We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jispa Journeys
Nearby Hotels
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
26
26
7
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
26
26
7
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssolar heaterthe riverhot watercamping experiencebefore dinnerbeautiful placesurrounded by mountainsunearthly hourcamping sitespell boundpit stopclean tentsbasic foodswiss tentscharging pointsearly morningnight halt
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 64 reviews
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We took a halt at Jispa while on our way from Manali to Leh. It was one of the best camps we stayed during our journey. The camp takes care of the basic necessities. What makes it the apt place to stay is that it it located right near the river surrounded by snow clad mountains. Perfect place to sit, be with yourself and read a book. The night view of the camp is simply stunning. Place is highly recommended for all those who plan to take a halt or stay at Jispa.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tejaldaftary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I visited the camps in July of 2011 with 5 of my friends. Though we got delayed by 1 day due to block at Rohtang, but the staff accommodated us with a smile. The camps are located right on the banks of river, which adds icing on the cake to their Hospitality. Overall the camps are neat & clean with availability of running water in Toilets. The owner Sherab is too Courteous to make your stay one of the best during the whole trip. A must visit place. More than worth of the penny Spent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALifetimeTrip_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We just stayed at the Jispa Journeys camp with my six friends and we found it was really a Epitome of service and hospitality. We stayed one night in Jispa Journey camp but we saw the camp site on the banks of the river and we just decided to stay there. We felt the food was tastier and the kitchen was cleaner. The Camp Owner Mr Tenzin is lovely and very helpful he organised buffet dinner with music in the mid night .The missed that night .Keep it up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashok V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY FOR DRIVERS. Driver was blind drunk. We had to re-organise (and re-pay for) our onward journey from Jispa. Manager and business owner refused to believe he was drunk, even though he was drinking in front of us all whilst sitting in the minibus, and we had to hitch hike on the road for a sober lift. Absolute disgrace.

On the first morning our driver from Jispa Journeys showed up an hour late smelling strongly of alcohol. The first hour or so of driving was awful until he sobered up. We stopped several times on the way, for no apparent reason (presumably because his hangover was terrible), making what should have been a 6 hour journey take 9.5 hours.

We stopped in Keylong (less than 30 minutes from the camp at Jispa), for over an hour to the annoyance of everyone on the bus. During this time the driver disappeared and returned very drunk to drive us all to the camp. He then spent the evening drinking neat spirits in our minivan whilst our complaints to the owner of the company, and to the camp manager fell of deaf ears. In the morning we decided to leave the minibus for our own safety, and got a lift with the manager to the road so we could pick up the HPTDC bus instead.

The manager didn't care about our safety of the drinking of his staff- it turned out that he too was drinking, and stank of booze.

This was absolutely the worst trip we have taken. regardless of whether drink driving is 'normal' in India, this is an extremely dangerous road and we were so angry with the company for not taking safety seriously.

Take the HPTDC bus and get there safely- it only takes an hour more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdm90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We just stayed at the Jispa Journeys campsite and it was a spontaneous stopover. We stayed one night in Sarchu and were going to spend the next night in Keylong but we saw the campsite on the banks of the river and we just decided to stay. So glad we did. It cost half of what we payed for our campsite in Sarchu and I felt the food was tastier and the kitchen was cleaner. The guys that run the place were lovely and very helpful. They have a potato and green bean garden that they harvest every season. The site is run really well, the chai is spiced well and the location is peaceful and relaxing.

I would recommend this over a stay in Sarchu or Keylong.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews