We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to recharge and/or relax”
Review of Magazine Wood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Magazine Wood
Ranked #1 of 4 Sedgeford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Langport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to recharge and/or relax”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Me and my lady spent three wonderful nights at this gem of a place, I could eulogise on and on but will keep it short we have discussed it on our long journey home in detail but simply cannot find even one small negative point. I myself after a fairly upsetting previous few weeks came away a new healed person. Marvelous room, location, view, bathroom, bed, plus the little treats left. The help yourself continental breakfast was comprehensive and so good, the cooked we had on our final day likewise, I suppose the only negative thing was having to leave the place.

Room Tip: The chalet rooms Coast or Walkers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bladefire929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, Owner at Magazine Wood, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your visit and your kind comments are much appreciated.

Pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    9
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
162
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We have had a wonderful 2 night stay. If you what to get away from it all this is the place to come. Some lovely personal touches amongst luxury. Only very small niggle is lack of dressing table. I used mirror in corner but needed a light. Made it very difficult to dry hair. But will definitely be returning this year.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seahorse1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonathanB777, Owner at Magazine Wood, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review, we hope to see you again at Magazine Wood one day.

Pip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We were a bit unsure about this when we booked but the reality of having breakfast served in your room, while still relaxing in your pj's, is delightfully decadent..Continental breakfast is provided en suite and cooked breakfast available to order at a reasonable additional charge. Try something different!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thingx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Great accommodation in a very peaceful and tranquil setting. We were in the 'coast room' which was beautifully decorated and furnished, and immaculately clean. Loved the breakfast, and having sampled the full English and salmon and scrambled eggs, both were well worth the £6.00 charge. Eating breakfast in your room whilst admiring the view was a lovely way to start the day. Jonathan and Pip were very attentive and we felt that nothing would have been too much trouble. In a great part of Norfolk there is lots of great walks and places to stop for a drink or bite to eat. We had good meals at the King William IV in Sedgeford and the Orange Tree in Thornham.
We would definitely return and recommend to family and friends. We have now booked a week in August at their Wild luxury camping in Thornham which we are sure will not disappoint.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Magazine Wood for a surprise annversary stay (my husband chose it). It is evrything you expect it to be: quiet, tranquil and a totally relaxing environment. We stayed in 'Walkers' which meant that we were detached from the house in a slef contained unit which afforded us views over the surrounding countryside. Nice finishes and touches made this a really enjoyable stay and worthy of its high ratings and reviews. I had no issues with the help yourself breakfast - in fact I thought it was great - you can order a hot breakfast and have this is your room - I think the whole concept makes the stay more private and ideal for a romantic stay!

Room Tip: Walkers was nice as you are self contained in the grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Two glorious relaxing days visiting North Norfolk. With B&B's like this you don't need the formality of hotels. The standard is as good as any 5* hotel if not better than some we have stayed at. On appearance the large shed in the garden turns into a tardis inside, a duck into a swan, with plenty of room and every comfort available. We concur with all that has been said about Pip and Jonathan, they are welcoming and friendly. If only every B&B was like this!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorGib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne, Lincs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We are just leaving Magazine Wood after our first stay here - we will be back! Hosts Pip and Jonathan are gracious and welcoming, our bedroom (Walkers) was absolutely amazing - 5* bed with crisp cotton linen, a huge room with chaise, fabulous views from the terrace overlooking the garden and the valley beyond. The bathroom is first class, large bath complete with candles, full-head shower and twin sinks, Now to breakfast! We were hesitant about the concept of breakfast in our room - BUT we loved it! Pip's English breakfast is gorgeous, plenty of everything, fresh coffee, juice, fruit, etc.If attention to details were an exam, Pip and Jonathan would have an A*.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrysheehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgeford
2.9 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
4.8 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
Congham Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 15 in King's Lynn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
4.8 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magazine Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magazine Wood

Property: Magazine Wood
Address: Magazine Wood Peddars Way | Sedgeford, Sedgeford PE36 5LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sedgeford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgeford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury bed and breakfast on the North Norfolk coast fitted to the highest standards with all modern conveniences in a stunning rural setting of park and woodlands. Named as one of the "Ultimate 100 Places to stay in Britain 2015 & 2016" by the Sunday Times. Michellin Guide 2016. Alastair Sawdays Great Hotels 2016. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Magazine Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magazine Wood Luxury Bed And Breakfast
Magazine Wood Luxury Hotel Sedgeford
Magazine Wood Sedgeford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing