We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No respect for travellers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Certificate of Excellence
Jalandhar, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“No respect for travellers”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

I went to Narkanda on a weekend few days back with 3 of my friends. Before leaving i searched well about hotels here and finally decided to stay in Tethys Resort. I took mobile number from their website of Mr Sanjeev Dogra and called up and booked a suit with 2 double bedrooms. When we reached there, Mr Sanjeev was not available but the owner was present just outside the resort sipping whiskey with his friend. He met in a very pleasant manner though, and told us to meet his nephew inside the resort. I must say that resort is in a very good location, an off beat one and we were all excited. It was 2 PM and was too cold, we went into the hotel, checked in and went into our suit. There were no blankets/quilts in the room, so we asked for it as we wanted to rest and it was too cold. They guy showed up after 5 minutes but without blankets. We asked again. The guy turned up again without blankets, we again asked for it. This time we also asked what we can have in lunch? The guy went in order to ask from kitchen or may be owner's nephew. He came again, and again without blankets and said that we wont get anything to eat. This was really surprising and frustrating, so we decided to leave. We got even more surprised when owner's nephew did not even care to ask why we were leaving? That would not be all. Outside the resort, owner was still standing and sipping whiskey with his friend in parking. Even he did not care at all and we left the place.

From local market we learnt that almost no hotel except THE HATU, have permanent cook.

Now decision is upto you.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank brijeshS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you & your friends. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    49
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
66
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Located at a remote place from the town. No hotel around. Surrounded by apple orchards. Best location - valley as well as hills on the same side. MUST DO STAR GAZING - we have never seen a sky like that - feels like the sky is overloaded with stars and some of them will fall down. Nicely made hotel, with limited rooms. Also visit the peak - Hatu Mata Temple. There's PWD rest house (not operational) little ahead of the temple - you get best view of Himalayas from here. Carry your food and can spend no. of hours sitting there. The best season is July - Aug. when the apples are ready to be plucked. I can't imagine how it looks like.

Room Tip: on 2nd floor - valley view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hetalj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2012

This was my first experience in snow and totally loved it. Tethys is a very beautiful property and is located just to make you feel in the lap of Himalayas.
Lovely surroundings and very scenic view from the hotel rooms. The rooms are nice and big, very well kept, though not so lavish. Other facilities are minimalistic but then if you visit a place like Narkanda, its not the hotel facilities you look for. The common area like the lobbies are very well maintained with nice furniture and a snooker table (they charge you for it). The staff is extremely hospitable. Menu card is rather small and limited but food is very good especially with all the customized and personalized service. The place reminds you of govt executive class guest houses. It is located on a steep slope and the view from all the windows is breathtaking. And given that it is located in the middle of nowhere, i was surprised at the 24*7 availability of power, hot water, a DTH connection and full connectivity on cellphone including 3G coverage. The place is easy to locate but the last 1km is tricky. It had snowed when we reached and the 8ft broad trail that led to the hotel was quite slippery. It was scary because on the other side was a steep slope and we were not in a vehicle which was very well equipped to be driven on snow. The car slipped a couple of times and we were scared but our driver somehow managed. On our way back, the car couldn't manage to drive up the trail at all because it had snowed again and we had to walk down the trail right up to the main road. The staff helped us carry the luggage.

Room Tip: Go for a valley facing corner room, one which has windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BajpaiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Amazing place to stay n relax.
It has every thing from bonfire to personal cottage ...
It's a very good place to stay, far from crowded shimla with all facilities including pool n carom.
Must visit place near shimla.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaranSharmaindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We visited this place during Sept. first week 2011.Located in a calm and serene place, this place is highly recommended for a quite and peaceful holiday.After seeing a busy Shimla the homely and lonely atmosphere is refreshing.Our children enjoyed the Snooker(at their disposal free of cost),Tambola, a good collection of old magazines and relaxing environment.A breathtaking view of the Himalayas,a short walk to the apple farms nearby and the excellent service by Mr.Deepak &Co. are added attractions.We have also visited Hatu Peak along a naroow road and nearby village.All in all, a vacation well spent and memorable.

Room Tip: Corner room upstairs will have an excellent view of the entrance and the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedaranyamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

Date 27 May 2011

I went to Narkanda with my wife for a stay of two days, Narkanda is a quite place 65Km away from Shimla. I booked Hotel Tethys which is further 2 KM away from main Narkanda Bazaar. The Hotel has a accomodation of around 18 Rooms including Cottages. There is ample Parking Space. My stay was in a deluxe room which was having a Heater, Television with Tata Sky, a double Bed. Room was having a very good view of the mountains. However, the Buffet offered by the Hotel has very limited variety. Since the Hotel is located at an isolate place there is nothing much to do after 7 Pm and you have to be confined to your room. Hotel Staff is good. Overall an average Experience at a place where the Hotel choice are limited.

Room Tip: Deluxe Hill View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HITESH02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

The stay at Tethys was excellent,located at a height of 10600 ft.We were very well looked after.Good food,very relaxing,excellent service,very peacefull,nothing to do is the best thing to do for a change.Hatu temple is nearby.Approach is a little dicy but bet used to it oncee you are there.Hatu Mata temple beautiful,at a height of 11400 ft.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjaylall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishaan_manutd, Owner at Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear sir,
Thank you for leaving us a kind review. We have renovated our Resort and updated our Management services. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards,
Sanjeev Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narkanda
15.9 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
16.7 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#10 of 111 in Shimla
275 reviews
14.9 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#94 of 111 in Shimla
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
de Exotica Crest Resort & Spa
15.6 mi away
Royal Tulip Shimla - Kufri Hills
16.6 mi away
Koti Resort
Koti Resort
#19 of 111 in Shimla
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda

Property: Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
Address: Village Nagrot,Post Office Narkanda, | Shimla Hills, Narkanda 171213, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Narkanda
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skiing in the morning & river rafting in the afternoon & a nice relaxing glass of wine in the evening with a 3 course meal.Perched at a height of 9000 ft. Tethys Ski Resort & Spa is the perfect place for clean crisp air, bright sunshine and breathtaking scenery. Built in the old colonial style and nestled between thick forest cover and apple orchards, the resort offers beautiful views of snow covered mighty Himalayas. Located in the midst of NH 22, en route to the Sangla Valley (Kinnaur), the resort offers a fairy tale setting of Oak and Deodar trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing