We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Austrian perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haus Kienreich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Haus Kienreich
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Austrian perfection”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Our Austrian 'Home from Home'. Our seventh stay with James and Tracey, speaks for itself really. We love everything about our skiing holidays here. The Haus is the ideal base where we can relax in warm, clean, comfortable rooms. Have a hearty breakfast and be guided by James and Tracey as to where to ski, eat, play etc etc. In all these years we have never missed a days skiing due to weather or lack of snow, the huge choice of piste (and off) is mind boggling.
Would recommend hiring a car to make full use of the extensive lift pass and make eating out in and around Altenmarkt easy. Transfer from Salzburg is very straight forward and we fly to Munich from Edinburgh with Easyjet for value and that is quite simple too although obviously further.
Couldn't imagine taking our children anywhere else, they have both learned to ski here from the age of three and just love coming back for more.

Room Tip: Ground floor apartment is next to breakfast room so nice and easy in the morning! A twin and a doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
8
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Linton, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2013

If you are looking for a stress free happy holiday, then look no futher than this posting.
This year wil be our 4th visit to Haus Kienreich. The Hinsby Family go that one step further to help making our holiday complete. It is quite amazing on arrival how quickly you feel relaxed. Their attension to detail, knowledge of all things local, simply make life easier.
Everything is taken at a relaxed pace but not a moment wasted..
The Haus itself is easily located with great access to some fantastic skiing.
It has a real 'Home Feel' about it and is both comfortable and clean as you would expect.
With a wide selection of fantastic restaurants and numerous things to entertain, you will only wish you could stay for longer.

Room Tip: If you are over 6'7'' tall ask for room no 5, extra long bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanTW8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We've just finished our week ski trip at Haus Kienreich and it's been one of the best ever.

It's really easy to get to with Saturday flights to Salzburg from Luton with Easyjet and taxi transfer from the airport is cheap and fast (35 minutes)

I couldn't go on enough about the location. We could see the ski lift for Altenmarkt/Radstadt from our bedroom window. The ski bus goes from that lift to take you a few minutes up the road to Zauchensee which then opens you up to a HUGE ski area.

During this week we've skied a different mountain each day. Condition were perfect (70cm fell overnight early in the week). As an added bonus the owner came out with us one day and showed us some brilliant off piste areas and gave us a few pointers.

The accomodation is a family run hotel and James and Tracey are really helpful and helped out a lot with pointing out where to get ski rental, lift passes etc. Bedrooms are warm, clean and comfortable and you couldn't ask for more.

Nightlife is centered around the apres ski bar at the lift or a taxi ride into town for a few euros. This isn't a party nightlife central resort, but you can take a 15 minute taxi ride to find some great fun at the local Musistadl. (Ask Tracey about dancing on the tables!)

Haus Kienreich is a hidden gem, warm friendly hosts and spectacular snow and overall the best value we've had from a ski holiday.

Room Tip: We travelled as two couples and shared the apartment on the ground floor which is really convenient...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 4, 2013

What an incredible way to see the New Year in! Not only was the skiing fantastic (why haven't more people discovered Austria?), but the hospitality and service from this lovely couple could not be better. Nothing was too much trouble...
The location is fantastic; a 40 min journey from Salzburg; a beautiful five minute walk to the slopes (& brilliant apres-ski bar!!).
Will definitely be going back!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GogMagogHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Really lovely hosts with great tips on 'things to do & see' locally. You can walk in to the village but the walk back up the hill to the house is quite taxing, especially in the snow - not recommended for the fainthearted - nevertheless stunning scenery. Definitely worth a visit - will be going again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ffoina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

My family and I have just returned from a last minute holiday at Haus Kienreich and I can't say enough how wonderful it was! The hosts, James and Tracey, were lovely- accommodating and very friendly, and gave us some great tips on things to do and places to go but without being too 'in your face'-they just let us get on with it. Our daughter who is a similar age to their boys had a great time playing with them on the Wii and messing about in the snow and didn't want to come home!

To wake up every morning to such beautiful scenery has been amazing and this has truly been a wondeful start to our Christmas!

Room Tip: We had the downstairs apartment which was spacious enough for our needs, with stunning views of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Katharine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altenmarkt im Pongau
1.8 mi away
Hotel Kesselgrub
Hotel Kesselgrub
#2 of 12 in Altenmarkt im Pongau
51 reviews
1.3 mi away
Landhaus Steiner
Landhaus Steiner
#5 of 12 in Altenmarkt im Pongau
29 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Winterbauer
Hotel Winterbauer
#2 of 30 in Flachau
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Montanara
Montanara
#1 of 30 in Flachau
40 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Salzburgerhof Zauchensee
Hotel Salzburgerhof Zauchensee
#1 of 12 in Altenmarkt im Pongau
48 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Schattauer
Hotel Schattauer
#1 of 10 in Wagrain
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Kienreich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Kienreich

Property: Haus Kienreich
Address: Goettfriedweg 16, Altenmarkt im Pongau 5541, Austria
Location: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Altenmarkt im Pongau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Altenmarkt im Pongau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Haus Kienreich 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
South of Salzburg in the Stunning Dachstein mountains we are a winter ski holiday chalet and a summer alpine retreat. We are in Altenmarkt, a traditional Alpine village dedicated to Alpine holidays both summer and winter. We offer both Apartments and Bed and breakfast rooms Winter..... in the centre of Ski Amade, hosts of this years World cup skiing. We have easy access under one ski pass, to some of Europe's most modern, and snow sure areas all with a traditional feel and no crowding what ever the season. Fantastic snow and Alpine huts and restaurants, with Sledging, Cross country, Swimming and wellness.Summer..... we offer 100's of alpine activities and adventures, with our Salzburg Summer guest card, offering great ideas at very discounted rates. Summer in the mountains is wonderful and there is so much to see and do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haus Kienreich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing