We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice holiday destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Chalets Naldehra
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice holiday destination”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed at Chalet Naldera in the end of May 2014 for 3 nights. The place packed and even then the service was very good. Very nice food. We had a 4 bedroom bungalow which was well made, was nice and clean. Monkeys were a menace which I am sure the management has no control on! My suggestion: the hotel should provide complimentary mineral water....lots of activities and a nice swimming pool...all in all a nice place to stay for a short vacation....

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    92
    15
    8
    6
See reviews for
127
38
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
509 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Stayed two nights at this amazing place. If your're planning a Shimla trip, forget the hotels and find peace and quiet in this superb property. All rooms are in cottage type commendation. ideal for a group of 4/6/8. Nestled amidst forests with breathtaking views, this place is ideal for a family holiday.Activities for kids, expansive lawns with barbecue and bonfire. Good breakfast spread and ever obliging service above par. Take a walk in the forest and not on the roadside. Ask reception for direction, Enjoy your morning cuppa in the lawn outside your room with full view of the mountains and the valley, Rooms are neat and cosy.If going everyday to Shimla is on your agenda best have a car with you

Room Tip: Cottage with mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SinghCzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
121 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were back at The Chalets, Naldehra with friends this time. We were three couples so took three cottages. Each of them was different with sit outs and nice views. The service continues to be very good with warmth and eagerness. Since it rained we had the fireplace going in our cottage and they lighted up the fireplace on all three evenings that we were there. The food was good and the Chef amenable to help tweak as per our requests. Will be back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tulupatnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Naldehra is situated around 20 kms up hill from Simla.It was discovered by Lord Curzon who used to spend quite a lot times here in the summersand we chose to stay here as it was highly recommended by a friend.

To begin with these people were highly accomodating when it came to booking and they rescheduled the booking as we could not make it to the place on the original dates..The staff was extremely well trained and attended to us properly when we reached.The waiter who served us tea even remembered the number of sugar cubes whicch we preferred.

The resort has a revolvong restaurant called 360 degree from which you get a beautiful view of the mountains. We had snack in afternoon there but dinner i think was not being served the night we were there.We did have very good food in their other restaurant .Even the breakfast which was served the next day with thick Parathas,fresh curd and bautifully made bhaji.

The resort has some short trails which go into the Pine forests.We had ventured on one of these trails in the moprning.It was absoultely peaceful with only the chirping of birds and barking of dogs breaking the slience.This experience itself was well worth the money we ad spent.The resort premises is also beautiful with beautiful lawns and terraces where you can have great time with your family and friends.The chalet was neat and clean with very effective heaters .DTH worked well so you wont be without your favourites channels.

The only let down is that food is a liitle expensive .Also if you are one looking for some activties,shopping and night life you will have to go to Shimla.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samanvay_sinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is a must place to visit. The surroundings are unbelievable. Doesnt appear like India at all. Its like Switzerland of India. The Golf course nearby is great too. All the rooms are nicely maintained with imported logs. Excellent place for the weekend.

Room Tip: Big Chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mahant81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We had a small family get together at The Chalet Naldhera last year. It was super fun. We played cricket, kids had a ball at the swimming pool area. The dinners were a little disappointing.
The resort is at the sunny side of the hill and its awesome to laze around in the sun with a book.
No Spa services were available :(

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shipra_Sharma_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We travelled from Chandigarh by road to kick off kids winter vacation. This place is ~22 km further down from Shimla. 22km is about 60-90 min on hill roads. This turned out to be a touch more than we would have wanted especially as we did want to spend time in Shimla too. The facility itself is quite nice. Great cottages for a family or even options for extended families. A great welcome package that is quite extensive and keeps surprising you for almost the initial hour or so. The welcome drink was quite an amazing concoction. Hot water is always there and that is great. The cottages are spacious and duplex. The attic is extremely nice and bed room is quite cosy tucked in a corner. Fire-place is good but the heating equipment could have been more contemporary. Food was certainly the high point. Breakfast and lunch are included in the charges and both were pretty good. There aren't great alternatives near by, so this was a big relief. They have a nice trek into wilderness area owned by them. There are a few games - pool, TT, chess, carrom and a very small putting green. However, nothing near what I had expected. Strangely, they do not have an arrangement with the Golf course for a driving range or a few holes. This was the big disappointment for me. Kufri isn't very far. There are plenty of monkeys that come on to the property in the day and then disappear into the wild at night. After the initial scare, it was actually fun to watch them as they aren't very aggressive.

Overall, a good experience. It is definitely pretty expensive for the comparable experiences in other places. They should include Golf, spruce up some games and add some conducted tours in the near-by area. However, if anyone is visiting Shimla for the first time, you may want to stay closer to the city unless an hour or two of drive through hills a day is okay with you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank musafir2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Naldehra
0.9 mi away
Woodstock Resort
Woodstock Resort
#1 of 1 in Naldehra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#12 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
6.5 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Koti Resort
Koti Resort
#20 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
5.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#9 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
6.1 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chalets Naldehra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chalets Naldehra

Property: The Chalets Naldehra
Address: Village & PO Durgapur, Naldehra 171012, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Naldehra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Naldehra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Chalets Naldehra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing