We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jispa is the place to stop enroute Leh”
Review of Jispa Journeys

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jispa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jispa Journeys
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 7, 2012

While a lot of friends and tour operators suggested we halt at Keylong on our way from Manali to Leh, we really found that Keylong neither had the scenic beauty nor the great campsites that Jispa had. After staying here, we really wondered why anyone would recommend Keylong over Jispa.

And the campsite at Jispa Journeys is just beautiful. The location maybe a lil off the road, but nothing that your SUV cant take. It's very close to the river, and has stunning views of the mountains around. Each tent has an attached loo which is a luxury here.

Special mention to the the boys who run the place. They were really sweet and eager to help us with whatever we needed. If you feel that Manali-Sarchu is too brutal a journey for just a day (which it is), Jispa is the place to stop at!

Room Tip: Pick the tents with the attached loo
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 64 of 64 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is by far one of my most preferred stays ever!

We were to reach this place in the morning by late noon and stay for the day and night before proceeding to Tso Moriri. But, as nature would have it, we got stuck in a landslide (another story altogether) and only reached Jispa on the next morning at 9 (it was the day we were supposed to depart for Leh). The owners.staff amazing. They were the best staff I've known, Although our stay had lapsed, they let us stay for the day/rest as long as we wanted and proceed for our next stop. They provided us with lunch (we had only paid for breakfast) and it was good homemade lunch and offered us home brewed beer. Woww! Awesome hospitality.

Now, let me the come the location. Just Wow! the tents are located on a river bed. So you walk for 10 meters and you have a beautiful stream flowing. Ahh..breathtaking, surrounding his are purple mountains. Its not a very well known halt over and hence not crowded, just perfect.

This is one place I'm definitely going back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Raisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Have stayed here twice in 2008 & 2010. It was while going to leh, we stumbled upon these Jispa Tents & we decided that while returing we will definately stay here.
Had we known about this tented accomodation, we wouldn't have spent the earlier night in a hotel in Keylong. It was quite nice with clean blankets & bed, which we were quite concerned in the begining. I recall the options ranged from from Rs 800 to Rs 1300 (prices in 2009) depending upon the type of tent & facilites, including all meals thrown in.

It is far better option than the overpriced Ibex at Jispa & offers a far better view & even better than some of the Swiss Cottage tents in Sarchu. The best thing is all tents are brand new & run the travel enthusiast, not typical business oriented people.

In my typical observation, people who plan to cover leh - Manali route spread over 2 days, find it difficult to reach Sarchu by evening, the major cause - traffic jam at Rohtang & stop overs enroute for photography, etc. Speeding up, also leaves very little time to enjoy Barlachala. Most of the them stretch too much, because they aren't willing to shell out money for the overpriced hotels at Jispa. Well, luckily, we were able to figure out an affordable staying option in Jispa, itself, without bothering to speed upto Sarchu.

But, its definately not a place for people looking for luxury.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ashagl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2016, traveled with family
Thank pierre s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jispa Journeys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jispa Journeys

Address: Manali Leh Highway, Jispa, India
Location: India > Himachal Pradesh > Lahaul and Spiti District > Jispa
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Jispa
Price Range: $11 - $14 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 28

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing