We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 4 Sedgeford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Short stay”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just returned from a last minute decision to go to the coast, staying at the King William. What a find the room was vey comfortable and clean, staff helpful and friendly. The food both evening meal and breakfast tasty we will definitely return for a longer break,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thekingwilliam, Owner at The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay especially as it was a last minute decision. We love to host you again in the future and if you indeed like to return for a longer break please do check our website for special offers or speak to us.
Kind regards,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    80
    15
    26
    17
See reviews for
77
204
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We arrived on a late Saturday afternoon, the locals were all very friendly in the bar area.

The room was very clean and the bathroom the same. We stayed in one of the dog friendly rooms as we had our dog with us and you would expect these rooms to not be as nice as the others, but we were very pleasantly surprised.

The meal was really nice, we had a three course and had plenty of food. The only very small downside was the starters were on the table the minute we sat down and the main course followed the moment the starters were finished. It was so quick that after the main meal we asked the waitress if we could wait a little while before the starters came. Well, we did wait a little while, and a little while longer. I think she really wanted to be done for the night and maybe we cheesed her off a bit by asking this. In the end we had to ask for the desserts. Was all fine in the end.

Staff OK here. One or two friendly, one or two not so. The owner of the hotel has his picture on the leaflets around the building and he was actually in the bar area and restaurant at the same time as us and at no time did he make himself known or ask if we were enjoying our stay. Each time he walked past us we expected him to acknowledge us as guests but he didn't. We could not understand why he would advertise himself with photos with his wife and family only then to not make himself known.

Had a good nights sleep and a lovely breakfast. On paying our bill the next morning the owner spoke very nicely to us whilst he took our money!!

A good place to stay. And great location. Would we stay here again? Yes we would of there were not so many other places around to choose.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosieNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thekingwilliam, Owner at The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback. I am pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and I hope you will visit us again sometime in the future. Humble apologies for my husband not welcoming you personally. He normally always does welcome diners and makes a point of having a welcoming chat to our residents and if required helps them plan their days while staying with us with recommendations of places to visit and things to do. Not his usual standard and he has written to you personally to address this.
Kind regards,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kings lynn
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

just had sunday lunch at this loverly pup-hotel but the food was not so good the roast beef was over cooked and very fatty veg was . carrots sliced in rings, and very bland cauli and french grn beens from africa when it should have been local sprouts or cabbage . could not fault the desserts....was not impressed at all
my wife and I have sunday lunch out most sundays this is the worst we have had and not value for money

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rolysue12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thekingwilliam, Owner at The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I was rather surprised to receive your review as you didn't raise the issue with our restaurant manager or any member of staff at the time. Had you done so we would have been able to address the issue immediately in order to send you home happy and not disappointed. We normally get many compliments on our Sunday Roast and the number of returning guests vouch for this. Your views are important to us and we take them very seriously. We welcome the opportunity to discuss this further with you. Please contact Nick on his direct email nick@thekingwilliamsedgeford.co.uk or call Nick on 01485-571 765.
Kind regards,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We planned 2 days in Norfolk with an overnight stay as a relaxing break after a busy family Christmas, and were delighted with our choice of the King William IV. The atmosphere was friendly and relaxed: everyone was welcoming, and obviously enjoyed a happy working environment. We stayed just after the New Year celebrations, and the hotel was very quiet, but there was no sense of anticlimax, and in fact we were upgraded to a superior room! The room was comfortable, well equipped and spotlessly clean. There was a varied menu for the evening meal, which we thoroughly enjoyed, and breakfast also was delicious. With plenty of interesting coast and countryside close by this quiet location is ideal, and we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thekingwilliam, Owner at The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your very kind words. It is much appreciated and we have passed on your compliments to all the staff involved. We look forward to hosting you again some time in the future.
Kind regards,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stay here regularly as a base for parents locally. We have now stayed with Nick and the family for 2 Christmas packages as well. The rooms are to die for- room 6 being our favourite. The bedding is luxurious and the bed huge. All staff are really attentive and we have never had a bad meal. Roasts on a Sunday are excellent, and the currys are good too. Breakfasts offer a range of choice- with a scrummy continental freshly made with breads and danishes. Nick is always around checking his guests are OK. A real treat to stay

Room Tip: The rear rooms have excellent garden views. Room 6 is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thekingwilliam, Owner at The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your glowing review. we are so glad you have enjoyed your second Christmas with us. As always it was a pleasure having you stay with us and making us laugh. Hope the family keeps well and we look forward to seeing you all in the near future.
Best wishes,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level Contributor
354 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights, Room 6, and all room facilities excellent, nice views over garden and south facing. Really hot water, and great quality and size bed.
Must be nice in terrace in summer, but weather not kind for us. Breakfast was good, simple choices, good quality and well cooked; but the evening meal we had we as not of same standard as all other facilities, which was a shame. Poor size and value fish cake, poor Belly Pork (tough, poor crackling) and sauces not to standard. Friendly staff generally, no complaints at all about service, ambience or choice - just average quality which promised much better.
Others we met said same about food standards here generally - such a shame, as that's the only fault, in a lovely place, nice facilities, good bar and rooms.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyLFC_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thekingwilliam, Manager at The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and kind words on your recent stay. We are pleased you enjoyed your bedroom and the ambiance of The King William. Its a shame you didn't feel quite the same about your evening dinner. Fishcakes are normally very popular and well received and belly pork should not be tough. Naturally I have passed on your comments to the Chef to prevent re occurence in the future. We aim to please and deliver the quality that you expect and deserve. I am sorry that we didn't succeed and meet your expectations on this occassion. We look forward to welcome you back again soon at The King William and will endeavour to exceed your expectations on your next visit. Please do speak to Nick the owner or Carolyn our restaurant manager who will happily assist with your menu choices.
Kind regards,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

we can not praise this excellent country inn enough,had new years eve dinner party there last night,just a sheer delight,well done nick and your team and the chefs.
the new years eveparty dinner the king william do every year is wonderful,fair price excellent food and good portions .my wife had the poached pear,(she has asked if that can be put on the normal menu) i had the mussels to start excellent with the right amount of chilli that gave them a nice kick well done chef,the beef wellington was just a dream well done chef again.
the whole atmosphere of the place made a great end to the year and nick and he's team put on a excellent night thankyou all.
I would advise all who my read this and are either local our are visiting the area to eat or stay here we do and we only live 20 mins away,the rooms are first class ,we have never never had any bad meals (if you like kidneys chef do'es a wonderful starter it's the only place we no that do'es a kidney starter) nick.I forgot last night to bring my trip advisor stickers.once again well done to you all.and a happy new year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thekingwilliam, Owner at The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for such a wonderful and kind review. We are really pleased you have enjoyed yourself so much. Positive reviews like this are a brilliant boost for the team especially at the start of a New Year where we re evaluate the past and set goals and challenges for the year ahead. Motivation is extremely important and your praise does exactly that! We will have a chat to Head Chef about featuring the Poached Pear in either the menu or on the Specials Board. Thanks once again and all best wishes for 2013.
Kind regards,
Lili Skerritt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sedgeford
2.3 mi away
Heacham Manor Hotel
Heacham Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heacham
829 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Hoste
The Hoste
#1 of 2 in Burnham Market
1,245 reviews
3.9 mi away
Caley Hall Hotel
Caley Hall Hotel
#1 of 4 in Hunstanton
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Lodge Inn
The Lodge Inn
#1 of 1 in Old Hunstanton
533 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Old Hunstanton Le Strange Arms Hotel
5.4 mi away
Briarfields Hotel
Briarfields Hotel
#2 of 2 in Titchwell
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant

Property: The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant
Address: Heacham Road, Sedgeford PE36 5LU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sedgeford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Sedgeford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Bed and Breakfast in Sedgeford, Hunstanton Norfolk. Welcome to The King William IV, Country Inn & Restaurant. Tucked away in the historic village of Sedgeford, lies this friendly award winning, 9 bedroom Inn; amid rolling countryside, less than a mile from the Peddars Way and conveniently close to Norfolk's Beautiful Coast. You will immediately feel at home; log fires throughout the Winter, sunshine in the gardens during Summer; whether you are just living around the corner, enjoying a short visit or staying overnight, The King William offers you a delightful relaxing escape into Country life. The King William IV Sedgeford - A great place to eat, drink & sleep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The King William Iv Country Inn & Restaurant Hotel Sedgeford
The King William Iv Country Inn And Restaurant
Hunstanton Country Inn
The King William IV Country Inn & Restaurant Sedgeford, Norfolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing