We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amidst pros and cons , you just cant miss being in Nagrot !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad , AP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amidst pros and cons , you just cant miss being in Nagrot !!”
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Stayed at this hotel early june courtesy Shimlaroyals.com , a travel agent specializing in arranging wonderful trips to lesser known locations in himanchal at cheap rates.It turned out to be a great journey in the end

Initially speaking about the location of the hotel it’s located on national highway 22 at a distance of 64 kilometers from shimla and 400 kilometers from Delhi, in a village named nagrot which is surrounded by dense woodlands of mixed tropical forests, villages, apple orchards and dense forest cove, our check in was quite smooth and didn’t consumed much time to our relief after all that journey and we were accompanied to our rooms

Let me take you through our positive as well as negative experiences with this hotel starting initially positive experiences

 The rooms are quite big and spacious, heaters are working fine, and all other much needed amenities are in place and in good working condition, the view from the room as well as hotel are just amazing, aerial view of the mighty Himalayas on the east and picturesque views of far-flung low-lying villages as well as apple orchards is just mesmerizing

 Hatu Peak is very much accessible from this hotel, Hatu Mata temple is a must visit place and the journey will be definitely worth a remembrance for life time, even the temple is in very pleasant atmosphere at a height of approximately 11400 feet

 The location of the hotel is not much accessible to the near by commercial places as well as restaurants

 Good service given by Shimlaroyals through out the package tour

Now the cons

 Staff behavior is worst, you want to urge them repeatedly for service instead they go deaf at your request, which is really annoying

 Don’t be fooled by the pictures shown on net as they doesn’t resemble any thing at the hotel

 Journey leading to roads near by the hotel is very slippery and very dangerous for normal drivers

 Food is a nightmare, and you don’t have any other option taking the location in to consideration

 Management are least bothered about your complaints

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kulvinder K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear madam,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    49
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
66
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We went to Narkanda in the month of April for an official get together, we were group of 26 people and were bit concerened about our holiday, though it went all far better than expected espicially the way whole itinerary was planned by the people at tethys. Evenings were amazing with bonfire, bar-b-q music, post breakfast activity sessions at zamunda meadow and specially the walk to hatu and further to meadows and above all the rafting experience in satluj rirver. thakns to the guys and Mr Dogra @ Tethys.

Room Tip: Try and book in advance prior to visiting, talk to the owner Mr.Dogra whille planning your itinary f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geetikawalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear madam,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I wrote a review earlier when i did not visit this place, i was very confused but Honestly i Took a chance simple because there was no other option at Narkanda.
Our family reached Narkanda on 31.12.2011 and Left on 02.01.2012.
Everything was perfectly planned, rooms Very Clean, Washroom nicely done.Staff was very courteous, though we reached past the lunch time but they still managed to offer some snacks. As intimated by Mr. Dogra (The Owner) that consider it like a friends farmhouse where the Local village Boys are there to serve you. The boys were good, helpfull and Snowfall add the icing on cake and made my trip a memorable One.

So you can go and stay at Tethys without any tension and have a great time.

Room Tip: Try the family room,, its Hugeee !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MitulExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I went to Narkanda on a weekend few days back with 3 of my friends. Before leaving i searched well about hotels here and finally decided to stay in Tethys Resort. I took mobile number from their website of Mr Sanjeev Dogra and called up and booked a suit with 2 double bedrooms. When we reached there, Mr Sanjeev was not available but the owner was present just outside the resort sipping whiskey with his friend. He met in a very pleasant manner though, and told us to meet his nephew inside the resort. I must say that resort is in a very good location, an off beat one and we were all excited. It was 2 PM and was too cold, we went into the hotel, checked in and went into our suit. There were no blankets/quilts in the room, so we asked for it as we wanted to rest and it was too cold. They guy showed up after 5 minutes but without blankets. We asked again. The guy turned up again without blankets, we again asked for it. This time we also asked what we can have in lunch? The guy went in order to ask from kitchen or may be owner's nephew. He came again, and again without blankets and said that we wont get anything to eat. This was really surprising and frustrating, so we decided to leave. We got even more surprised when owner's nephew did not even care to ask why we were leaving? That would not be all. Outside the resort, owner was still standing and sipping whiskey with his friend in parking. Even he did not care at all and we left the place.

From local market we learnt that almost no hotel except THE HATU, have permanent cook.

Now decision is upto you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank brijeshS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you & your friends. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Located at a remote place from the town. No hotel around. Surrounded by apple orchards. Best location - valley as well as hills on the same side. MUST DO STAR GAZING - we have never seen a sky like that - feels like the sky is overloaded with stars and some of them will fall down. Nicely made hotel, with limited rooms. Also visit the peak - Hatu Mata Temple. There's PWD rest house (not operational) little ahead of the temple - you get best view of Himalayas from here. Carry your food and can spend no. of hours sitting there. The best season is July - Aug. when the apples are ready to be plucked. I can't imagine how it looks like.

Room Tip: on 2nd floor - valley view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hetalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was my first experience in snow and totally loved it. Tethys is a very beautiful property and is located just to make you feel in the lap of Himalayas.
Lovely surroundings and very scenic view from the hotel rooms. The rooms are nice and big, very well kept, though not so lavish. Other facilities are minimalistic but then if you visit a place like Narkanda, its not the hotel facilities you look for. The common area like the lobbies are very well maintained with nice furniture and a snooker table (they charge you for it). The staff is extremely hospitable. Menu card is rather small and limited but food is very good especially with all the customized and personalized service. The place reminds you of govt executive class guest houses. It is located on a steep slope and the view from all the windows is breathtaking. And given that it is located in the middle of nowhere, i was surprised at the 24*7 availability of power, hot water, a DTH connection and full connectivity on cellphone including 3G coverage. The place is easy to locate but the last 1km is tricky. It had snowed when we reached and the 8ft broad trail that led to the hotel was quite slippery. It was scary because on the other side was a steep slope and we were not in a vehicle which was very well equipped to be driven on snow. The car slipped a couple of times and we were scared but our driver somehow managed. On our way back, the car couldn't manage to drive up the trail at all because it had snowed again and we had to walk down the trail right up to the main road. The staff helped us carry the luggage.

Room Tip: Go for a valley facing corner room, one which has windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BajpaiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Amazing place to stay n relax.
It has every thing from bonfire to personal cottage ...
It's a very good place to stay, far from crowded shimla with all facilities including pool n carom.
Must visit place near shimla.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaranSharmaindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narkanda
15.9 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
16.7 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#10 of 111 in Shimla
275 reviews
14.9 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#94 of 111 in Shimla
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
de Exotica Crest Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
Royal Tulip Shimla - Kufri Hills
16.6 mi away
Koti Resort
Koti Resort
#19 of 111 in Shimla
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda

Property: Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
Address: Village Nagrot,Post Office Narkanda, | Shimla Hills, Narkanda 171213, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Narkanda
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skiing in the morning & river rafting in the afternoon & a nice relaxing glass of wine in the evening with a 3 course meal.Perched at a height of 9000 ft. Tethys Ski Resort & Spa is the perfect place for clean crisp air, bright sunshine and breathtaking scenery. Built in the old colonial style and nestled between thick forest cover and apple orchards, the resort offers beautiful views of snow covered mighty Himalayas. Located in the midst of NH 22, en route to the Sangla Valley (Kinnaur), the resort offers a fairy tale setting of Oak and Deodar trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing