We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not meet expectations” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Did not meet expectations”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Booked the Deluxe room of this property for 2 nights. Was very excited about the trip as the hotel promises a lot of activities such as horse riding up to the Hatu, amongst other things. Was disappointed to know that the same was not available since this was the off season. Found it rather strange as I was charged the season rate & also found the hotel full to its capacity.
Location:
The hotel is located around half a km into the woods & is accessible through an unmetalled road that got quite slippery in the rains. The trail to the hotel just forks off before the road leading to the Hatu peak. The property is located in serene surroundings & is quite away & aloof from the Narkanda bustle.
Room:
Very small though having nice wooden flooring. The bed too was small & the matress & pillow quite hard. I was having a corner room with glass window on two sides. The view from one of the sides was that of a property under construction while the other side had the views of distant mountain that was quite nice. The day bed placed along the glass window was also quite thoughtful. However it was a shame that the windows were too dangerous to be opened & were having an extremely sharp drop. Surprising in that the same were full length & so could be really dangerous in case one does wishes to open it. The bathroom was also very small but was working fine. However the window in the bathroom was covered with black plastic & cell tapes that looked very shabby. The shower too was cold & had extremely low water pressure.
Food:
Very disappointed. The package was inclusive of breakfast & dinner. Other than that the property has a very thin menu. We reached there at around 3:30 PM to be told that lunch would not be possible & we would have to do with snacks. There was hardly anything in the menu & the cheese finger & the chicken momo that we ordered was very bad & outright inedible. The dinner too was a scanty affair with hardly any choice though the taste was better. Breakfast too was simple with either paratha/curd or bread omlette.
Service :
Was ok. Though did not have an opportunity to stretch them any bit.
Over all experience:
Had a bad time. The property sells itself as a friends farmhouse but we did not feel that way. They knew that my kids had not had any food & yet refused to make Maggi saying that the kitchen was busy. I doubt if any of the friends farm house would do that. I had booked a 2 nights stay but was fed up after the first night itself as there was hardly anything to do at the resort. The guys at the resort had no idea about any of the places of Narkanda & were of absolutely no help. There was a pool table but the same was always crowded as the property is very small & so can get quite claustrophobic on a busy weekend. We were promised a discount of 20% at the time of booking that was ultimately denied & in addition a penalty of 25% of the room rent was charged for pre mature departure. Yet we were happy to get out of the place.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vinayMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort & updated our Management. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    49
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
64
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Reached Tethys on 3rd July 2012. To my surprise the road to Narkanda now is fully metallic and there was not even a single pot hole throughout. The vegetation on the road side and on hills changes drastically once you cross Fagu. Its a real pleasure driving to Narkanda now. So go for it....

As for the stay, we reached at around 4.30 pm. The package included stay, evening Tea, Dinner, Breakfast next Day. The room was huge with wooden floor, 2 double beds, sitting area with sofas, LCD TV and great views. My kids had great time (aged 2.5 and 8) in the garden of the hotel. Only that the kids play area is missing makes them feel a little sad. Ordered snacks (Tawa Chicken and Gobhi Manchurian). Both were great and well priced. in 3 days trip, we had actually tasted good snacks and food (chicken masala, Yellow Dal, Aloo Ghobhi, Cheese Tomato with Kheer as dessert).

Overall, will come back soon to be on that wonderful road which leads to this wonderful hotel. Kudos Mr Dogra.. Keep us the good work. Hope to be there again in Jan 2013...

Room Tip: Choose any room. All are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sachin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad , AP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel early june courtesy Shimlaroyals.com , a travel agent specializing in arranging wonderful trips to lesser known locations in himanchal at cheap rates.It turned out to be a great journey in the end

Initially speaking about the location of the hotel it’s located on national highway 22 at a distance of 64 kilometers from shimla and 400 kilometers from Delhi, in a village named nagrot which is surrounded by dense woodlands of mixed tropical forests, villages, apple orchards and dense forest cove, our check in was quite smooth and didn’t consumed much time to our relief after all that journey and we were accompanied to our rooms

Let me take you through our positive as well as negative experiences with this hotel starting initially positive experiences

 The rooms are quite big and spacious, heaters are working fine, and all other much needed amenities are in place and in good working condition, the view from the room as well as hotel are just amazing, aerial view of the mighty Himalayas on the east and picturesque views of far-flung low-lying villages as well as apple orchards is just mesmerizing

 Hatu Peak is very much accessible from this hotel, Hatu Mata temple is a must visit place and the journey will be definitely worth a remembrance for life time, even the temple is in very pleasant atmosphere at a height of approximately 11400 feet

 The location of the hotel is not much accessible to the near by commercial places as well as restaurants

 Good service given by Shimlaroyals through out the package tour

Now the cons

 Staff behavior is worst, you want to urge them repeatedly for service instead they go deaf at your request, which is really annoying

 Don’t be fooled by the pictures shown on net as they doesn’t resemble any thing at the hotel

 Journey leading to roads near by the hotel is very slippery and very dangerous for normal drivers

 Food is a nightmare, and you don’t have any other option taking the location in to consideration

 Management are least bothered about your complaints

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kulvinder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear madam,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

We went to Narkanda in the month of April for an official get together, we were group of 26 people and were bit concerened about our holiday, though it went all far better than expected espicially the way whole itinerary was planned by the people at tethys. Evenings were amazing with bonfire, bar-b-q music, post breakfast activity sessions at zamunda meadow and specially the walk to hatu and further to meadows and above all the rafting experience in satluj rirver. thakns to the guys and Mr Dogra @ Tethys.

Room Tip: Try and book in advance prior to visiting, talk to the owner Mr.Dogra whille planning your itinary f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geetikawalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear madam,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

I wrote a review earlier when i did not visit this place, i was very confused but Honestly i Took a chance simple because there was no other option at Narkanda.
Our family reached Narkanda on 31.12.2011 and Left on 02.01.2012.
Everything was perfectly planned, rooms Very Clean, Washroom nicely done.Staff was very courteous, though we reached past the lunch time but they still managed to offer some snacks. As intimated by Mr. Dogra (The Owner) that consider it like a friends farmhouse where the Local village Boys are there to serve you. The boys were good, helpfull and Snowfall add the icing on cake and made my trip a memorable One.

So you can go and stay at Tethys without any tension and have a great time.

Room Tip: Try the family room,, its Hugeee !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MitulExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I went to Narkanda on a weekend few days back with 3 of my friends. Before leaving i searched well about hotels here and finally decided to stay in Tethys Resort. I took mobile number from their website of Mr Sanjeev Dogra and called up and booked a suit with 2 double bedrooms. When we reached there, Mr Sanjeev was not available but the owner was present just outside the resort sipping whiskey with his friend. He met in a very pleasant manner though, and told us to meet his nephew inside the resort. I must say that resort is in a very good location, an off beat one and we were all excited. It was 2 PM and was too cold, we went into the hotel, checked in and went into our suit. There were no blankets/quilts in the room, so we asked for it as we wanted to rest and it was too cold. They guy showed up after 5 minutes but without blankets. We asked again. The guy turned up again without blankets, we again asked for it. This time we also asked what we can have in lunch? The guy went in order to ask from kitchen or may be owner's nephew. He came again, and again without blankets and said that we wont get anything to eat. This was really surprising and frustrating, so we decided to leave. We got even more surprised when owner's nephew did not even care to ask why we were leaving? That would not be all. Outside the resort, owner was still standing and sipping whiskey with his friend in parking. Even he did not care at all and we left the place.

From local market we learnt that almost no hotel except THE HATU, have permanent cook.

Now decision is upto you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank brijeshS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you & your friends. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

Located at a remote place from the town. No hotel around. Surrounded by apple orchards. Best location - valley as well as hills on the same side. MUST DO STAR GAZING - we have never seen a sky like that - feels like the sky is overloaded with stars and some of them will fall down. Nicely made hotel, with limited rooms. Also visit the peak - Hatu Mata Temple. There's PWD rest house (not operational) little ahead of the temple - you get best view of Himalayas from here. Carry your food and can spend no. of hours sitting there. The best season is July - Aug. when the apples are ready to be plucked. I can't imagine how it looks like.

Room Tip: on 2nd floor - valley view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hetalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narkanda
14.8 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#94 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
15.9 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
16.7 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#13 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Resort
#1 of 1 in Naldehra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
16.6 mi away
Koti Resort
Koti Resort
#18 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
20.0 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda

Property: Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
Address: Village Nagrot,Post Office Narkanda, | Shimla Hills, Narkanda 171213, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Narkanda
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skiing in the morning & river rafting in the afternoon & a nice relaxing glass of wine in the evening with a 3 course meal.Perched at a height of 9000 ft. Tethys Ski Resort & Spa is the perfect place for clean crisp air, bright sunshine and breathtaking scenery. Built in the old colonial style and nestled between thick forest cover and apple orchards, the resort offers beautiful views of snow covered mighty Himalayas. Located in the midst of NH 22, en route to the Sangla Valley (Kinnaur), the resort offers a fairy tale setting of Oak and Deodar trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing