We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

It is situated at the very best of the locations. It's at the top of the hill. There are probably 5-6 trees only above it :) .
Rooms are very big and clean. Hospitality at it's best. My son vomitted at night and we called the reception. In no time they brought the another set of bedding and quilts. They cleaned the room up immediately. I could see that they were doing their job eagerly and responsibly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dagarwal82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 163 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

Tethy's was our abode for 3 days from 29th Sep - 1st Oct. Initially we were apprehensive of the money we were putting in for the tarrif..but man, once we checked in, we realized it was indeed worth it. I have been to finest hotels across the country but never have i seen the hospitality like we experienced at Tethy's. The staff was so helpful, ever smiling, and cordial that they did not say NO to anything we demanded whatsoever may be the demands were. From the bonfire to the activities, everything was so organised and planned that we didn't have to wait even a moment.The food was awesome. The location is phenomenal. They say, you got to earn your customers if you want them to come back, and Tethy's have earned us! Great experience, beyond expectations! Cheers..

Room Tip: Every room is strategically good, however, prefer taking room no 203 since it gives you a damn good...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Desh_Sharma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed at Tethys, Narkhanda for 2 nights. Great place to stay. We were accommodated although we did not have prior reservations. Sanjeev took personal care and ensured that our stay was exceptionally comfortable.

Although there are lot of areas which need improvement but overall the resort gives a very warm and friendly feel. The best thing about the resort is the personal commitment level of Sanjeev who was always there sholder all family-run hotel. The owners and staff are social at just the right level and they go to great length to make you feel at home. In the afternoon, the staff would bring out snacks and coffee for guests who had opted to spend the day in the shade of the palm trees in the little garden. At no charge.
Even my family, who did not stay in the hotel, was received with open arms and exceptionally generously when they came to visit. The owner even offered us to invite them all (ten people) to the hotel’s garden for the celebration of my father’s birthday. For the occasion they had prepared home-baked cake, snacks and a fantastically thoughtful gift.
This said, there is nothing wrong with the facilities. The room we had was spacious and pretty, the breakfast is good and the distance to the beach is limited. The garden may be small, but it’s a relaxing and quiet place – one where you really don’t mind spending an afternoon or two with a good book.
And as many people have written before. Casa Candolim is a place you would definitely come back to and recommend to your friends. Thank you very much for making our stay so pleasant!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amitb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort & updated our management. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

After searching on the net and reaing the reviews of the resort, we thought of going to this place in this month of June;2013. The location and food quality is geat, however, the cleaniness and attitude of the staff is not at all upto the mark. It appeared from our journey that resort guys are only interested in the group bookings and does not care for the single room occupants. There is no one to guide you at this lonely place.There is no window to pass thru the fresh air in the rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JAYDEE90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. As for your problem regarding our staff, I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused as it can be quite difficult at times of group bookings. We have renovated our Resort and updated our management. There are large windows which opens up for fresh air and a balcony.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed at the Tethys, Narkanda in June 2012. Had zeroed on this property after much deliberation (i.e. after having spent a lot of time going through the reviews on tripadvisor, other sites) and I must say that we weren't disapointed at all. Not that Narkanda has too many options to chose from but having spent a few nights in Shimla (at the Cecil, Oberoi) and a week in Sangla (at the Banjara Camp and Resort) we were keen on a decent property with a nice view and surroundings so as to keep the 'vow experience' going. Tethys pretty much catered to this need of ours. Its located almost a km inside, off the main road and close to a valley across the Hatu peak. We had booked ourselves in a room on the top level and it was very spacious with 2 bedrooms and an attached bathroom/toilet. The best part of course was the view from both the bedrooms. The windows opened out into the valley and the day we checked in, we literally had the clouds wafting through the rooms. That was quite a surreal feeling. The overall service level was good and the boys who work there are quite prompt and friendly. We had one of the guys double up as a tour guide who took us on a trek around the Hatu peak area. A trifle reluctant in the beginning to go ahead with the trek (given the amount of walking that we had done at Sangla, which is like heaven), we really had a great time and would have sincerely missed out a great experience. The trek involves a 3 km walk inside the woods that suddenly opens up in to a plateau filled with greenary all around you. The food at Tethys was ok'ish and this is one area where the owners need to look into. Generally the food at places such as Shimla and beyond is good and you expect a certain kind of quality and taste. We came across this restaurant called the Himachali Dhaba at the main junction in Narkanda and that turned out to be quite a find. The food was simply superb with an amazingly sumptuous thali being served. Overall Narkanda is a good place for a 2/3 night kind of a halt (thought it is a much better option than Naldehara, which, IMO, is overrated). And if you intend staying at Narkanda then Tethys is a safe bet. Good rooms (at least the ones on the top most floor are very spacious), superb surroundings, decent service and average food. Bumped in to Shoojit Sircar while checking in, looking so very peaceful and happy (perhaps more to do with his success from Vicky Donor than the surroundings itself..;)!
To sum it up - this is a decent property and you really wont be disappointed. Have fun!

Room Tip: Try the ones on the top level facing the valley, worth the price that you shall pay.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogesh_ajinkya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort & our management. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This good is very good indeed. There are a lot of things to do in this area. The owner, Sam and his family are exceptional. Sam is a great organizer and a qualified mountaineer. The food was the best that we had during our trip to India. There is a nice camp fire also that staff prepared.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Con_Thai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our resort & updated our management. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked the Deluxe room of this property for 2 nights. Was very excited about the trip as the hotel promises a lot of activities such as horse riding up to the Hatu, amongst other things. Was disappointed to know that the same was not available since this was the off season. Found it rather strange as I was charged the season rate & also found the hotel full to its capacity.
Location:
The hotel is located around half a km into the woods & is accessible through an unmetalled road that got quite slippery in the rains. The trail to the hotel just forks off before the road leading to the Hatu peak. The property is located in serene surroundings & is quite away & aloof from the Narkanda bustle.
Room:
Very small though having nice wooden flooring. The bed too was small & the matress & pillow quite hard. I was having a corner room with glass window on two sides. The view from one of the sides was that of a property under construction while the other side had the views of distant mountain that was quite nice. The day bed placed along the glass window was also quite thoughtful. However it was a shame that the windows were too dangerous to be opened & were having an extremely sharp drop. Surprising in that the same were full length & so could be really dangerous in case one does wishes to open it. The bathroom was also very small but was working fine. However the window in the bathroom was covered with black plastic & cell tapes that looked very shabby. The shower too was cold & had extremely low water pressure.
Food:
Very disappointed. The package was inclusive of breakfast & dinner. Other than that the property has a very thin menu. We reached there at around 3:30 PM to be told that lunch would not be possible & we would have to do with snacks. There was hardly anything in the menu & the cheese finger & the chicken momo that we ordered was very bad & outright inedible. The dinner too was a scanty affair with hardly any choice though the taste was better. Breakfast too was simple with either paratha/curd or bread omlette.
Service :
Was ok. Though did not have an opportunity to stretch them any bit.
Over all experience:
Had a bad time. The property sells itself as a friends farmhouse but we did not feel that way. They knew that my kids had not had any food & yet refused to make Maggi saying that the kitchen was busy. I doubt if any of the friends farm house would do that. I had booked a 2 nights stay but was fed up after the first night itself as there was hardly anything to do at the resort. The guys at the resort had no idea about any of the places of Narkanda & were of absolutely no help. There was a pool table but the same was always crowded as the property is very small & so can get quite claustrophobic on a busy weekend. We were promised a discount of 20% at the time of booking that was ultimately denied & in addition a penalty of 25% of the room rent was charged for pre mature departure. Yet we were happy to get out of the place.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are quite small
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank vinayMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort & updated our Management. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narkanda
15.9 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
14.9 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#97 of 113 in Shimla
52 reviews
10.1 mi away
de Exotica Crest Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Krish Rauni
Krish Rauni
#9 of 113 in Shimla
266 reviews
21.0 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
19.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#13 of 113 in Shimla
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda

Address: Village Nagrot,Post Office Narkanda, | Shimla Hills, Narkanda 171213, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Narkanda
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Price Range: $81 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skiing in the morning & river rafting in the afternoon & a nice relaxing glass of wine in the evening with a 3 course meal.Perched at a height of 9000 ft. Tethys Ski Resort & Spa is the perfect place for clean crisp air, bright sunshine and breathtaking scenery. Built in the old colonial style and nestled between thick forest cover and apple orchards, the resort offers beautiful views of snow covered mighty Himalayas. Located in the midst of NH 22, en route to the Sangla Valley (Kinnaur), the resort offers a fairy tale setting of Oak and Deodar trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing