We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far from the madding crowd....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 23, 2014

In the midst of nature, away from the cacophony of typical hill stations, a slice of tranquility served with grace....what more do you want? This place is off the beaten track in true sense...Narkanda doesn't figure in the normal HP touristy places but we chose to spend 3 nights here and boy, did we love it!! Rooms are great, view awesome, food quite alright and smiling courteous staff - all combine to make this a great place to stay and unwind. 2 memories stand out for me - sitting on the balcony early morning, having a hot cuppa and listening to the chirping of birds...its peaceful and sublime. The next one - first night at the hotel, the staff lit the bonfire and didn't have too many people around...some soothing music in the background...awesome!

Some reviews say this is a honeymoon destination....agree!! However, this is good for family trip too. Quite a few outdoor activities kids would love.....

2 minor suggestions - bathroom could have been better in terms of amenities, and the hotel should have some library/dvd collection for the lazy evenings.

Oh one last point - during our stay a bunch of guests descended on the place, boorish and loud to the core. They tried level best to spoil the atmosphere...shouting, being uncouth....we know management cant do much about this, but just hope these sorts stay away from here! Anyway, nature at Narkanda is too awesome to be bothered by such people.

Will go back, possibly to see the snow....

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcglobal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Guest Relations Manager at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our Resort, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff members take their roles very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect. Your feedback regarding the bathroom amenities & a multi- media room is much appreciated.
Our commitment to investing in our Resort will continue this winter with renovations to our Luxury Suites, Spa, Jacuzzi, Sauna,a Multi-Media lounge,banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Narkanda!!!
Best Regards,
Ishaan Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 166 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is the best place where you can stay in narkanda, and it is much better place to stay here than in shimla and kufri, away from the rush. View from the valley facing rooms is amazing. Staff is friendly . Food is also very good. Rooms are worth what you pay for, the quality of everything in room is superb, from bath towels to bed linen to amenities to wooden flooring. Mini bar is well stocked.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4x4tourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Guest Relations Manager at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our Resort, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff members take their roles very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect. Your feedback regarding the serenity of Narkanda,quality of food, rooms etc is much appreciated.
Our commitment to investing in our Resort will continue this winter with renovations to our Luxury Suites, Spa, Jacuzzi, Sauna,banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Narkanda!!!
Best Regards,
Ishaan Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

I got to know of this place through a travel blog, and instantly added it to my solo biking trip. I arrived here from Shimla. The road to Narkanda is a smooth and wide two lane with minimal traffic. There are great views all around during the drive, which is true for every corner of the great state of Himachal.

To reach Tethys, go past Narkanda town and then take the road to Hatu / Thanedar. You will see a signboard after a few kms, and take the narrow stony path to the right. Another kilometer or so, and you reach Tethys. The hotel is a cute conical three floor structure perched on a cliff. It has a long garden in the front with wrought iron tables and chairs for you to relax or have a meal.

The check-in was smooth, and Ms. Nisha, the front-desk manager was helpful, gracious and polite. I was allotted a room on the second floor. The flooring is wood paneled, and gives the place a quaint look. The rooms are very well furnished and would match any 3 star properties in a metro. The mini-bar is well stocked, there are extra blankets and pillows in the closet, extra bottles of water, and I liked these minor but important touches.

The room is clean, spacious, with large bay windows which leads to a small balcony. Apart from the king-size bed, there is a study table, a closet area, a small sit-down area, and a small but functional bathroom. In short, a very comfortable room to spend a few nights.

The menu contains mainly of Indian dishes with a few Chinese, and some pizza and pasta choices. There is a wide variety offered in the Indian cuisine. The gravy dishes are tasty but, very oily. The rajmah with some rotis and tandoori chicken is a good, healthier option.

They have room service, which is quick and efficient. The entire staff in this property is well trained and polite. They do look a bit harried at times, due to the climbing up and down to service the rooms.

As the floors are wooden, sound is magnified throughout the building. I have a bunch of noisy kids next door, and could follow their football game indoors, from kick to kick. Avoid weekends if possible, we Indians do make a lot of noise when we are out enjoying with our families.

The Wi-Fi in the hotel was not working due to a telephone line failure. The cell network is very weak, with a result you get very low Internet speed.

If you like walking, this is the perfect place. There are numerous trails around the property. You could also hike up to Hatu peak which is about 7 kms from Tethys. The air is clean, no traffic unless you are on the Hatu road, and forests all around.

I loved my stay in this hotel, and would love to return in winter. It is supposed to be magical with snow all around.

Room Tip: The view of the rooms on the right (if you are facing the hotel) seem to have a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SomilMittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Guest Relations Manager at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our Resort, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff members take their roles very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect. Your feedback regarding the quality of food is much appreciated. We apologize for the Wi-Fi connectivity issue, we try our best to provide you with the best possible services in this remote location.
Our commitment to investing in our Resort will continue this winter with renovations to our Luxury Suites, Spa, Jacuzzi, Sauna,banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Narkanda!!!
Best Regards,
Ishaan Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Went here with a group of friends. Nestled deep in the mountains with breathtaking view of the mountains. Very comfortable rooms. Staff was friendly and helpful.
Food was something else.
Overall a decent and clean place to relax.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PawanBawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Guest Relations Manager at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our Resort, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff members take their roles very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect. Your feedback regarding the quality of food is much appreciated.
Our commitment to investing in our Resort will continue this winter with renovations to our Luxury Suites, Spa, Jacuzzi, Sauna,banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Narkanda!!!
Best Regards,
Ishaan Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Finally, a great place in the isolated Narkanda. Clean, hygienic and with all facilities, the stay is certainly pleasant. Though the terrain to reach is narrow, the place is loaded with all the amenities. The staff is warm and friendly. Do try! :)

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Garima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Guest Relations Manager at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Ma'am,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our Resort, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff members take their roles very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect. Thank you for recommending our Resort to your friends & family.
Our commitment to investing in our Resort will continue this winter with renovations to our Luxury Suites, Spa, Jacuzzi, Sauna,banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Narkanda!!!
Best Regards,
Ishaan Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Amazing Hotel situated in beautiful mountains. Enjoyed a lot here. Tents were provided for us which were amazing, clean and beautiful. due to miscommunication single tents were provided, but they provided rest of the tents even at the midnight. Friendly staff. Rooms were classy and clean. Location is just awesome. Would like to Tank Mr. Dogra for the Night party with bonfire.
Outdoor activities are expensive though. Taste of food was average. We thought it to be amazing like other services of hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tripur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Guest Relations Manager at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our Resort, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service.Our staff members take their roles very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect. The camping tents provided to you are standard two people tents, your feedback is well appreciated.
Our commitment to investing in our Resort will continue this winter with renovations to our Luxury Suites, Spa, Jacuzzi, Sauna,banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Narkanda!!!
Best Regards,
Ishaan Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at tethy's in third week of may for 2 nights. It was a memorable stay with excellent services provided to us. The rooms are good, food is very good. All the staff (from front desk to room service) is very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Darshan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Guest Relations Manager at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our Resort, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service. Our staff members take their roles very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect. Your feedback regarding our staff is very much appreciated.

Our commitment to investing in our Resort will continue this winter with renovations to our Luxury Suites, Spa, Jacuzzi, Sauna,banquet and convention areas. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Narkanda!!!
Best Regards,
Ishaan Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narkanda
15.9 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
14.9 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#96 of 115 in Shimla
52 reviews
16.3 mi away
Club Mahindra Mashobra
Club Mahindra Mashobra
#3 of 6 in Mashobra
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#12 of 115 in Shimla
315 reviews
15.5 mi away
Mahasu House
Mahasu House
#2 of 6 in Mashobra
260 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda

Address: Village Nagrot,Post Office Narkanda, | Shimla Hills, Narkanda 171213, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Narkanda
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Price Range: $79 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skiing in the morning & river rafting in the afternoon & a nice relaxing glass of wine in the evening with a 3 course meal.Perched at a height of 9000 ft. Tethys Ski Resort & Spa is the perfect place for clean crisp air, bright sunshine and breathtaking scenery. Built in the old colonial style and nestled between thick forest cover and apple orchards, the resort offers beautiful views of snow covered mighty Himalayas. Located in the midst of NH 22, en route to the Sangla Valley (Kinnaur), the resort offers a fairy tale setting of Oak and Deodar trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing