We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“EXCELLENT STAY -would love to come back!!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Kitchen &Dinning
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen &Dinning
FRONT VIEW
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Kitchen &Dinning
FRONT VIEW
LIVING ROOM
BATHROOM
VIEW FROM VILLA
SUN LOUNGE
DINNING
Bedroom
Bedroom
Living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mashobra, Shimla District, Himachal Pradesh

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GAUTAMDel...
DELHI
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT STAY -would love to come back!!!!”
Reviewed March 31, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

we stayed at this villa in a group of three couple along with kids age 5, 6 & 11.
I was very concerned before arriving as we were trying a rentals vacation for first time and moreover having stayed at oberoi cecil on our last visit to himachal, i thought nothing would be able to match it.But i was proved wrong this villa is too good and i must thanks and congratulate mr. sunil for keeping it that way, it was a warm and luxurious stay and no luxury hotel can give that feeling of a cottage home stay.
we went for a jungle trek for one day and it was great fun, the surroundings around villa are very quite and perfect for relaxation , doing bar -be que every night was another highlight of our trip.
i would give this place ten on ten and highly recommend for having relaxing time with family and freinds.
And finally our caretaker at villa Mr Sunder was ONE man army, helping us out with everything and really made our stay easy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 30, 2014
It as a pleasure to have you and your family. Thank you so much for being such wonderful guests and of course for your time for reviewing FHV.
We are delighted to know that we were able to reach your expectations. Our business thrives on guests who leave with fond memories and create a wonderful opportunity for us to receive their friends and families. Being located in the thick of a forest does leave all the noise and chaos behind. Once our guests enter the Villa, the endeavor is to create an atmosphere of complete relaxation and utter bliss.
I am happy that you have carried back fond memories of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back to FHV soon !

Best regards,
Sunil and Pooja
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DipikaN
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

The cottage has 3 bedrooms mostly done in wood and is with living and dining areas and an open kitchen . Master bedroom has a fireplace too . The cottage is well maintained and has a cosy feel to it. Sunder , the caretaker is a nice guy and tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible and also cooked up an awesome barbeque dinner... Meals were simple and homely , which was nice considering we had elderly and very young kids with us. I wish the lawn was big enough for kids to play . The hot water supply was a bit erractic due to voltage issues . Notwithstanding this, I would love to come back to this place again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage itself is tastefully done.
Liked least: The equipment like Microwave and Geysers were not working properly due to voltage issues.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 23, 2014
It as a pleasure to have you and your family. Thank you so much for being such wonderful guests and of course for your time for reviewing FHV.
We are delighted to know that we were able to reach your expectations. Our business thrives on guests who leave with fond memories and create a wonderful opportunity for us to receive their friends and families. Being located in the thick of a forest does leave all the noise and chaos behind. Once our guests enter the Villa, the endeavor is to create an atmosphere of complete relaxation and utter bliss.
I am happy that you have carried back fond memories of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back to FHV soon !

Best regards,
Pooja & Sunil
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VaibhavSe...
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable homely stay”
Reviewed October 14, 2013 for a stay in December 2011

Beautiful & confortable cottage. Away from the hustle & bustle of concrete jungles
The caretaker took a lot of pains to make our stay comfortable. Highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall homely decor & layout of the cottage
Liked least: Extremely cold, not oriented towards winter sun
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shailesh...
Mumbai, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“VILLA was immaculately maintained, the view was supper & staff very helpful”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We were a group of 10 friends from Mumbai, who after attending a conference in Delhi went for a 3 night gateway to Mashobra.

The weather, house, food & the view just made it one of our memorable trips,. I would encourage groups who want privacy or couples who want peace to go to this place. If you want lot of action then pl. proceed to Shimla !!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food was out standing & the view from the well manicured lawns was superb
Liked least: Cant really think of anything that was not good
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sonalib72
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Heavenly Haven!!”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in August 2011

We indulge in leisure travel quite frequently and I have not come across a better location - Heaven on Earth!! The last 2 kms of the approach road through forested areas makes it diffficult to imagine that such a beautiful property exists on the other side. Fortunately the owner, Mr. Sunil Ahluwalia, had mailed us the detailed directions to Forest Hill Villas. The villa was exactly as it appears on the website may be even more prettier! The villa has three bedrooms which are elegantly furnished with wooden flooring and the master room has a fireplace too. The caretaker was very helpful and cooked very homely and tasty meals. Its a very good place to relax and be close to nature. In fact, the city folks would have never experienced such pin drop silence. The view of the clouds in the hills n valleys was mesmerizing. We enjoyed the evening walks to the few village houses located down the hill. It may be advisable to have your own vehicle as the villa is located in a secluded area or arrange one through the caretaker if one wants to visit Shimla. We could not stop raving about the picturesque place and villa to friends and family on our return and look forward to visiting soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful and cut off from civilisation. Luxury in the woods
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiran M
Delhi
1 review
“A walk in the woods with family and friends”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in March 2011

4 kids, 8 adults in 3 cars is not exactly a walk in the woods............but the cottage was amazingly large and warm to accept us all and still envelop us in the surrounding landscape. Orchards, green houses, pristine forests, cliff trails along the edge of the forest and a sheer mountain wall that climbs all the way upto wildflower hall. Romantic, quite, spacious, serene, wild and more than anything else comfortable. We cooked, walked, ran with the dogs, went looking for honey and wild mushrooms, saw greenhouses filled with flowers and vegetables and orchards full of apples, spent time with each other and found time for ourselves........

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The size and location of the cottage
Liked least: The drive up from Delhi
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shalini62...
Noida, India
1 review
“home away from home”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 for a stay in March 2012

we spent 4 beautiful days at FHV in March of 2012. This was around Holi so the weather there was cold but perfect. We had a nice barbeque the first night, the host has a nice bbq machine and tools to go with it. We had carried our meats with us. The view is spectacular , especially from the master bedroom bathroom! The villa opens up onto a beautiful backyard which is adorned with lovely flowers and greenery. The sun remains there the entire day so ideal to just hangout. Each room is spacious and smartly decorated. The linen is clean and each room has a hotwater bottle and kettle with tea to keep you warm! The bathrooms are well designed and well lit.
We enjoyed a lovely fireplace evening as well since it was cold enough.
The kitchen is well equipped with most utensils and appliances so we really enjoyed cooking , although the caretaker can cook nice Indian food.
Our kids enjoyed trekking down to the village nearby. Once you reach FHV, you just want to put up your feet and chill! There is no need to have an itinerary , just carry some nice music and alcohol and plan to relax!! I've been to FHV twice and would love to go back again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: nothing!
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing