We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“September 2011”
Review of Hotel Hatu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Narkanda
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Hatu
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“September 2011”
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Travelled and spent two nights in Narkanda. The town is tiny, a few random shops, and one pharmacy / net cafe / ticketing agent / bed and breakfast agent, all in one.

Either way, the hotel is off the main road, which runs right through the town. The journey (atleast in september, after some of the heaviest rains seen in a while) was long, uncomfortable, and unpleasant. I had seen a decent amount of work being put into streaches of it, so it might be better now. Or perhaps with winter, and snow/slush, it might be worse?

Either way, it costs about 1500 rupees from Shimla (the prices will vary, according to your starting point/size of vehicle etc). And when I did it, about 2 and a half to 3ish hours.

It`s not a big hotel, and does not have a lot of rooms, and again, someone just hopping from one destination to the next, would be disappointed, because unllike your usual indian hill station destination, it does not have a list of random places to visit, almost like your going through a check list. I loved Narkanda, and the hotel itself, because it was quiet. I could sit out on the lawn with my wife, read, take in the valley and mountain view, and not have a thousand people posing for photos, or even talking. We spent the days talking, reconnecting, just lazing around and not having to go anywhere.

The next day, we chose to hire a driver and car, to take us to the top of Hatu peak, and I cannot understand how people would not like it up there? But then again, at the top, there isn`t a list of things to click off a list, just a brilliant view, even encompassing snow covered peaks in the distance.

Again, a few people, who left minutes after they took photos, and we could sit, with all of it to ourselves. I personally love to sit, look, think and reflect. Using beautiful surroundings to focus thought. (The ride up cost 500 rupees, and the hotel arranged it for us).

We ate all our meals at the hotel, and though we were only eating part of the menu because of our religious beliefs, a lot of what we had was passable to very good, and well you can always try something else in town?

The rooms were clean enough, and so was the bathroom. The heater worked well at night, and well, even in September, at night, it was properly cold.

One of the reasons why I chose Narkanda, was the fact that it was out in the middle of nothing. Hence, at night, all you have to do is sit in one of the hotel`s darker areas, or walk about 10 feet away, and the view of the night sky, will stay with you, especially if you are someone who lives in a city that at night, is as bright as mine, for a long, long time.

I did not find the rooms, or the bathrooms filthy. Some of the blankets were a little musty, but again, it isn`t the hilton, I wasn`t paying hilton rates, hence Im not complaining.

I don` think there is any internet access at the hotel though, including reception. Hence, if you have an internet booking or the like, print out a conformation, and bring it with you.

Room Tip: I slept in the "cozy deluxe" on the first floor. Nice enough room, I guess if they are emp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asaad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    74
    50
    6
    4
See reviews for
71
39
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2011

The Hatu HPTDC – AVOID at all costs !!! Excellent location but completely run down like an old Dak Bungalow. Dirty rooms, musty smelling. Carpet stains. Everything is filthy – we slept fully clothed with our socks and fleeces on so that we would not have to touch the bed sheets (hair oil and other stains), left without bathing as the towels and bathrooms were dirty. Mouse traps outside the rooms. Generally a scary place. We had 2 rooms - 207 was absolutely terrible and the other room 302 was only slightly less dirty. A great pity as we had spent 4 nights at HPTDC Chail 3 years ago and that was quite up to the mark. I was very very dissapointed - especially with the reviews on Tripadvisor, which were completely misleading.

Room Tip: I suggest you stay elsewhere. There are no good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KhannuGurgaon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Narkanda hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

A typical HPTDC hotel with all basic amenities - clean room, bathroom, good food, good views of the Hatu peak, ample parking...

Rooms are huge with good room heaters provided during winters. There was snow all over the place but warm inside :-)

No better place to stay in Narkanda than this!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayantChauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

The hotel is set at a distance from the main road, thus you can enjoy the calmness of the surrounding and at the same time it is not far from the main market area. The hotel rooms and bathrooms are clean. The rooms are simple but clean. The food is average and they take their time to serve you. It's best to give them your order in advance.

TIPs: Try the 'New Himalayan Dhabha (Negi Dhabha) opp to Mahamaya hotel in the market for good old punjabi paranthas and a quick service.

Also visit THANEDAR for visiting apple orchids

Visit to Hatu Peak is not much to talk about. The drive is treacherous during rains and there is not much to see at the top. Religious minded people can visit the hatu temple though.

Room Tip: The top floor has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preetikunaal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
127 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2011

If its Narkanda, it has to be Hotel Hatu. There are a few other small hotels in the main town, but their services leave a lot to be desired and hence, the extra money you have to shell out for Hotel Hatu is worth it.
The hotel gets it name from the highest peak in this area, the Hatu peak. The cut-off for the hotel is right at the of the small town, on the right side. We went there in winters and hence the narrow path had lot of snow on it. The 200metre uphill drive gets you to the hotel which offers good views of the valley - it is also facing the sun and hence you can get sunny rooms in winters.
The hotel is like another other good HPTDC hotel. In winters they run a discount and hence the overall payment we made for worth it. The rooms are basic but airy and the food service was great - good taste and hot. You can also have means outside in the small garden and the experience will be worth it.
The rooms are a hit with those who want to break away from the usual commercialized places like Shimla, or those who want to indulge in skiing in winters. In summers, one can drive / walk up the narrow road leading to Hatu peak from whr u gets fabolous views of the snow peaks around. The problem is that Narkanda lies 64km from Shimla and 50% of the road is in bad state. It usually takes a shade over 2hrs to get to Narkanda from Shimla.
Overall, this should be your best and most satisfying stay when in Narkanda.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BunnyPunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2011

Well, as with most HPTDC hotels, this one too is conveniently located yet in a beautiful location with nice views. The hotel and the room are extremely basic in terms of comfort and devoid of comforts of modern hotel stay. However, the room service staff is extremely friendly and the overall service levels good, reflecting the Himachal hospitality. HPTDC needs to however add some frills and provide more value addition.

The snag about the place is that there is nothing much to do in Narkanda unless its either Winter with snow or if the apple trees are filled with fruit. Well, we did get some fresh snow near the Hatu peak area, en route to the Temple atop the mountain.

Room Tip: Good place but poor access and road quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eddieU84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

We went to Shimla in April to have a pause from the hectic and busy life and relax in the lap of nature. We spent 2 days in shimla visited Mall road , Sanjauli , Coffee House and various other places but since it was very crowded, we changed our mind and started looking for some other better option. On the Mall road just aside the ICICI bank ATM there is the HPDTC tourist help Center where we enquired about few other good options.They suggested us Chail,Fagu and Narkanda.We picked randomly Narkanda for rest of the 3 days of our visit.They told that the best hotel in that area is the HATU a HPDTC property. Luckily we got an accomodation in the hotel. It was arount 1800 Rs for 1 double delux room.It is about 60 odd KM from shimla and have a very good connectivity by bus or cabs.We hired a cab for 1200Rs.
When we reached there by arount 3 pm, since we already had a booking it was not a problem. The hotel is located in a very beautiful location and have its own garden too. The rooms were sparious and very clean. They do not have much staff only few people around but they are highly trained and proffessional.Food was really great specially palak paneer but u have to finish it off as early as possible coz it gets cool down within minutes.They also serve wines and alchoholic drinks.Very prompt room service.
We had BF next morning in the garden. It is named The hatu because of the Hatu peak which is arount 6-7 km form there. Hotel also arrange Mountain bykes on rent for around 350Rs per day.
We enjoyed our stay in that hotel and really provides value for money thought its a bit expensive.
Toilets are very clean and maintained properly.
Location is awesome.Also its a few meters away from the main road from where u get the buses back to shimla.
Staff is very helpfull.
Manager is nice person who gives all the information u want. There is narkanda map also on the wall.
Food is great with various kinds of drinks.
we strongly recommend Narkanda and The hatu hotel...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vishal_Jain6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narkanda
0.6 mi away
Tethys Ski Resort Narkanda
15.0 mi away
Snow King Retreat
Snow King Retreat
#94 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
10.4 mi away
de Exotica Crest Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
16.8 mi away
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Resort
#1 of 1 in Naldehra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Combermere
Hotel Combermere
#22 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hatu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hatu

Property: Hotel Hatu
Address: Dist Shimla, Narkanda 171213, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Narkanda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Narkanda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing