We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would go again”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedgeford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hideaway - Wild Luxury
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Would go again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

The lodge was lovely and I would certainly go back with a group of friends, but as a couple I think it’s rather expensive for just the two of you.

The area is stunning; I could go on and on about how lovely the beaches are.

My only downside were the owners. On the last night the owners had a big party at one of the tents and it felt a bit odd them being there especially as at about 8:30pm they interrupted our evening to check up on us and did so throughout our stay. I would say it could be that they were just checking we had everything we needed but it didn’t come across that way.

Also if you do take your dog be warned that the field the tents are in aren’t totally fenced off and the dogs can get in and out of the tents when the zips are closed as we found out when the owners dog came into our tent when it was closed. However it is a lovely dog so wasn’t a bother to us.

But all in all a lovely place to stay and something a bit different.

Room Tip: There is a supermarket in Hunstanton - use that and not the 'pantry'. And go to Brancaster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, Owner at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Many thanks for your review and we are obviously pleased that you rated us as very good and would like to return.

You raised a few points which I would like to clarify. Staying at Wild Luxury costs about the same as one of the better local B&B’s and we think this is very reasonable. However, in fairness if you are staying as a group it works out in the region of £20 per person per night which is great value.

The fresh food in the pantry is primarily supplied by the local farm shop who source their produce from Norfolk farms, local fisherman and specialist suppliers. They have won numerous awards including being the 2011 “Food Hero” winner. As you rightly point out there is also a local Tescos but we hope part of the fun of this sort of holiday is being able to conveniently enjoy local produce. Many of our guests love the convenience of the service where fresh local provisions are delivered at shop prices straight to their lodge.

On the Sunday night Carrie asked 8 people who had helped out through the season to a barbeque from 6-10pm. I don’t think this qualifies as a ‘big party’ or particularly odd. It was a beautiful evening and I am pleased that someone from Wild Luxury went and said hi to guests as they enjoyed sitting around the campfire. I am not entirely sure what they could be checking in the dark but apologise if it was perceived in that way.

We visit all our guests to check that they have everything they need every morning and evening. It is always a difficult balance between being available and not imposing. I have checked the feedback forms which all guests complete for the week that you stayed. To the question “How well do you think you were looked after by the Wild Luxury Team?” the responses included “very attentive and caring” “friendly and welcoming” “nothing too much trouble” and “helped to make our stay super special”. However I accept that this was not your perception of matters and we are sorry about that.

We always look to try and ensure that our guests have a special time and are glad that you had a good stay with us and will take account of your comments in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We were a group of 5 female friends looking for a break with a difference and booked a Wild Luxury Safari Lodge (could easily fit 6 adults - it is worth calling up and clarifying details before booking). The lodge consisted of a king-sized bed; large sleeping cupboard and a bunk - all of which were incredibly cosy and comfortable. The en-suite facilities were perfect and the hot shower helped when the weather was a bit chillier!
The stove in the lodge also worked very well and we managed to get the place quite toasty even though it was early October.

Your holiday is what you make of it and we revelled in having BBQ's everynight as well as firing up the communal fire pit and enjoying a mulled cider around it. The beach is also a short drive away and there is plenty on space to enjoy outdoor games (croquet, in our case!)

This is a highly recommended holiday and is also family friendly with the chickens that run free on the site and guinea pigs to keep everyone amused.

On site we were also well looked after by Carrie who was only too happy to help with anything we required - many thanks for the warm welcome and we definitely look forward to returning to this (or any other!) sites you have in the future!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FunSeekerHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

Our party of 4 adults and 4 children arrived at 4pm after a long journey to find Carrie waiting to welcome us and give us a quick induction (neccessities such as lighting the stove and using the shower). Also allocating the job of chicked keeper for the week to my eldest, a job taken extremely seriously and thoroughly enjoyed.
Everything was ready for us we just had to unpack and enjoy.
The accomodation was superb, with everything you could need.
The mattresses were compared to the best quality in a luxury hotel and the duvets kept even the coldest of blood warm at night.
Carrie or Jonathan visited site am and pm and any questions or queries were quickly resolved. The addition of the candleabra mid-week meant we could chat and play board/card games until late evening with plenty of light, before taking the children back to our lodge. The distances between lodges being perfect. Close enough to be with our friends but far enough at night to return to our lodge and leave our child free friends to some much earned peace and quiet.
Pigeon Wood in in an excellent location to other attractions. We drove for an hour one day to find the fantastic BeWILDerwood, but the rest of the time never more than half an hour spoilt for Royal residences and fantastic beaches. The on site honesty shop was great for forgotten essentials but at Carries directions found the local stores to be more than adequate. A fantastic holiday had by all and hope to return next year with more friends.
Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

This was a catch up weekend with friends and their families, we had hired 2 tents and we were 5 adults and 4 children altogether. Our stay at luxury Wild was wonderful despite a thunderstorm on the day we arrived!! The storm only made us appreciate the glorious weather and sunsets we had following; adding to the magical experience of Glamping in Norfolk.
We found the service fantastic and very friendly, the whole set up including the Checking in was friendly and informative and this made us feel at ease especially as it was our first time glamping with very young children.
The children loved every minute of it; just having the outside space for them to run was enough!!!..But taking morning walks to the chicken coop to check for fresh eggs was a real joy for them. Seeing the sheeps in the field and having a bbq as the sun set..!

This was a great experience for all of us and what a way to be introduced to Norfolk!!! We will definitely be back and perhaps do more of the things suggested in the welcome pack when the kids are a bit older.

Many Thanks to Jonathan, Cassie and crew.
The Dragons and Friends.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pongnou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We went for a mid-week stay commencing the 27th June; the holiday was for me, my fiancé and our friends who are another couple. We did consider getting two separate tents but the website stated that 6 adults could comfortably stay under one canvas roof so we went for it and shared. On arrival we were shown our tent, which was fabulous - very spacious and lots of storage ect. Norfolk has a stunning landscape and the position of the tents really show it off to its best.

Upon arrival I asked Carrie if she could show us how to open up the tent to air it out (the weather was unbearably hot), but her response was that it was to much of a kafuffle and nobody had actually done it yet - so why does the gallery on the website show the tents like this. We all felt like the website had misled us and we felted cheated.
The next downfall she presented us with was that we had no gas stove ("her friend would try and look at it that evening and we might have it the next day"), this meant that after a four hour drive we could not have a cup of tea without firing up the aga, and in 30 degrees that was the last thing we wanted to do! We did not receive our stove until the Tuesday evening meaning we went for a day without one - when you arrive they give you a bag of special wood for the aga that is meant to last you a week, any extras come at an additional price, unfortunately we were not offered free extra fire-wood although we were having to use the aga at unnecessary times just to have a cuppa!

They say things always come in 3's and our final complaint was a broken bed. My partner who weighs 13 stone sat on the end of the bed to put on his socks, next thing we know he is on the floor. The bed had not been put together properly (it had a screw missing from the footboard) leaving us with broken bed. We told Carrie and her response was "well what are you going to do about it" - hardly the response you want when you have paid for 'luxury' camping. The bed was repaired the next day and in the meantime we were left with bunk beds - not very romantic! Another issue we had with the sleeping arrangements were that we were not informed of what kind of bedding to bring with us - we emailed three times and rang up but with no avail, the most useful response i got was to purchase the additional linen package - which I did not want to do! This meant that we had double bedding, when the master bedroom has a king size bed!

We were disappointed with these mishaps because really it was a brilliant break! The fresh eggs from the chickens in the morning were delicious and staying out late under the stars with a glass of wine was magical. We just wish that we had had an apology when things went wrong. I understand that this the first season for this place, but really, a bit of customer service wouldn’t hurt.

We will defiantly go glamping again, it a shame the service at Pigeon wood meant we would not return there.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franceswayte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, Owner at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Oh dear! Whilst we are very happy that you thought the Pigeon Wood was a “brilliant place”, you had “a brilliant break” and thought the Wild Luxury lodges were “fabulous” we are obviously disappointed that some elements of the service did not meet expectations.

You have raised a number of specific points which I am happy to clarify. In regard to the wood supplies, it states in the welcome pack sent to you prior to arrival and reiterated during your initial tour, as well as being detailed in the information in your lodge and on the sign in the wood store that you are entitled to a sack of wood per day not per week. You also get a pack of about 40 starter pellets to assist with lighting your stove which should last the whole of your stay.

I can understand why you did not think a daily wood allowance could last a week and assume that is why you were so reliant on your gas ring which is usually just a back-up. We have never experienced this misunderstanding before and I am sorry you only raised it after you left.

All information provided advises that our staff will always be on site in the morning and evening and should you have any problems outside of these times to contact us on our mobiles. We were advised about the bed being broken when we visited you after 6pm and therefore could not send in a repairman until the morning. This is also true of the gas stove which went missing and was replaced the following day.

Lodges sides can be rolled up quite easily and guests regularly do this. It takes about 5 minutes a side to put them up and slightly longer to put them down. We generally recommend this is done during the day and then put down during the evening. I think Carrie was worried that if you put them up in the evening then you would be struggling in the dark, on your first night to put them down. We will look at including this advice more specifically in the lodge information and I am sorry that this was not made clear to you at the time.

I am disappointed that we did not meet your expectations and also that you did not raise them with Carrie during your stay. Indeed I met you all in your lodge and we chatted for several minutes about your stay (and the amazing tiger suits you were wearing!) but you never raised any concerns regarding your stay. I am glad that you had such an enjoyable time and fond memories of Pigeon Wood and rest assured we will review how we can better communicate the procedures that we have put into place to ensure our guests have a great time with us.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We just returned from a weekend stay at Wild Luxury.
The place/experience exceeded our expectations on every level.

The tent was very clean, well kept and in great conditions. We didn’t know they just been running for 2 months.
The location is very quiet and peaceful. The sights we had were amazing, overlooking the sheep.
Because we were 2 couples they allocated us the tent further away so we had the space for ourselves and no noise restrictions.
We had BBQ every night, fresh egg every morning, and the kitchen is so well equipped you could bake a cake!
My husband and I slept in the cabin bed and our friends slept on the master bedroom, there is enough space for 6 adults!

The experience is weather dependant but we were very lucky with the weather (almost 30 degrees).
We hired bikes for the weekend and took a trip down to Burnham Market, lovely place, with its butcher shop, boutique shops, Jack and Willis and a great pub!
Beware is not an easy ride, lots of hills and a few busy roads.

Sunday we took a 20min drive to Wells-next-to-the-sea, a very nice sandy beach! The water was very cold but it was so hot outside that we manage to go for a swim without catching hypothermia.

Will definitely go back and it is 100% recommendable!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnaDiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

My wife, 2 young children (1&3 y/o) and I have just returned from a mid week stay and had a great time. We had originally planned on a 3 night trip but extended by an extra night as we were enjoying it so much. The tents are well equipped with everything you need but not so much that you're tripping over clutter. The south facing tents overlook a field of sheep and nearby woods and the location is so, so quiet and beautiful. The site itself has a hutch with guinea pigs which the kids can hold and a hen house both of which kept the kids thrilled for hours... there are no on-site activities other than that but theres loads of room for kicking a football about or having a small fire... As you'd expect with an english holiday, WL is very much reliant on the weather being good- we were blessed with blazing sunshine... it rained on the final night which made the tent very cozy with the log burner going. We had a blast and hope to return next year...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grayoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgeford
2.9 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
4.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
0.0 mi away
Magazine Wood
Magazine Wood
#1 of 4 in Sedgeford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant
3.8 mi away
Searles Leisure Resort
Searles Leisure Resort
#1 of 7 in Hunstanton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sedgeford Hall Estate
Sedgeford Hall Estate
#4 of 4 in Sedgeford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway - Wild Luxury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway - Wild Luxury

Property: The Hideaway - Wild Luxury
Address: The Hideaway | Pigeon Wood, Sedgeford PE36 5LW, England (Formerly Wild Luxury - The Wild Glamping Company)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sedgeford
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sedgeford
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Safari tents in breathtaking location. Terraces, master bedroom, second bedroom, children's sleeping quarters, kitchen, power shower, flushing lavatory. Private fire-pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hideaway - Wild Luxury Sedgeford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing