We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kesselgrub
Nearby Hotels
Landhaus Steiner(Altenmarkt im Pongau)
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laudersbach(Altenmarkt im Pongau)
$119
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haus Kienreich(Altenmarkt im Pongau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Salzburgerhof Zauchensee(Altenmarkt im Pongau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartment Strims(Altenmarkt im Pongau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bruckenwirt(Altenmarkt im Pongau)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alpenhof(Altenmarkt im Pongau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zauchenseehof(Altenmarkt im Pongau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Schartner(Altenmarkt im Pongau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparthotel Kristall(Altenmarkt im Pongau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness center
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveler rating
43
12
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
43
12
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingoutdoor poolvery nice hotelski busnext yearski schooltaxitoyspillowsspamountainsaltenmarktskiingslopes
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 62 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We have just returned after a week spent in the Kesselgrub.
Our 9 year old daughter sad that it was her favourite hotel ever (believe me, she is an experienced traveller). Except indoor swimming pool the hotel can offer anything for families with kids you can imagine: a small farm with animals, outdoor swimming pond (we were very lucky with the weather and water was not only clean, but warm also), large playground, separate kids evening buffet, unlimited soft drinks whole day long (if you have an allinclusive package), a kind of day care with a new programm for children every day, even cats with kittens to pet. And I am sure that I forgot to mention another half of good things about this hotel.
One really great advantage here is that your kids can not leave the hotel once they are in a back yard, so it is safe to relax with the drinks on a terrace while your smaller ones play outside.

We liked our room (209 - corner and the end of the corridor, so quiet): clean, big enough for three, with good third bed, modern bathroom (could be bigger), with great view of the back yard and mountains behind. Our queen-size bed was not bad, but pillows were too soft for our taste. Unfortunately there is not air conditioning in rooms (may be because temperature over 30 degrees is a rare thing here), so it was quite hot and stuffy in the beginning of every night.

Staff members are very friendly, everyone was ready to help with anything.

Food was of a high quality, sometimes absolutely delicious, great desserts. Every evening you have a choise of three main courses (or a buffet) including fish and even seafood sometimes.
Good wine list, three types of beer on draught.
The village itself offers a lot of activities and possibilities, so we've been hiking, biking, playing minigolf, enjoying waterslides - a week was not enough.

Our only problem was that German was not our strongest point, so I am affraid that we missed a lot of what the hotel had to offer.
We will return as soon as we can. Willingly recommend it as a great summer holiday hotel

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irina94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed in Kesselgrub for the 5th time. In March 2012 we spent here a week. From the very first time we came to Kesselgrub some 5 years ago we have been impressed by the friendly atmosphere and excellent client service. The owners are greeting their guests and are always helpful to provide advice.
The hotel has a very good location, walking distance from the centre of Altenmarkt and 10-15 minutes driving distance to the ski areas Zauchensee or Flachau or other areas in the skiing world Amade. Parking is available in front of the hotel (free of charge).
Our room ‘Lebensfreunde’ was spacious (28m2), comfortable and clean with a bathroom of a decent size. We had a balcony with armchairs overlooking the garden with the pool. The room had a beautiful view towards the south. From early morning we could admire the high mountains around.
On the corridors (first and second floor) there were areas with papers, books and lovely armchairs to rest in.
Food was outstanding. The breakfast buffet was filled with fresh fruits, fruit salad, at least 10 kinds of cheese, eggs, sausages, pastries etc. For the one who were hungry in the afternoon there were snacks with coffee/tea and cakes available. Delicious dinner -every evening there was a 5 course menu with a selection of Austrian, International or vegetarian dishes. Food is world-class with well-balanced flavours and tasteful creations.
All of the waiters provided an excellent service, always ready to fulfil guests’ wishes. During the seven days we stayed at Kesselgrub Suzi, Peter and Balazs were responsible for our table. They were very professional and polite and spoke several languages which was highly appreciated by the international clientele. In general the hotel staffs were helpful and have a great attitude. High level customer service i seems to be one of the priority of this hotel.
The hotel has one big sauna and a wellness area with a gym and a small inside pool.
It was a very pleasant stay and we are looking forward to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rijeka_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I think it's the best hotel for families with children or infants in the whole Austria! Reception Lady was very hospitable and nice with all of us. All of the waiters were very polite and kind with us for the whole time of our staying. Cuisine was very different and every evening we had very beautiful and tasty dishes. Everyday our room was cleaned. But territory around the hotel is smaller than in advertisment. And also lake for swimming was very cold and not so big.But baby bed was not so comfortable.Our baby(1 year old) was very satisfied of the children's room in the hotel with a lot of doll's and games. Near the hotel are Therme Amade that have 2 slides(one of them is very good for teenagers),a lot of swimming pools with water with salt and without. Hotel program is very big for every day. We went for fishing in Wild Park in Untertauern. We were very satisfied of the fishing.
I think it's a very good place to rest for both children and adults.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iaroslav_Kishinev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

We were the only English family there and a basic level of German would have been an advantage. We had a fantastic holiday and would definitely return in the future. The food and service were amazing and the facilities kept the children and us happy. We could definitely have stayed for longer. Would recommend the hotel and destination to family and friends.

Room Tip: The best rooms are at the back of the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sproston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Very nice family-ran cozy hotel with wonderful people pampering you all day long. Very good location. Great food (better than many Michelin starred restaurants) and excellent service as well. The atmosphere is generally very cozy and children-friendly. All employees serve you with a sincere desire of pleasing you, creating memorable experiences to each one of their guests. Will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 4seasonshotelmanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews