We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway in the midst of nature and those amazing flowers!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jacaranda Estate & Whispering Willows Cottages
Ranked #1 of 4 Naldehra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Me and my husband had been planning a getaway with our 5year old daughter and my father in law... Thus wanted a place that would cater to all our interests. Jacaranda Estate fit the bill perfectly... As soon as we stepped in we were pleased to see the lovely ambience and our beautiful cottage.... Everything is done up aesthetically and a lot of personal attention has gone in the planning of the place. The staff is very attentive and courteous... I did not encounter any hesitation on their part to carry out any errand though it involved climbing up and down the stairs a number of times for them! The food was very nice and on special request Italian cuisine was dished up one night with minimum fuss along with a delicious dessert!!! The breakfast and dining area is amazing with a perfect outdoor setting right amongst the flowers and trees... What more can one ask for? Left to me I would have loved to spend my days lounging in the hammocks the entire day.... We could not visit tattapani as the weather was hot :(. My father in law enjoyed the treks and the meals and my daughter has come back with a mission to get a dog home thanks to Rocky (the pet dog) who became her playmate and motivation to run around the estate. Last but not the least the trip would not have been half as good if we did not have Rita our gracious and charming hostess giving us company with her helpful suggestions and handy tips... She made our stay extremely comfortable and we look forward to visit her again soon this time with more family and friends!!!!

Room Tip: Pinewood cottage is perfect for couples.... Very cosy with its own sit out area giving a perfect vie...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NupurSadana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Jacaranda Estate & Whispering Willows Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 45 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2014

Look no further if you are searching for space to nourish your mind, body and soul. The spread of three cottages across the property gave us all enough opportunities to coverage and diverge as we liked as we went as a family including a child, parents and brother. We had two of the three cottages booked for a 4 night stay interspersed with couple of rounds of golf, river rafting at Tattapani which is only an hours drive each side and endless gazing at star-filled night, warming ourselves by the fireplace or capturing the early morning light for nature walk or photography. We witnessed Naldehra and this property through sunshine and rain and with each passing moment our stay became more endearing. The experience at this property shall be incomplete without acknowledging the efforts put in by the team lead by Rita as you are hosted as a guest and there was no check-in and rather it felt like a walk-in experience in true sense. Mr. Singh the estate manager and Bahadur were effortlessly efficient including making arrangement for caddies. I must mention that food served during dinners was a delight and was a very pleasant surprise. I am waiting for my next visit and I have returned back to Delhi with one more friend after this holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivekZaraGaurika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a great time at Jacaranda Estate and Whispering Willows when we visited them. We were three families and so, we had all three cottages to us.

We were happy to have Rita staying at the lodge those days. She is very caring and considerate. We were getting late en-route from Kalka station to Naldehra and she called us multiple times to check on us and to guide us to the cottages.

The stay was pleasant. The food was also delicious. Rita would usually seek our inputs on what we wanted to have on a particular day and get something going for us...

All the rooms are very tastefully done. So much so, that with little children you need to be slightly careful that they don't damage some antique collectible - many of which lavishly adorn the rooms. Even the lawns have something or another to motivate you to click a picture. If you are photo enthusiast then there are a lot of things there that would excite you... A Buddha statue , a pair of birds sculpture, a locked gate looking into solitude of the valley and so on...

We visited Naldehra at the time when it was raining heavily - time coinciding with cloud bursts in Uttarakhand - so, we did not go out for much site-seeing and simply enjoyed playing with children in the estate.

The view from the cottage is beautiful... The estate is just a few hundred meters from the golf course and the pony trek. We enjoyed the pony rides and the gracious and very kind invite from Rita to accompany her to join her at the golf course on one of the days that we were spending at the estate.

Room Tip: Jacaranda is the smallest cottage and the oldest one. It is right at the entrance and is therefore...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AGrDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was a getaway our friends and I planned after a lot of searching (soul included) and we were delighted that we chose this picturesque property in the end of Dec 2013. It is a small property but it feels like its all yours, unlike a hotel, once you are there. The cottages have been done up very tastefully and Rita, the proprietor, is behind all of that. We stayed at the Jakaranda cottage which was very comfortable. Rita personally took a lot of pains to settle us in and ensure we had all that we needed, conversations and more! The nightly fireplace to the music and the fireworks or lying in the hammock/under the shaded tables with some ingenuous cricket, it was all that we needed, far from the madding crowd. I have to mention to service and the food - because it was excellent. The staff is very polite and efficient and there was some crazy amount of food that we ate. I really thank the staff and definitely Rita for the beautiful time we had and will definitely recommend this place to others.

Room Tip: The beautifully done-up Plum tree cottage with its own sitting area overlooking the hills is a great...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PoojaY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaS53, Owner at Jacaranda Estate & Whispering Willows Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Thanks Pooja,
So happy so see that the days you spent with us were not obliterated from your mind and still remain in your heart as does the memory of all of you.
I do hope you will return in the near future and again give us the pleasure of your company again.
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

There are so many wonderful things to say about this adorable B&B!!! I went there with my husband as a getaway from the kids. We stayed at the Whispering Willows suite and it was heaven! The grounds were full with flowers and perfectly kept. Our meals were spent looking at breath taking mountain views and great conversations with Rita, the owner. She played a big role in out experience there. Every morning she would guide us on where we should go for our hikes (which are incredible) and interesting places to check out. It was so nice to see an owner take such pride in the property and its guests. We were made to feel at home and that is the best feeling.

Room Tip: my favorite rooms were the plum cottage and the whispering willows
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shibani c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Had the most marvelous holiday at Jacaranda in Naladera. An enchanting location with a panoramic view...you wake up to a sparkling sunrise and retire to a scintillating sunset.

My 90+ years old mother enjoyed every moment of the vacation. The resort is in a quaint setting, with comfortable rooms...these are 'senior citizen friendly'. I also saw children enjoying themselves and the invigorating fresh air.

The food was delicious and varied. We had our meals out in the garden...in the company of chirping birds by day and by a bonfire at night. Cheers !

The service was individualized...with our gracious hostess Rita taking care of our every need. Even when she was not there the staff was efficient and resourceful.

I am going to make Jacaranda-Naladera a habit...I will visit it every year.
Jyotica

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belabose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a gorgeous getaway. The location is away from the madding crowd, small and intimate. The rooms are tastefully done up with large, comfortable beds and plenty of air and light. Our hostess, Rita, has taken special pains with the garden, which features huge roses the size of saucers, graceful willows and charming creepers all a-flower.

The food was to die for. We indulged shamelessly. The last night we stayed, Rita conjured up a barbecue. The music, the stars, the food and her warmth made it an unforgettable experience. I must say that we had a really unforgettable experience there and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jyotsna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RitaS53, Owner at Jacaranda Estate & Whispering Willows Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Hi,
Wanted to tell you how grateful I am for your wonderful review and the time you took out to write it, and to dear Satya …your mother who helped me with my orchids and other plants, as they bloomed beautifully as she promised they would.
would love to meet you all again soon.
Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naldehra
0.6 mi away
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Resort
#1 of 1 in Naldehra
73 reviews
4.7 mi away
Club Mahindra Mashobra
Club Mahindra Mashobra
#3 of 5 in Mashobra
445 reviews
2.1 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#12 of 113 in Shimla
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
5.0 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#13 of 113 in Shimla
1,075 reviews
2.1 mi away
Koti Resort
Koti Resort
#23 of 113 in Shimla
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jacaranda Estate & Whispering Willows Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jacaranda Estate & Whispering Willows Cottages

Address: PO Durgapur, Naldehra 171007, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Naldehra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Naldehra
Price Range: $101 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically situated near the century old golf course, an hour from Shimla and an hour from the Satluj River and hot springs are the Jacaranda cottages set among an English garden and fruit tree orchards. The city lights of Shimla sparkle beyond in the distance, one can experience the coolness and verdant hills as one walk through the lush forests accompanied by the eternal sound of the birds.The cold winter is retreating... spring is approaching... You are welcome to taste the freshness for yourself... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jacaranda Estate & Whispering Willows Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing