We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hatu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Narkanda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Hatu
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
New Delhi
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

The place is perched on a hill top and you have the full view of the valley below. The food is very good and the staff are helpful. It is amazing sitiing outside when the sun is ready to hide behind one of the hills surrounding the valley.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Backpackerslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    74
    46
    6
    4
See reviews for
70
35
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
217 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed there on 10 March 2012.

What's the ONLY bad about the place?
- Non-airtight room. I don't know how - maybe the door, maybe some window, but the room stayed chilly through out. We'd stayed at similar altitudes in totally trash hotels which were noticeably airtight. If our room 303 was airtight, i'd give it a 5/5

What's good:
- Lovely views
- Ample parking
- Superlative staff. This is a rarity among govt owned hotels but the service was great - from the waiters, bell boy, to the other staffer who rode my bike up a completely snowed out road to the cook who gave me 5 jugs of steaming hot water to startup my bike - everyone was very nice and totally helpful.
- The rooms are very nice/comfortable and spotlessly clean. The toilet is good/modern (it matters in these remote parts!!)

Room Tip: Take the super deluxe rooms (Rs 1800+taxes). They have better heaters and better interiors. We had t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddash-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

We visited The Hatu for a skiing holiday in January 2012. It is a beautiful property at the top of a mountain with a lovely sweeping view of the valley and the distant Himalayas. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food - especially the local dessert - was delicious. We tried out the continental dishes and surprisingly they were excellent too. The rooms were spotless.

We were worried as we were travelling at the peak of winter with bouts of snowfall. But there was nothing to worry as we found out. The heaters (room and water) were powerful and there were sufficient duvets and covers for the night. The hotel is slightly away from the skiing slope but the Manager was very helpful and arranged a guide for us. All in all, it was a memorable trip and I would strongly recommend it to nature lovers and adventure lovers alike!

Room Tip: Cozy deluxe rooms have a better view of the valley and better room heaters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 675NCRTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

I visited The Hatu after recommendation from some friends who had stayed at the property earlier. The location is good with some great views. it is also conveniently located near Hatu Peak and at the Narkanda Bus Stand. It is also a few km drive from apple orchards in Thanedar.
I stayed in the premium rooms which should not be considered premium as they are pretty old.& musty. A double room has 2 single beds put together.
However, the food at the hotel is good and very homely.
It is however much better place to stay than the other hotel in the area (Wild Nest Resorts) if travelling with a family due to the large lawns in front of the hotel and has much flexible restaurant timings as well.

Room Tip: Opt for the suite as it has been renovated recently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rahul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Travelled and spent two nights in Narkanda. The town is tiny, a few random shops, and one pharmacy / net cafe / ticketing agent / bed and breakfast agent, all in one.

Either way, the hotel is off the main road, which runs right through the town. The journey (atleast in september, after some of the heaviest rains seen in a while) was long, uncomfortable, and unpleasant. I had seen a decent amount of work being put into streaches of it, so it might be better now. Or perhaps with winter, and snow/slush, it might be worse?

Either way, it costs about 1500 rupees from Shimla (the prices will vary, according to your starting point/size of vehicle etc). And when I did it, about 2 and a half to 3ish hours.

It`s not a big hotel, and does not have a lot of rooms, and again, someone just hopping from one destination to the next, would be disappointed, because unllike your usual indian hill station destination, it does not have a list of random places to visit, almost like your going through a check list. I loved Narkanda, and the hotel itself, because it was quiet. I could sit out on the lawn with my wife, read, take in the valley and mountain view, and not have a thousand people posing for photos, or even talking. We spent the days talking, reconnecting, just lazing around and not having to go anywhere.

The next day, we chose to hire a driver and car, to take us to the top of Hatu peak, and I cannot understand how people would not like it up there? But then again, at the top, there isn`t a list of things to click off a list, just a brilliant view, even encompassing snow covered peaks in the distance.

Again, a few people, who left minutes after they took photos, and we could sit, with all of it to ourselves. I personally love to sit, look, think and reflect. Using beautiful surroundings to focus thought. (The ride up cost 500 rupees, and the hotel arranged it for us).

We ate all our meals at the hotel, and though we were only eating part of the menu because of our religious beliefs, a lot of what we had was passable to very good, and well you can always try something else in town?

The rooms were clean enough, and so was the bathroom. The heater worked well at night, and well, even in September, at night, it was properly cold.

One of the reasons why I chose Narkanda, was the fact that it was out in the middle of nothing. Hence, at night, all you have to do is sit in one of the hotel`s darker areas, or walk about 10 feet away, and the view of the night sky, will stay with you, especially if you are someone who lives in a city that at night, is as bright as mine, for a long, long time.

I did not find the rooms, or the bathrooms filthy. Some of the blankets were a little musty, but again, it isn`t the hilton, I wasn`t paying hilton rates, hence Im not complaining.

I don` think there is any internet access at the hotel though, including reception. Hence, if you have an internet booking or the like, print out a conformation, and bring it with you.

Room Tip: I slept in the "cozy deluxe" on the first floor. Nice enough room, I guess if they are emp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asaad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2011

The Hatu HPTDC – AVOID at all costs !!! Excellent location but completely run down like an old Dak Bungalow. Dirty rooms, musty smelling. Carpet stains. Everything is filthy – we slept fully clothed with our socks and fleeces on so that we would not have to touch the bed sheets (hair oil and other stains), left without bathing as the towels and bathrooms were dirty. Mouse traps outside the rooms. Generally a scary place. We had 2 rooms - 207 was absolutely terrible and the other room 302 was only slightly less dirty. A great pity as we had spent 4 nights at HPTDC Chail 3 years ago and that was quite up to the mark. I was very very dissapointed - especially with the reviews on Tripadvisor, which were completely misleading.

Room Tip: I suggest you stay elsewhere. There are no good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KhannuGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Narkanda hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

A typical HPTDC hotel with all basic amenities - clean room, bathroom, good food, good views of the Hatu peak, ample parking...

Rooms are huge with good room heaters provided during winters. There was snow all over the place but warm inside :-)

No better place to stay in Narkanda than this!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayantChauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narkanda
1.3 mi away
Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
15.3 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#94 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
16.0 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Resort
#1 of 1 in Naldehra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Woodpark
Hotel Woodpark
#51 of 111 in Shimla
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
16.5 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#13 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hatu

Property: Hotel Hatu
Address: Dist Shimla, Narkanda 171213, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Narkanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing