We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This s definitely one to pick” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hideaway - Wild Luxury

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedgeford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hideaway - Wild Luxury
Blunham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This s definitely one to pick”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

We we have just returned home from what was a fantastic week at The Hideaway.
What a place and such a great concept

Also......What a great bunch of fellow Glampers... Only one of which had been properly under canvas before..

It was so easy to make friends.. All our kids were ages 2-6 which made the week fantastic.
They were talking and playing together.. in and out of the tents.. feeding the chickens, goats and ducks

I have to say that It was please that no dogs were there on our week.. Our eldest is frightened by over excited dogs.. Silly really because most are only wanting to play.. Having said that, I do not feel he would feel as free is there were dogs on site.. Maybe have an option especially with young kids to have dog free weeks??
In any event.. I can not recommend this break highly enough... The tents were super clean, modern, well equipped....

If you are fed up with the stresses of work and life.. This is for you.
Put and answer on you phone to say .. please leave a message and ill get back to you next week.. Then turn your phone OFF!!!!

Best bit of the week..... Sitting on the veranda at night when the kids are fast asleep with a large glass of... You can not hear a thing !!!!!!!!!!!! Nothing, apart from the odd owl.. Not that is what i call relaxing

The only problem is that its fully booked for the rest of the Summer. Otherwise we would be back...

If you get a last minute cancellation...... please give me a ring

I must say at this point that Ellen is................ FANTASTIC. What a girl..... What this lady doesn't know about The Hideaway experience, isnt worth knowing.

OK I could waffle on all night about this place... experience it for your self...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NICHOLAS D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, Owner at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for your very kind comments about Ellen and The Hideaway. Whilst we do love having pets at The Hideaway, we have already decided that we will not be having any on site during the summer school holidays in 2014 for the reasons that you have outlined.

Hope top see you next year.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Ellen and team are fabulous and the accommodation is excellent as long as you remember that you are camping. The stove is great and there is a good supply of logs but in poor weather the tent has drafts between the wooden floor and tent sides plus through the zips when the wind blows that way. This gap also means that the tents are not dog proof and neither is the site. Our beagle needed to be permanently on a lead, inside and outside the tent. The chickens wander so dogs cannot be off lead anywhere on the site, a flapping bird will make the most sedate dog get excited!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, Owner at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for your mainly positive comments.

We do welcome calm, well-behaved dogs which can roam free but with two sensible rules, firstly they must not harm other animals on site and secondly not impinge on any other guests. We make these condition abundantly clear in our written advice to pet owners who book with us. Sadly, your dog did kill a camp pet shortly after arrival and was also going into other lodges uninvited. For that reason we asked you to put it on a lead which I know you weren’t thrilled about. We have lots of dogs who come and have a great time at the Hideaway so I’m sorry that it didn’t work out for your pets.

Regards

Jonathan
WILD LUXURY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Had a great stay at the Hideaway. Only went for a short trip but came away feeling we'd been there for far longer as it was such a relaxing trip. The tents have everything you need and are very comfortable. I'll definitely be coming back for a longer trip very soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, General Manager at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments. Do come for a week next time.

Kind regards

Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

My family and I have just returned home from a wonderful trip to The Hideaway - Pigeon Wood. The accommodation is fantastic, the service was excellent. Ellen was fantastic with our young children, coming for them every morning so that they could help her feed the animals and check for eggs. This was the high light of their weekend. We are definitely planning a return visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, General Manager at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. It was a pleasure looking after you and your children are lovely.

Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

What a fab site. The tents are massive, they are equipped with everything you could want and more. I have stayed on several 'glamping' sites and this was by far the most luxurious. Fabulous to have the wood burner in the middle of the tent, it really made us feel cosy in spite of the wind blowing furiously outside.
We loved the site and though our little one isn't quite toddling I can just imagine the fun children would have here, adventuring in the woods and feeding the animals. I would heartily recommend the site to friends with little ones.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TampingT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, General Manager at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
The Hideaway is a firm favourite for families with young children so thanks for highlighting this in your review.

Kind regards

Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Very impressed with the whole set-up, pre-stay information was very useful and informative, the accomodation was really good and lived up to the billing, would recommend this to anyone who fancies getting out into the fresh air and enjoying the country whilst retaining a few home comforts.

Room Tip: All Lodges looked the same, we stayed in Muntjac which was in the middle, good sociable location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, General Manager at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I'm glad you had such a good stay

Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Just back home, already planning our next visit! This break was a birthday present for a friend who is not usually a "happy camper" but no problems here! Big comfy beds, comfy chairs and a blazing open fire it just doesn't get any better.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandRick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, General Manager at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Many thanks for your lovely comments. There is something very special about escaping for a few days in the countryside and I am glad you loved your time at The Hideaway so much.

Ellen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedgeford hotels
0.1 mi away
Magazine Wood
Magazine Wood
#1 of 4 in Sedgeford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.8 mi away
The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Sedgeford Hall Estate
Sedgeford Hall Estate
#4 of 4 in Sedgeford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway - Wild Luxury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway - Wild Luxury

Property: The Hideaway - Wild Luxury
Address: The Hideaway | Pigeon Wood, Sedgeford PE36 5LW, England (Formerly Wild Luxury - The Wild Glamping Company)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sedgeford
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sedgeford
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Safari tents in breathtaking location. Terraces, master bedroom, second bedroom, children's sleeping quarters, kitchen, power shower, flushing lavatory. Private fire-pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hideaway - Wild Luxury Sedgeford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing