We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great find! Fantastic place.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hideaway - Wild Luxury

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sedgeford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hideaway - Wild Luxury
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great find! Fantastic place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

We have just come back from a short break (4 nights) at this fabulous location. It's so peaceful and safe for the children, just the owls at night and the birds and sheep to hear during the day. children loved collecting the eggs in the morning for breakfast and playing with the guinea pigs. The wood burning stove was very easy to light and very efficient. The
"tent"was very comfortable, good quality furniture and beds, duvets and pillows. Shower lovely and hot and clean, even a proper flushing loo! It had the feel of camping and outdoor life but with the home comforts. We didn't miss electricity too much as the oil lamps were very good. The service was great, Jonathan (owner) would bring us ice in the evening to make our stay even more luxurious! I will definitely be coming back.
The beaches nearby are deserted and beautiful. My 10 year old was swimming to find she
was joined by a seal! a great holiday to remember.
Mrs Hedley and family

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Molly_Hedley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

The last time I did safari camping was some years ago in Kenya. Not surprisingly I was a little cynical about safari camping in England. But my cynicism soon evaporated when I arrived at the gate to Wild Luxury. Wide open spaces, a fabulous wood, a communal camp fire burning and not a chimney stack to be seen.

Norfolk boasts some of the biggest skies and on a clear night you can easily imagine you are under an African sky.

Sheep in the fields and free range chickens on the site (great free eggs for breakfast if you are up before your neighbours!). Maybe not quite as exciting as the Big 5 in Kenya but your are only a short drive to some of Britain’s best bird reserves. Titchwell with its new multi million pound hide is a very short drive away.

The accommodation was very comfortable with en-suite showers and a wood burning range to cook or simply heat the lodge. The Honesty Pantry comes in very handy if you have forgotten or run out of something.

If there is a downside, it’s the fact that the nearest village of Sedgeford is a long walk so you really need a car to get there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bazzabazza2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2011

When we first heard about Wild Luxury at Pigeon Wood, we knew we had to give it a go. So off we went for a very short break, and simply loved every minute of it. This is camping with a very big difference, there's a wood burning range to start with, running water and truly comfy beds with proper bedding too. Having had such a great time we couldn't wait to get back home and tell all our friends, what we had discovered! Will definitely be back - for longer next time.

Room Tip: we slept in the bed hidden in a wooden cubby hole!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dibble45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

From the moment of arriving at Pigeon Wood we were made to feel welcome by the whole Wild Luxury Team. We were shown to Lodge where everything was explained to us. The Lodge itself is very comfortable and equipped with most of what we needed. The Double bedroom was a nice size complete with a double bed and a large chest of drawers. The other bedroom had bunkbeds in, and again it was a good size. The quirky sleeping cupboard was a nice touch, my 14 year old son was very happy sleeping in there.
Cooking on the woodburner takes some getting used to, but once you have it sussed then its a fun way to do meals. Breakfasts were always a pretty spectacular affair with bacon, sausages, eggs etc, and it was lovely to eat it looking at the stunning views and without a tv or computer in sight!
Staff were always at the site first thing in the morning to deliver fresh bread or newspapers if you had ordered them, and they were always happy to sit and have a chat.
What we liked the best about our break was the location with the stunning views, the peace and quiet and the fact you have your own hot shower room and flushing toilet at the back of the lodge.
I cant say there was anything we didnt like, but there were two things that did niggle me a bit. We paid for the Luxury Welcome in advance for 3 people which cost an extra £24, which was supposed to include beds made up, the stove already heated up, soup cooking, bread and fruit waiting for us in the lodge. I was made aware the night before the soup wouldnt be available but was told instead there would be a a bottle of wine, however, this never appeared, neither did the bread and the fruit we received were 3 oranges. So basically i paid £24 for 2 beds to be made and 3 oranges! Also i paid in advance for the Welcome Hamper, which comprised of 6 sausages, a pack of bacon and a loaf of Kingsmill. Not value for money considering i was charged £19 for the 3 items. So thinking about it, in total i paid and extra £43 pounds for 2 beds to be made up, 3 oranges, 6 sausages, 6 rashers of bacon and a loaf of Kingsmill! Blimey! And if i had of known that i wouldnt of paid for the 2 extra services.
Other than that, verything else was great. Just a few tips if you decide to go to Pigeon Wood:
1. Take a large pan to cook in as there isnt any large ones provided.
2. Take a radio to break the silence if it gets too much for you.
3. If you have room in your car, try to squeeze a sun lounger in there with you because there is no comfy chairs to chill out in the sun and enjoy a nap.
4. Also, take a roll of double sided sticky tape as my rear numberplate vibrated itself off on the bumpy dirt track on the way to the sight, the tape comes in handy for sticking the numberplate back onto your car.
5. Take a few board games to play by candlelight.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norfolkwebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, Owner at The Hideaway - Wild Luxury, responded to this review, May 9, 2011
Many thanks for your kind words and we are delighted you had such a great stay. I was so sorry to hear about the problems with your "welcome" option. This is usually booked by people arriving late who just want everything in their lodge ready and to tuck into bowl of soup and some fruit before settling down for the night.

As you arrived late afternoon and had ordered a home-cooked casserole, I think some things obviously got missed! I am so sorry that you didn't mention it while you were with us or even in your lovely thank you letter but we are pleased that your husband enjoyed the cassserole so much.

We will amend the website to explain the late welcome option better for future guests. I have also forwarded something which I hope will make amends for the mix-up.

Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2011

We had a fantastic weekend and will certainly go again. Great for familes and couples. We have stayed in similar safari tents before but thought the design of this tent was better as it was more spacious with the toilet at the back of the tent. qAlso having a shower in the tent was sheer luxury! The location of
the site is also great as there are so many things to do. Also, Perfect site for cycling both for adults and children so next time we will definitely take bikes.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sedgeford hotels
0.1 mi away
Magazine Wood
Magazine Wood
#1 of 4 in Sedgeford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
0.8 mi away
The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Sedgeford Hall Estate
Sedgeford Hall Estate
#4 of 4 in Sedgeford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hideaway - Wild Luxury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hideaway - Wild Luxury

Property: The Hideaway - Wild Luxury
Address: The Hideaway | Pigeon Wood, Sedgeford PE36 5LW, England (Formerly Wild Luxury - The Wild Glamping Company)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sedgeford
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Sedgeford
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Safari tents in breathtaking location. Terraces, master bedroom, second bedroom, children's sleeping quarters, kitchen, power shower, flushing lavatory. Private fire-pit. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hideaway - Wild Luxury Sedgeford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing