We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short of Words”
Review of Jispa Journeys

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jispa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jispa Journeys
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I visited the camps in July of 2011 with 5 of my friends. Though we got delayed by 1 day due to block at Rohtang, but the staff accommodated us with a smile. The camps are located right on the banks of river, which adds icing on the cake to their Hospitality. Overall the camps are neat & clean with availability of running water in Toilets. The owner Sherab is too Courteous to make your stay one of the best during the whole trip. A must visit place. More than worth of the penny Spent.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ALifetimeTrip_India
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 64 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

We just stayed at the Jispa Journeys camp with my six friends and we found it was really a Epitome of service and hospitality. We stayed one night in Jispa Journey camp but we saw the camp site on the banks of the river and we just decided to stay there. We felt the food was tastier and the kitchen was cleaner. The Camp Owner Mr Tenzin is lovely and very helpful he organised buffet dinner with music in the mid night .The missed that night .Keep it up!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashok V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY FOR DRIVERS. Driver was blind drunk. We had to re-organise (and re-pay for) our onward journey from Jispa. Manager and business owner refused to believe he was drunk, even though he was drinking in front of us all whilst sitting in the minibus, and we had to hitch hike on the road for a sober lift. Absolute disgrace.

On the first morning our driver from Jispa Journeys showed up an hour late smelling strongly of alcohol. The first hour or so of driving was awful until he sobered up. We stopped several times on the way, for no apparent reason (presumably because his hangover was terrible), making what should have been a 6 hour journey take 9.5 hours.

We stopped in Keylong (less than 30 minutes from the camp at Jispa), for over an hour to the annoyance of everyone on the bus. During this time the driver disappeared and returned very drunk to drive us all to the camp. He then spent the evening drinking neat spirits in our minivan whilst our complaints to the owner of the company, and to the camp manager fell of deaf ears. In the morning we decided to leave the minibus for our own safety, and got a lift with the manager to the road so we could pick up the HPTDC bus instead.

The manager didn't care about our safety of the drinking of his staff- it turned out that he too was drinking, and stank of booze.

This was absolutely the worst trip we have taken. regardless of whether drink driving is 'normal' in India, this is an extremely dangerous road and we were so angry with the company for not taking safety seriously.

Take the HPTDC bus and get there safely- it only takes an hour more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdm90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We just stayed at the Jispa Journeys campsite and it was a spontaneous stopover. We stayed one night in Sarchu and were going to spend the next night in Keylong but we saw the campsite on the banks of the river and we just decided to stay. So glad we did. It cost half of what we payed for our campsite in Sarchu and I felt the food was tastier and the kitchen was cleaner. The guys that run the place were lovely and very helpful. They have a potato and green bean garden that they harvest every season. The site is run really well, the chai is spiced well and the location is peaceful and relaxing.

I would recommend this over a stay in Sarchu or Keylong.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We read lot of things about JISPA journeys over internet. When we started our journey from Manali to LEH first we decided to stay at Sarchu but when we saw location of JISPA camp we decided to stay back at the camp instead for continuing journey to Sarchu.

Frankly speaking this campsite is awesome. It is situated on river bed hardly 15-20 meters walking distance surrounded by mountains & clouds.

Tents were clean and washroom is ok but good facility in the middle of nowhere. Dont expect any thing great so you need to adjust your expectation as compared to some city hotel.

Staying in tent, enjoying bonfire in the evening, having couple drink in cold outside it altogether different experience.

Overall great location, good service and best place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nchaitanya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Jispa journeys was picked for us as the place we will spend the night on our way from leh to Manali. The place was a bit confusing to find as we had to drive beyond the town of Jispa and another small village to get here.

This is a camp in the middle of nowhere and hence you MUST adjust your expectations accordingly. The tents were clean enough, rest room was alright. Since, we were three, they arranged another bed very quickly. The bed sheets and the lot was clean and kept us warm. There is one light bulb in the tent. We were told we will get hot water in the morning but we left way too early to try it out. The staff could be a bit more attentive (for example, One of them was pretty much always on the phone and when he actually spoke to us, he was asking for cigarettes... they said they will provide hot tea and help us with getting luggage back to the car but couldn't find anyone anywhere in the early morning :-))

They arranged a bonfire in the evening.. the dinner was vegetarian standard fare and we didn't find anything to complain about. The river is close by and you can spend some time there.

Over all, the location is gorgeous and considering where you are, this is one of the best places to stay.

Room Tip: Remember to carry a torch, make sure your camera/phone batteries are already charged since you can;t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheshagiri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

While a lot of friends and tour operators suggested we halt at Keylong on our way from Manali to Leh, we really found that Keylong neither had the scenic beauty nor the great campsites that Jispa had. After staying here, we really wondered why anyone would recommend Keylong over Jispa.

And the campsite at Jispa Journeys is just beautiful. The location maybe a lil off the road, but nothing that your SUV cant take. It's very close to the river, and has stunning views of the mountains around. Each tent has an attached loo which is a luxury here.

Special mention to the the boys who run the place. They were really sweet and eager to help us with whatever we needed. If you feel that Manali-Sarchu is too brutal a journey for just a day (which it is), Jispa is the place to stop at!

Room Tip: Pick the tents with the attached loo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jispa Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jispa Journeys

Address: Manali Leh Highway, Jispa, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Lahaul and Spiti District > Jispa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Jispa
Price Range: $11 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing