We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kaza then and now...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banjara Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kaza
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banjara Retreat
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kaza
1 review
“Kaza then and now...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Way back in 1996, it was a challenge to get decent lunch at kaza, let alone a hotel. Cut to 2012, 8.30 at night (that's when we reached kaza), we had the pleasant staff of banjara kaza lay us a delicious buffet!

This was my 4th visit to kaza, between 1996 and 2012, and the first where I spent 3 nights at the banjara camps kaza retreat last summer, was traveling with family, we had 4 rooms. Having stayed at their properties in Sangla and Thanedar earlier, you begin to wonder how do they manage to keep the same (well almost) standard across their properties.They have a lovely bunch of guys working for them, always smiling, and helpful.

The manger gave us his personal sim card to use (airtel and vodafone don't work in kaza) because one of us was sick and staying back at the hotel and we wanted to be reachable, while we were out to Kibber and nearby places, great gesture.

The rooms are clean, linen smells fresh (most important), food is good and welcoming staff, great going Team Banjara...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BasedMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    2
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were pleased to find that the people over here were very friendly and nice. They were enthusiastic about our arrival and keen on us seeing places too !!!

I consider the fact that they were able to keep us happy in-spite of the the power shutdown [ we had no power the entire duration of our stay ] ... an achievement. Mr. Om Prakash of this place is a very enthusiastic trekker himself and helped us decide which places to go considering our diesel situation. They also arranged for diesel at Batal ( after Chandratal camping ) but were unable to do so at Kaza itself.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vdy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

We arranged a room and went to a dirty unkempt hotel, the price had more than doubled from what we had been advised, the room had just been put up to 5500 rupees from 2000 rupees. That was over five times the rate of similar hotels in the area.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kaza hotels

Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I have travelled to some of the most remote locations in the Indian Himalayas, Zanskar, Kinnaur, Pangi, Spiti, Nubra, have stayed at many places but I am yet to come to anyone who even remotely comes close to the experience that Banjara provides, in hospitality and looking after you, even in remote Spiti!! Hats off to you guys.

Went up last summer with the kids and family, three days of hard driving from Delhi via Chandigarh and Sangla, reached late evening. The retreat is super nice, loved the peace and quiet of the place and is rather luxurious by Spiti standards..:).

The kids had a blast with the staff, from playing cricket at all times of the day, getting Maggi and French fries at whim, to getting totally besotted with the river camp the Banjara team at SangLa set up for them.

Given the remoteness of Spiti, the incredible effort that it takes to get every single piece of creature comfort up there, yes even simple things that we take for granted like cooking oil and gas, our every wish was granted, from Rajma to Kaadi to eggs made to order and even cold beer, KingFisher, in Kaza!!! Incredible!!!

The rooms were comfy, the retreat nice and clean with running hot water and fresh linen, we even had laundry service, in Kaza off all the places!!

Team Banjara, hats off to you, whatever is your secret sauce of customer service, may it grow stronger, may the Force always be with you. We came to Banjara Kaza retreat as guest’s, we left feeling like we were leaving home. Thank you for a most memorable stay, those incredible 4 days memories will stay with us for a life time. You guys are ROCKSTARS.

If you are going to Spiti, Kaza, Himalayas, go with Banjara Camps & Retreats, you will never regret it.

Sanjit Bal

Room Tip: Ask for the room facing the front, has superb views of the high himalayas across the valley, superb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SanjitBal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

I would suggest everybody to not to ever think of staying at the Banjara Retreat in Kaza. We had been there this July. While checking-in we were offered 2 optipns, one was the rooms with the buffet and the other was without buffet. So, we decided on the option without buffet. When we settled ourselves in the room and wanted to order for starters, the cook suggested to also order for the dinner at the same time (18:00hr). So, we ordered for the dinner. After an hour the cook came and told us that the half of the things that we had ordered are not available. So, we asked him to tell us that what all can he manage. After thinking for a while, he said that actually he can not manage anything and the only option for us is to have the buffet. We were so surprised by this. We asked him to call the manager. The manager came and said that he has no control over the cook, so its better that we do as the cook told us to. As we had to leave early (05:00hr) in the morning for Manali, we were already late to go out for dinner. So, we decided that we will go for the buffet. We told the manager that we will have the buffet only and he should call us onces the other group of people finish their dinner. After half an hour the manager comes and tells us that the cook has even denied to serve buffet to us, so we should go out somewhere at 22:00hr in a place like Kaza for dinner. We were left in the middle of nowhere. Finally, we had to leave the hotel at 22:30hr and find another place to stay. THANKS TO BANJARA RETREAT !!

Room Tip: Just don't think for Banjara at Kaza
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank samsheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2009

Hotel Banjara is a nice place to stay , and Kaza is a awesome place, though we can call it Cold Dessert , but views are breath taking, Hotel service , food and room was good enough.

Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank neemanima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
220 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2008

Another decent Banjara camp (see also Banjara Retreat, Kaza) with a good view of the ancient temple. Not as much traditional furniture as at Kaza but the room is organized well. Welcoming manager and staff but with the same huge caveat as at Kaza: no space heater offered in a debilitating climate. It brought to mind that vivid Ezra Pound line: "If the hoar frost grip thy tent / Thou wilt give thanks when night is spent." Overall hospitality grade is the same as the night temperature.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaza
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deyzor
Hotel Deyzor
#1 of 12 in Kaza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Spiti Valley Hotel
Spiti Valley Hotel
#8 of 12 in Kaza
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Nomad's Cottage
The Nomad's Cottage
#1 of 1 in Losar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Zostel Spiti
Zostel Spiti
#1 of 9 in Kaza
5.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Banjara Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banjara Retreat

Property: Banjara Retreat
Address: Lahaul and Spiti district | Spiti Valley, Kaza 172114, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Kaza
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kaza
Number of rooms: 11

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing