to eat inside the property for them to arrange. Television inside room has satellite connection includes Hindi and English channels.

Room Tip: Don’t open room windows after evening or you will be attacked by mosquitoes and variety of insects.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Souvik25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

The property was spic and span, bathrooms ultra clean and rooms very modern. Compared to very many hotels in Leh, this property was a welcome break from the usual. The hotel had separate blocks, each one spacious, with a common sit out then branching off into rooms. The rooms had attached bathrooms and televisions with Satellite dish connection. The owners were courteous. They also have a restaurant that serves dinner and breakfast. Food is tasty and menu, limited. Prices are reasonable by ladakh standards. We paid 800/- for the room, excluding food (Aug 2012). Would recommend this place only if it fits your budget

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramansvinu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

It was my fascination to go to ladakh with my college friends, and after having planned the trip, I was really excited and looking fwd to it. I went there last week with a couple of my geeky friends. It started with the landing in Leh at 8 am morning and there was bright sunshine comparing to the dark in Delhi an hour ago… whoa!.

It was chilly and we had to pull out our stuff. After 3 days in Leh valley , We had a two day stay in Nubra, after hearing from the locals, reached there at 2:30 in the day. The weather over there was much bttr than it was in Leh.We booked a package from Antilog Vacations which are reasonable and well known in Leh sector for those who r budget conscious & need customisation .The whole package costed us 18k per person

The Sand Dune guest House is a very quiet place, really suits the name as a guest house. There is not a lot to do, it’s just a place where you can stay for sleep or relax on your beds, we were mostly out to trek or sight seeing on our trip. The hotel was neat and clean and nice people at service, that was all that was good about it. Hot water was not available 24 hrs, had to be brought by service men in buckets.

The food was good in accordance with the remoteness of the place, they had plenty of north Indian stuff, including butter paneer and dal, which was sufficient for me. I dint find the trip very nice and there is not much of the fault of the guest house, it was the scarcity of oxygen there that ran me out, everything is so remote and expecting a lot from the hotel would be living in oblivion. I

t’s a place where you should go to trek, not for scenic beauty or some beautiful walk down the woods. The guest house in particular was among the best you would find there but wont come to your rescue if you are having a boring time, my suggestion would be not go unless ur an adventure freak.

If you are lucky you can spot a kirana shop or a living person in the nearby area, It’s a very very starnge place to be in

On the other side , I guess staying in camps could have been a great option as well.Anyways the whole tour was excellent & our sincere thanks to San dune staff & Travel agent for making it a special visit.

Sand Dune gets a 3.5/5 rating & whole tour gets a 5/5 rating

Advice

Never book a group tour , I could see few groups who neither had the flexibility nor choice to enjoy the tourage.To visit leh , all you need is flexibility though group tour might be cheaper but its more like a school picnic to be honest

Room Tip: I dont know abt rooms but camps is also a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amritesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Nubra valley is a territory of not so very good hotels with even basic amenities. But however food of this place was very very nice. I found it best in entire Ladakh region.

And one more positive of the place is a very nice garden maintained by the owner.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sikkimtraveller123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I stayed there for one night and the place was awesome. I was traveling with my parents and got a triple room for 1K INR. The room was big and spacious and the toilets were spic-and-span. There was an apricot tree that overhung our room. The garden in the Guesthouse was good too.

The food there was great. After having all our meals for over a week in restaurants in Leh, I was longing for home made food and this was exactly what I got here. Fresh home made food. In the dinner we had rotis, peeli dal (Lentil), potatoes and rice with complimentary sweets :) I ate up to the brim and as much as my stomach could accommodate :)

The breakfast was even more delicious. Me and my dad had "Alu ka Paronthas" with curd/tea and my mother had corn flakes/muesli with lots of bananas and milk. For all that extravaganza, our final bill was 1650 INR for three people including the food and room!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neerajbhandari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

we spent nice time there ......place was great like a pradise for us......we advise to all tourist that that place is really nice for stay ..........n food was magnificent n nice people ....

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anjali11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nubra Valley
0.0 mi away
Ladakh Himalayan Retreat
0.0 mi away
Olgok Guest House
Olgok Guest House
#2 of 16 in Nubra Valley
87 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystique Meadows Swiss Cottage Camp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Galaxy Guest House
Galaxy Guest House
#7 of 16 in Nubra Valley
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sten-Del
Hotel Sten-Del
#4 of 16 in Nubra Valley
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sand Dunes View Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dune Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dune Hotel

Property: Sand Dune Hotel
Address: | Near Main Market Diskit Nubra, 194401, India
Location: India > Jammu and Kashmir > Ladakh > Leh District > Nubra Valley
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Nubra Valley
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sand dnue hote is probably one of the nicest places to stay at Nubra Valley which is well appointed with traditional ladakhi architecture. It is surrounded with a simple, attractive courtyard and is and is walled-in with sufficient parking spaces for about 9 to 10 cars within.we have 4 deluce rooms and 14 standard rooms available and have restaurant within. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sand Dune Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing