We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Sedgeford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed March 21, 2010

This was one of many visits to the King William for lunch only. It is consistent in its quality of management and quality of staff attention. The food is superb and the real ale choice is very good. so called "simple" dishes like fried plaice are top rate. My father in Law had the roast guinee foul which was superb.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    80
    18
    29
    20
See reviews for
82
211
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2010

The King William IV Inn in Sedgeford is more of a country cottage with enhanced restaurant, bar and rooms for stay. It was a wonderful retreat for us, away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Our room was spotless, spacious with a large en-suite bathroom.

The dining room is furnished with décor of local birds. We were spoilt with outstanding breakfast with wide choices from the menu and didn’t feel hungry till dinner. Tea/ biscuit or yoghurt sufficed for lunch as we were out and about. There was a great choice from the à la carte for dinner for vegetarians and non-vegetarians with friendly headings for those with need dietary requirements. For omnivores: Snettisham Park Venison, Duck Breast in Red Wine & Berry Sauce are MUST eat gastronomical delights to try before you leave (Chef Richard’s speciality)!

Staff: Caroline, Liz, Beverley and Sophie Rix in particular, were very polite, friendly and pleasant to talk to. Nick, the owner of the Inn was the perfect host and made sure we were fine and even gave advice on local sites to visit. It was like visiting a friend, even though it was our first stay in this hotel!

If you are a country loving person then this part of Norfolk is ideal, close to RSPB Snettisham, cliffs, beaches and a variety of birds and country walks. If you are going in winter (as we did, Feb 2010) take a car, layers of warm clothing and a flask as the wind was biting cold and weather unpredictable.

After long hours of leisurely touring, coming back to the Inn was pure bliss, the warmth of the lovely real log fire caressing the bitter cold cheeks felt like instant cosiness and romance.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be going back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2009

We enjoyed three days at the KW and each day the service and quality was at its highest, particularly the generous and quality standard restaurant and menu. Food was fresh, well prepared and included local produce.... breakfast was inclusive and of excellent quality, very well presented. The inn was very clean and cosy and the bedroom was luxurious and spotless. The staff and landlord were attentive, polite and very helpful. We will definitly return, probably sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enrique_1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2009

We were very comfortable here. We were walking the Peddars Way and had walked 16 miles that day, so we appreciated the comfort and large rooms. Big comfortable bed and large modern bathroom. I prefer a stall shower or shower curtain to the half-door here, but I didn't flood the bathroom as I had feared. The restaurant was excellent, and the half-board price is a very good deal. Nick is an enthusiastic and curious host. At first the place seemed a little "corporate," but I hadn't realized it is a small chain of hotels, so that explains it. But it sounds like each one is different.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanfrombos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTTINGHAM
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights over new year. The owner Nick looked
after us very well indeed. The inn is warm and cosy, the food is very good and the staff are a delight. Our rooms were first class and so comfortable and hugh beds and gorgeous bathrooms.
Really lovely and relaxing and our every needs cared for.
This is truelly a diamond place and run by people who know how to look after you with a smile, so friendly, you really feel at home.
would love to return next year. Prices are reasonable too and the food is off a very high standard. My father ,who is in poor
health was looked after with great care and respect.
A Great place to stay, thank you. (my little dog too was not a problem and was easy to have with me as I had a key to let him out anytime) FANTASTIC TIME.

  • Liked — PEOPLE PLACE FOOD
  • Disliked — NOTHING. ALL FANTASTIC
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CATHERINENOTTINGHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orpington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2008

We stayed at this B & B for 4 nights. The food is excellent in the restaurant. Don't worry about the portion sizes, there is plenty. We had a different meal every night with no complaints. The bar is warm and friendly with real ales brewed locally. The room was warm clean and comfortable. The bathroom spotless with a nice powerful shower. All the staff are friendly. I recommend this place to anyone Nick the owner has done a wonderful job.

  • Liked — nice comfortable bed
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank daveOrpington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

Had a lovely 3 days at King William IV pub and B & B. Our room was very comfortable and had been newly refurnished to a high standard. The full English breakfast is large and sets you up for the day with no need to stop for lunch. Nick and Lili made us very welcome. We took our bicycles and Nick helped us to plan some good interesting routes. Though dont be fooled into thinking Norfolk's flat and easy to cycle!! The lanes are hilly, very quiet and the scenery stunning. I am sure we will return to explore some more.

  • Liked — Very large bed
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyson_Spencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgeford
2.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
868 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
8.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Titchwell Manor Hotel
Titchwell Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
795 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Golden Lion Hotel
The Golden Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hunstanton
389 reviews
2.1 mi away
Queen Victoria Inn
Queen Victoria Inn
#1 of 3 in Snettisham
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant

Property: The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant
Address: Heacham Road, Sedgeford PE36 5LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sedgeford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgeford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed and Breakfast in Sedgeford, Hunstanton Norfolk. Welcome to The King William IV, Country Inn & Restaurant. Tucked away in the historic village of Sedgeford, lies this friendly award winning, 9 bedroom Inn; amid rolling countryside, less than a mile from the Peddars Way and conveniently close to Norfolk's Beautiful Coast. You will immediately feel at home; log fires throughout the Winter, sunshine in the gardens during Summer; whether you are just living around the corner, enjoying a short visit or staying overnight, The King William offers you a delightful relaxing escape into Country life. The King William IV Sedgeford - A great place to eat, drink & sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King William Iv Country Inn & Restaurant Hotel Sedgeford
The King William Iv Country Inn And Restaurant
Hunstanton Country Inn
The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant Sedgeford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing