We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay”
Review of Mahasu House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mahasu House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mashobra
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Mahasu house had a truely beautiful stay when one gets up in the morning to see where you are..atop the mountains,amidst the clouds. .it is spectacular. Thats why I have called it beautiful.

The host Anil Walia was super warm when he received us the previous night. .a nice refreshing welcome chai with some great conversation s.

Beautiful rooms and the entire property was good looking spread out just to the right size. .quiet..serene. .

I can't describe more. Just go live there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chandrabhanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil W, Owner at Mahasu House, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest ,
Greetings from Mashobra !
Thank you so much for your time to review Mahasu House and the lovely picture you have posted.
One day is too less to enjoy the various things in and around Mahasu House. We hope next time you plan a minimum 3-4 nights stay with us and we assure you a great time.
Team Mahasu is grateful to you for giving them an opportunity to serve you. We look forward to having you back again.
Best Regards,
Anil Walia
Cell phone : 09816017100
Email:aw@mahasuhouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
There are newer reviews for Mahasu House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 259 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

This place is off Shimla, takes around 20 - 30 mins from Shimla, After the drive to shimla i was kind of lazy to travel another 10 miles......but once I reached, this place was quite Unreal......it was worth Every MILE that took us there.
It's like this Luxurious Mansion nestled in a Hamlet which has one of the best views you could get and all 360 degrees.
About the place ...It is totally Souped Up
Rooms and Toilets - can give any star hotel a run for their money..
Gym - Well equipped & classy with a breathtaking view ( spa too )
Kids Area- (best part if you are with kids )they got enough to keep them busy....
Its got Play Area, BonFire, Indoor Sports,Library, Cycling and all TOP Class...quite surprised and Satisfied....
Food--Mouth Watering....best part is no set menu here, you can just order any cuisine (most of the veggies come from their green house in the property)
All in all it definitely is the Best extension that Shimla could have...
Thank you for the wonderful stay Guys.!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Biju K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil W, Owner at Mahasu House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Guest ,
Greetings from Mashobra !!
Firstly,Thank you for your valuable time to review the many aspects that make Mahasu House unique.
I am delighted to note that we were able to reach your expectations. Our business thrives on guests who leave with fond memories and create a wonderful opportunity for us to receive their friends and families.Team Mahasu is delighted with your praise and recognition.

I am happy that you have carried back fond memories to Bangalore of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back to Mahasu House soon !

Best regards,

Anil Walia
cell phone : 09816017100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Well, it has been now about a year since I stayed at Mahasu House in Late June 2012 and I can still remember the place, tastefully made rooms, food, and staff. A friend of mine called me and asked for a good place near Simla, and I immediately I told him about Mahasu house, Probably that is why I thought, I should write something about the place.
The place is far away from noise, secluded and yet has all comforts. The interest and passion with which the owner explains you how he built the place, including water harvesting process, talks a lot about his own interest and character and that is something reflects very well in the property itself.
You want to spend a good time away from usual noise, have good food, walk around and enjoy good weather, I will recommend Mahasu. You will not be disappointed for sure.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gbhatli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil W, Owner at Mahasu House, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greeting from Mashobra !

Firstly, Thank you so much for your time to review Mahasu House and for posting those lovely pictures.

We all are delighted to note that you enjoyed and liked all aspects of Mahasu House.

It would be our pleasure to have any of your friends stay with us and thanks for recommending us to your friends and family.

I look forward to meeting you again at Mahasu House.

with warm regards,

Anil Walia
Cellphone :09816017100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The ‘House’ in Mahasu House – describes the property best. You get to taste the warmth and hospitality of a homestay in the Himalayas with a luxurious twist.
Mahasu house has limited number of well-appointed spacious rooms. Each room with its unique décor gives you a feeling of being at home rather than in some resort with cookie cutter design rooms. There is no Menu card – everything is made for you on order – according to your preference. This individual catering may take time, but it’s worth the wait. Evenings are great around the bonfire with tandoor delicacies.
As far as activities are concerned, they offer picnic in the forest, cycling, golf (at the nearby golf course in Naldhera) etc.. but for me the best activity was putting up my feet and enjoying a great glass of wine while my toddler was busy in the playroom at the Attic !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sangeetha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil W, Owner at Mahasu House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Sangeeta,

Thank you for your time to pen down such beautiful words to review the many aspects that make Mahasu House .

I am delighted to note that we were able to reach your expectations. Our business thrives on guests who leave with fond memories and create a wonderful opportunity for us to receive their friends and families.

Being located in the thick of a forest does leave all the noise and chaos behind. Once our guests enter Mahasu House, the endeavor is to create and atmosphere of complete relaxation and utter bliss.
The chef is delighted with your praise and recognition.

I am happy that you have carried back fond memories of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon !

with warm regards,

Anil Walia

09816017100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

An oasis of old-world charm and hospitality, with all the modern amenities to be expected from a five star property. It feels wonderfully like coming home. Excellent rooms, serviced by warm and friendly staff. A major plus is that there is enough to keep everyone occupied: a kids-club in the attic that reminded me charmingly of Enid Blyton, another club a flight of steps down from the main house which is kitted out with video games, a TT table and other things to keep young adults happy:-) and a a lovely green house and gorgeous views and peace to keep adults happy. And if one feels the urge to "do" something then one can head out with one of the gorgeous picnic baskets (again a la Enid Blyton) which the staff will happily put together for you and have a picnic on the many pretty spots of Mashobara. All in all, a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil W, Owner at Mahasu House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Ms. Neha,

Thank you for your review on the many aspects that make Mahasu House unique.
I am delighted to note that we were able to reach your expectations. Our business thrives on guests who leave with fond memories and create a wonderful opportunity for us to receive their friends and families.

Being located at 7550 feet does leave all the noise and chaos behind. Once our guests enter Mahasu House, the endeavour is to create and atmosphere of complete relaxation and utter bliss.
The chef and service staff are delighted with your praise and recognition.

I am so happy that you have carried back fond memories to Dubai of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon !

with best regards,

Anil Walia
cell phone : 09816017100

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The family just returned from a lovely holiday in India, made even more special by our most memorable stay at Mahasu House. There are very few places that really capture the beauty of the mighty himalayas and old memories of Simla( before it got run over by tourists ) like the way Mahasu house does. My two words of advise, if going to Simla to relax and get a break from the daily grind, go a further 10 kms to mashobra and make Mahasu house your destination.

The resort itself is nestled in the lush green mountains and the views are breathtaking. Latest facilities have been packed in the resort in the most unobtrusive manner. For a change you are not cramped in small touristy rooms of a hotel. The room size is overly generous and very comfortable. My family suite, was two very large inter-connecting rooms, with a luggage room. The bathroom was also spacious and fully kitted with a luxurious feel.

The staff was extremely helpful and made sure that every moment of our stay was comfortable. The evenings were lovely. One can sit around bon fire and enjoy a drink, while looking away at the snow capped peaks. The food was equally amazing. There was also a multifunctional play room for kids to entertain themselves.

Lastly, the lovely stay was made possible by the most generous host, Mr Anil Walia. We made a friend for life. Thanks Anil.

Room Tip: If travelling with family, go for the family suite.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amit J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil W, Owner at Mahasu House, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Mr. Amit,

Greetings from Mashobra !!

Thank you for your review on the many aspects that make Mahasu House unique.
Being located in the middle of an Oak & Cedar forest and in the shadow of the mighty Himalayas does create a sense of outer-worldly experience.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Mahasu House with your family.
The Staff and the chef are delighted with your praise and recognition.

I'm glad that you have carried back fond memories of your stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Anil walia
cell: 09816017100
email: aw@mahasuhouse.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The Mahasu House is really a place of appreciation for the quality of service they offer. The location of resort is amazing, serene, away from city's hustle bustle, leading its way through the jungle. From our arrival on 9th August to our departure on 11th, we received a very warm welcome and the staff assure our comfort as guests. The resort has been built up very nicely, with lush green surroundings and beautiful flowers all around. Rooms and restrooms are big, spacious with all the possible facilities and not to miss- the Red Wine. It is very rejuvenating to see the scenic beauty specially when you wake up and come out of the room early morning. Everybody enjoyed peace and other services like gym, spa, indoor games, living room with some interesting books and some fascinating artifacts. Both the variety of food and food quality was excellent. They made sure, our each meal be served at different-different locations of the resort which was quite unusual and a delightful fact too. The last day breakfast was truly very filling and delicious. Mr. Anil Sharma, the resort manager, was always available for assistance and help. The resort route was also guided very precisely by him. After coming back to Delhi, everybody is asking about the place we stayed in and we are definitely recommending this resort to friends and family. It was undoubtedly worth choosing this resort for our stay. Thanks to Mr. Anil Walia for arranging a good deal.
Keep up the same going.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sheenamgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anil W, Owner at Mahasu House, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear Ms. Sheenam,

Greeting from Mashobra !

We all are delighted to note that you enjoyed and liked all aspects of Mahasu House. It would be our pleasure to have any of your friends stay with us.

Thank you so much for your time to review Mahasu House and the lovely pictures you have posted.

I look forward to meeting you personally next time you stay at Mahasu House.

with regards,

Anil Walia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashobra
0.4 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
1.6 mi away
Club Mahindra Mashobra
Club Mahindra Mashobra
#3 of 5 in Mashobra
445 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#13 of 113 in Shimla
1,075 reviews
4.0 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#12 of 113 in Shimla
309 reviews
4.7 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#2 of 113 in Shimla
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mahasu House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mahasu House

Address: Bekulty Road Mahasu House Bekulty Road | Mashobra, Shimla, HP, Mashobra 171007, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Mashobra
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mashobra
Price Range: $170 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at an altitude of 2,400 meters (8,000 feet), Mahasu House is a picturesque 45-minute drive over a 15 km distance from Shimla, the capital of Himachal Pradesh. For centuries, the Himalayas have inspired awe and awakened spirituality in the souls of all mortals who encounter their greatness. Mahasu House is a serene and relaxed getaway offering an experience of nature on a grand scale. From its vantage point in the middle of the forest, Mahasu House looks out onto a magnificent vista of rugged mountains, snow-clad peaks, verdant meadows and cedar forests of Mashobra. This fairytale retreat offers a tranquil sanctuary in the mountains as Mahasu House is in a dense cedar forest that offer spectacular vistas of the majestic snow peaks. Enjoy beautiful views of mountains and valleys from the restaurant, Jacuzzi and the sun deck. Take leisurely walks on the trails winding through the fragrant pine forests and enjoy Gourmet picnic hampers that accompany your explorations. For the adventurous Mahasu House offers white river rafting, trekking, mountain biking, archery, billiards, skiing (in winter) and golf. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing