We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great ambience nd location but rooms dissappoint u”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Mahindra Mashobra
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mashobra
Patiala, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ambience nd location but rooms dissappoint u”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Club mahindra gables mashobra redort is located at a vry nice place. It is not xactly a resort but type of a hotel. I wish club mahindra should open some good resorts such as the jim corbett resort. Mussorie as also highly recommended. Changes are highly required as far as rooms are concerned. Hope when i go nxt time i'll get a better room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j0ydeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mashobra, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your appreciation and the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. We work hard to ensure that all our members have a pleasant experience. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    190
    91
    22
    20
See reviews for
275
92
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

It took us over 9 hours to reach Mashobara from Delhi though we started early to beat the city traffic. We did make many halts, we had kids with us. After reaching Simla also it take s 45 minutes to get to Mashobara but once we reached it was worth the effort.

Check in was smooth and the tour of the facility was informative. Meals are standard Club Mahindra buffets. The bar is really cozy and once must have a drink there for sure. The views of the valley from the lobby and the room are great.

To avoid the hassle of parking and driving we decided to hire a cab to take us to the mall. You can get one just outside the hotel at the provision shop for Rs. 250/- one way.

There is no option to eat out in Mashobra but there is a chemist and a provision store.

The rooms were comfortable and clean. House keeping was decent. We tried room service and the quality of food and service was decent.

There is a kids club with some adventure sports/ activities (paid but worth it).

Ample parking behind the property.

Room Tip: Get a valley facing room if you can, view is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justanomad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mashobra, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Hi,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad to know that you liked the view from your rooms and hope you enjoyed the activities our resort offered. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed there last January and we were snowed in! We were are group of 3 couples and had chosen the resort assuming that we will see the snow and have the facilities like heaters to ensure we dont freeze! The resort needs to ensure that they stock enough of fuel for their generators. The resort ran out of fuel in less than 24hrs of power cut! (considering its remote location and forecast of snow, with assured power cuts during snowfalls, they should have stocked atleast for 5 days of fuel!) We were suppose to stay there for 4 nights but had to cut short and move to their Khandagatt because of the cold. We kept ourselves warm by sitting next to the fireplace all day and increasing our alcohol bill!!

Room Tip: Select the hotel unit even if you have a 1br membership. The view is much better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hargur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mashobra, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Mashobra. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. Please be assured that all the points that you have brought to our notice are being addressed on priority. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Ours was the Perfect time to experience the heaviest snowfall of the season..kids had a grt time at the games centre as we were stuck in the resort due to the snow.good food, excellent service is to name a few.breathtaking view from the balconies...the evening events were the best.the activity staff was too good...one of the best experiences of the snow in shimla hills

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simbatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mashobra, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your feedback and we are absolutely delighted to know that you vacationed at the Club Mahindra Mashobra resort. Our staff at the resort will be thrilled to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, our resort staff will be extremely delighted to receive your compliments. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value. Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you again at our other resorts soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

It truly good getaway from Delhi, and away from overcrowded Shimla. A nice and good place for family get together and lot of places to visit near by. The rooms have magnificent view of snow capped mountains and the valley below. the only problem is the narrow access to the property.

Room Tip: Go for Rooms facing the valley on the east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KayS1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mashobra, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Hi,

Wonderful to know you holidayed at our resort and it was certainly our pleasure to have you! Thanks for writing in and thanks so much for all your compliments. Your feedback helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our staff at the resort will be absolutely thrilled to know that you enjoyed the ambience our resort offered. Please continue to provide us such feedback as it helps us gain insights as to what our customers really value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It was truly an amazing experience among the whispering pines, with a magnificent view of the valley, snow capped mountains, sun seeping through the early morning mist. Resort can improve in terms of ambiance and facilities. Staff was very courteous and more than made up for the lack of quality entertainment. Dont forget to visit Thattapaani, approx 40 km away which has hot springs on the Sutlej.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BijuNair1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mashobra, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback about your stay at Club Mahindra Mashobra. We work hard to ensure that your holiday experience is truly memorable. We are glad you liked view from the resort. Additionally, the points that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Please continue to provide us such feedback and look forward to welcoming you at Club Mahindra Resort soon. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Una, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I chose this resort since i had to go for renewal of my passport at passport seva kendra at Panthaghati (Shimla) and this resort falls 18km ahead on the same road. I had read reviews before booking this resort and one review said that the negative point of resort is that the locals and local market are too near to the resort i:e just on the entrance of resort. I realized this fact the moment i turned my car towards the resort from the main road and my way was blocked by some locals coming in a car from the opposite direction. The boys in the cars were kind of local goons and were not ready to take there car back few inches and wanted me to take my car back around 100 mtrs on the main road. However after a long argument the local shopkeepers convinced those guys to reverse their car. The whole spirit of holiday was dampen by the act. And i didn't knew how safe this place is for my family. However we entered the resort and unlike the entrance the resort was beautiful to look at. The staff was very courteous however on suggesting that the should have a guard on the main entrance to help cars come through the little stretch of local market and avoid incidents like this, i did not get much of a response. The Room allocated was on first floor and had a good view. The staff was very humble and warm. The room service was unbelievably slow through out the stay, since i have been a Club Mahindra member since 2007 i have seen many resorts and this resort in terms of serviceability has still a long way to go. The Food was very good in the buffets as well as Ala-carte. The Recreational room is quite interesting and fun for kids. The staff themselves presented local dance and many other fun activities! Kudos to the team for the recreational activities part and food! There is a big lawn with swings and slides for kids to play. If you are ready to bear with few discomforts of entrance of the resort and slow service the resort is a good place to stay. Shimla ridge is around 20-25 minutes from the resort. You can avail a cab service from the travel desk if you want to avoid driving in congested areas of Shimla and fight your mind off to find a suitable place for parking. I am giving a very good rating and not a excellent rating due to the above said problems, otherwise we enjoyed the stay.

Room Tip: Take Rooms Opposite to to the lift for scenic view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thakur_rajat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ClubMahindra, OBM - Project Manager at Club Mahindra Mashobra, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Hi Rajat,

We are really glad to have received your positive feedback and specifically the detailed comments you have provided. It helps us improve our services further and additionally, provides insights as to what our members really like. Our staff at the resort will be delighted to know that you not only enjoyed the dining experience but also the ambience and the activities our resort offered. Additionally, that you have brought to our notice which will be shared with the resort management on a priority basis. Thank you once again and please continue to provide us your feedback as it helps us serve our members better and ensure a wonderful Club Mahindra experience. In case you wish to provide us with any further information please visit our Facebook page and click on the “Listening Post” tab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mashobra
1.6 mi away
Wildflower Hall, Shimla in the Himalayas
2.6 mi away
Marigold Sarovar Portico
Marigold Sarovar Portico
#11 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
3.3 mi away
Radisson Hotel Shimla
Radisson Hotel Shimla
#10 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Oberoi Cecil, Shimla
3.7 mi away
Clarkes Hotel
Clarkes Hotel
#3 of 111 in Shimla
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
5.9 mi away
Shimla Havens Resort
Shimla Havens Resort
#17 of 111 in Shimla
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Mahindra Mashobra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Mahindra Mashobra

Property: Club Mahindra Mashobra
Address: Gables Mashobra, Mashobra 171007, India (Formerly Club Mahindra Whispering Pines)
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Shimla District > Mashobra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Mashobra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Mahindra Mashobra 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Club Mahindra Mashobra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing