We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A taste of Heaven in the Himalayas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mashobra
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A taste of Heaven in the Himalayas”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

For us India truly turned incredible following our 3 night stay at the Wildflower Hall in the Himalayas. Although we have experienced the unmatchable Oberoi service standards before at Udaivilas and thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, the Wildflower Hall raised the bar several notches with every whim and fancy of ours attended to with the politest 'certainly Sir/ Ma'am', you have ever heard. I can spend hours listing out why the Wildflower Hall is a 'Must experience at least once in your life time' holiday extravaganza, however all I will say is that our brief visit impressed us enough to plan our next trip to this piece of paradise next year. The room we stayed in was well appointed with a spectacular view of the valley and snow capped mountains in the distance, a walk in closet and a spacious bathroom. Very comfortable to say the least.

The exquisite wooded interiors of the hotel offer a colonial feel and a warmth which perfectly compliments the crisp mountain air and low temperatures which greet you every time you step out into the open. Surrounded by the pleasing scent of pine trees, we did a forest trail walk and as a surprise for my wife the hotel staff helped me organize a campsite in a forest clearing with a picnic basket, archery and all. We spent the afternoon in a luxurious tent and the hotel staff left us on our own after having served us in true Wildflower Hall super style. There are many activities on site which will keep even the most demanding of guests busy. An hour and half drive away, in Tattapani, the hotel had organized a white water rafting adventure and a luxury picnic on a pebbled river bank. Do not miss this if you havent river rafter before.

The food menu at The Wildflower Hall has a wide variety of choices and Chef Mohan is on his feet to give your taste buds an explosion of wonderful flavours like never before. Breakfast was always a treat and our dinners at the hotel were each worth several Michelin Stars.

FNB Manager Ashish Nehra is attentive to your every need with an alert and ever smiling team. The Housekeeping staff under Aditya, front office staff Vibhuti and Moniza and all this under the guidance of the friendliest, perfectly groomed, well spoken and every ready to interact with his guests, GM Abhishek Sharma. Thank You Wildflower Hall for truly making our holiday a very very special one indeed. Can't wait to return when it snows.

Room Tip: The Valley View rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SajLav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildflowerHallShimla, General Manager at Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your detailed review of you stay at Wildflower Hall.

It was an honour to have you stay with us and I thank you personally for all the conversations we had. I am delighted to read that the ambiance and colonial feel of the resort was to your liking.

The former residence of Lord Kitchener, rebuilt to a new magnificence, Wildflower Hall recreates the grand style of the colonial era. Wood panelling and original artwork create an aura of old world charm. Teak wood floors, hand knotted rugs and rich furnishings complemented by spectacular views make the rooms very special retreats.

The various activities offered by our in-house team are a unique set at Wildflower Hall. To have a luxurious picnic by the river or a surprise tent in the forest are indeed special experiences.

Chef Mohan, Ashish, Aditya, Vibhuti and Moniza are delighted with your praise and recognition.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Snow may still be a few months away but the magic of monsoon at Wildflower Hall is a spectacular experience too!!!

Thank you.

Best regards,

Abhishek Sharma
General Manager
Wildflower Hall
Chharabra, Shimla - 171012
Telephone number - +91-177-2648585
Facsimile number - +91-177-2648686
Email address – sharma.abhishek@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,219
    111
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
313
705
25
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (514)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is bit late but I thought I must write! We went on holiday in june 2012. Stayed three nights with family.. What a lovely experience! Nice view of valley and mountains! Amazing staff of hotel! Always ready to help! They really make your stay pleasant! Family was not ready to go out and visit places, they were enjoying hotel so much!
Once you stay here, no need to go out.. There is no better place around once you stay there. We wanted to go there in December 2013 but could not make it... Sure we will go again just to stay there.....

Room Tip: Mountain view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSH611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildflowerHallShimla, General Manager at Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you your review.

I am delighted to read that the family was able to spend quality time together. Wildflower Hall was built to create a destination within a destination and many of our patrons spend time on the grounds of the resort rather than heading to busier locations.

I thank you for your comments on the team that they looked after you well.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Abhishek Sharma
General Manager
Wildflower Hall
Chharabra, Shimla - 171012
Telephone number - +91-177-2648585
Facsimile number - +91-177-2648686
Email address – sharma.abhishek@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Access: A 20-minute drive from the main market in Shimla, the access to this location is pretty straightforward, that is once you have gone through with the journey to Shimla. Shimla is not an easy place to reach since there is no direct air-connectivity anymore. The nearest landing point is Delhi or Chandigarh, and the best way to get to Shimla from Chandigarh is by road. Once you go through the 4-hour ordeal on the road, the final destination you reach is worth the effort. Ensure that you pre-book your cab before you reach Chandigarh and decide the rate to and fro in advance to save haggling later. Also, if you get motion sickness, it might be a good idea to take an Avomine before the drive ☺
Ambiance: The drive into the resort is quite colonial; we were told that the property was rebuilt in 1995 after the original one was destroyed by fire. The ambiance reminds you of what British colonial hotels & resorts were originally designed to be. Having seen London, Windsor & other palaces, we thought that Oberoi has done a fine job in ensuring that the property retains its original splendor.
The lobby is beautiful and spacious; the fireplace adds charm to the royal setting. The breakfast terrace outside which is adjacent to the dining area overlooks the beautiful valley well endowed with greenery seated atop the beautiful Tibetan White Mountains. The view is an amazing treat to the tired urban eyes for people like us staying in metros.
Rooms: The rooms are facing the mountains or the front of the resort. It is recommended that you take a room that faces the valley, as the early morning view of the picturesque mountains through your window is something you will remember for a long time. The rooms are well furnished as expected and the staff ensures you feel at home. We did not find any monkeys in or around the resort as we were warned about. The special part of the room is the Pillow Menu that is worth trying. We were a little disappointed to find that a hotel of such a standard didn’t offer free Wi-Fi.
Service: The service is Wildflower Hall’s forte. Ranjan, Manoj, Dinesh and Sanjay are few names that we distinctly remember at being the best when it came to service and attentiveness. Overall, compared to other places we have stayed at, the service standard of this hotel is way above what you normally see and the staff is well groomed & trained to ensure that you have a good time and are taken care of. We were particularly impressed when we saw the Indian Chef go out of his way to patiently explain a “dal makhni” recipe in great details to an extremely inquisitive (read annoying) group of guests. :D We also noticed that the staff went out of their way to get a doctor’s appointment for one of the guests who was unwell.
Food: The food quality pretty good. They do have a limited breakfast menu but we guess that works when there is low occupancy. The menu is well balanced for both Indians and expats, and the pricing is not over the moon for dining in the hotel. We did find the in-room dining options a bit limited.
Spa: Their Spa services are pretty exorbitant and we would have liked some more (affordable) options.
Overall: Overall Wildflower Hall is a perfect getaway resort. With activities, hiking, trailing, river rafting, the ambience and the service, we were more than satisfied with our decision to spend a special occasion at this hotel. The deal comes with a price tag so it’s not a place most of us can frequent every year, but occasionally an indulgent vacation to this place may well be worth the budgeting you do for it. We came back fully recharged! Our two cents ☺

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aiyesha_rahul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildflowerHallShimla, General Manager at Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read that you were impressed by the ambiance of the resort. Our location in the midst of a cedar forest looking to the majestic Himalayas is definitely an asset.

All the rooms at the resort look out at mother nature's vistas and the views are always changing during the day. We are in the process of introducing a new wi-fi system for our guests which will come into effect in the next few days.

Ranjan, Manoj, Dinesh and Sanjay are delighted with your praise. I am happy to read that you felt the food was value for money and the menu was well balanced. it is heartening to know that you have returned from our resort completely rejuvenated.

Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Abhishek Sharma
General Manager
Wildflower Hall
Chharabra, Shimla - 171012
Telephone number - +91-177-2648585
Facsimile number - +91-177-2648686
Email address – sharma.abhishek@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Wildflower Hall is a beautiful hotel. I have stayed in several Oberoi Hotels and this is Oberoi at its best! The rooms are lovely with spectacular views. ( worth asking for mountain view ) the staff are courteous, polite, helpful and try their utmost to please. All areas of the hotel are immaculate. The indoor pool and spa are luxurious and outdoor infinity pool amazing! The food was delicious and not overpriced. This hotel may not be the easiest hotel to get to but well worth the long journey!
It is paradise! I just can't wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edith069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildflowerHallShimla, General Manager at Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Wildflower Hall.

I am delighted to read that you were able to participate in many activities and experiences at the resort.

Thank you.

Best regards,

Abhishek Sharma
General Manager
Wildflower Hall
Chharabra, Shimla - 171012
Telephone number - +91-177-2648585
Facsimile number - +91-177-2648686
Email address – sharma.abhishek@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is another in the Oberoi chain and this and the Cecil seem to be competitive, however apart from a few extra touches the cecil, in my humble opinion just snatches the winners medal from the clutches of the wildflower hall. This is in respect of overall customer service and quality of food. And the fact that the towels and dressing gowns were grey and rough compared to the luxurious soft fabric at the Cecil. I caused some consternation at dinner on the first night when I told them that I couldn't eat the lamb dish... This was cooked to perfection, tender full of flavour etc etc, but somehow they had managed to over salt it to such an extent that my lips, mouth and throat were puckered up for hours afterward. I know that Indian cookery is a little high in salt however this was extreme, and believe me they were not happy. The restaurant is a la carte unless they are very busy but I much prefer a buffet style so that we can choose to taste little amounts and go back for more if we Iike it. However on our last night we had asked for a thali, a small amount of several dishes...i have to say this was excellent but neither of us could do it justice, so if you are ever here and want to try an amazing assortment of dishes go for one of these thalis between two and it will bring a smile to your face.
Also wifi is more expensive but sometimes it is so slow and signal is so low that it really is very expensive. It is no fun watching the rupees slip away whilst that deaded thing turns around....
Service is not as good as the Cecil and reception staff are even more off hand. Mr Oberoi ...take note... Luxury hotels do not deliver if the staff only believe the hype and forget what it takes to make a successful hotel.

Room Tip: I understand mountain view rooms are the best to ask for
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody110808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildflowerHallShimla, General Manager at Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

As i wrote in my email to you, i thank you for your detailed feedback and rest assured that the team and I will continue to work on them. Thank you for your comments on the Thali and the local cuisine.

Best regards,

Abhishek Sharma
General Manager
Wildflower Hall
Chharabra, Shimla - 171012
Telephone number - +91-177-2648585
Facsimile number - +91-177-2648686
Email address – sharma.abhishek@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

An awesome place to stay and enjoy nature beauty and beautiful place. I had a great time with my Indian friends. It is situated outside the city on the top of the hill around with trees like a forest area. I was really happy to find this luxury hotel in this forest. It was a awesome stay their with luxury services. I recommend this hotel who love nature and want a break from busy life an busiest places..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minkiemartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildflowerHallShimla, General Manager at Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your succinct response. Wildflower Hall's location cobined with its tea make this an oasis of calm and serenity which allows our guests to enjoy their time here and rejuvenate.

I hope you have carried back fond memories of your stay here.

Best regards,

Abhishek Sharma
General Manager
Wildflower Hall
Chharabra, Shimla - 171012
Telephone number - +91-177-2648585
Facsimile number - +91-177-2648686
Email address – sharma.abhishek@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur, Rajasthan, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The old world charm of the British Raj, exemplified with the Oberoi hospitality make this a special property. The wooden interiors and the woods all around with views to die for make this place really special. Sit in the hot jacuzzi and get a beautiful view of the Greater, Middle and Lower Himalayas. Ask the barman to get you some good cocktails while you're in there. He made a Jack Forest which was wonderful. Don't forget to take one of the hikes with Pawan. His knowledge of this area and its flora and fauna is vast. Take a couples massage in the spa suite in the main building itself since there is a long walk to the outer pavilion and the views from there are not so special. The food is good, especially a great breakfast. Try their eggs benedict and the bacon one. Try to avoid long weekends as it gets overcrowded and the crowds are not exactly what you would expect. The efficient staff do their best to make it special but there are limitations to what they can do with a large and very demanding crowd. The river rafting is a stroll in the stream. Ladies and children can easily do it and along with a picnic lunch by the riverside, its quite an experience. Try to get the Honda CRV to pick you up from Chandigarh. Its better than the Innova and the cost is the same. The drivers are excellent. If you are taking off from Chandigarh, try a nice lunch at Pal Dhaba.

Room Tip: Must take a room that faces the valley and the hills beyond. They are few and get sold out early. Po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtulKapur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildflowerHallShimla, General Manager at Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and commentary on various aspects of Wildflower Hall.

The bartender, Pawan and Chef's are very appreciative of your recognition. It is truly our team that makes this resort a haven for our guests. I am glad that you enjoyed the rafting and the cuisine on offer at the resort. The Jacuzzi is our most popular location looking to the Himalayas. On a clear day once can see as far as Tibet!!!

Thank you for your comments and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Abhishek Sharma
General Manager
Wildflower Hall
Chharabra, Shimla - 171012
Telephone number - +91-177-2648585
Facsimile number - +91-177-2648686
Email address – sharma.abhishek@oberoihotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashobra
5.6 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
4.2 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
1.6 mi away
Club Mahindra Mashobra
Club Mahindra Mashobra
#3 of 5 in Mashobra
4.0 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
4.3 mi away
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
Honeymoon Inn Shimla
#5 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
4.1 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#11 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas

Property: Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
Address: Chharabra, Mashobra 171012, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Mashobra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Mashobra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildflower Hall Hotel Mashobra
Wildflower Hall Hotel Shimla
Wildflower Hall Shimla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing