We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice heritage property”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Palanpur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balaram Palace Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palanpur
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Set in the middle of a beautiful garden on a top of a hill, this white-and gold painted heritage property impresses as soon as you arrive. Of course, not everything is perfect: furniture could have been more abundant in my Platinum room and I would have welcomed a fridge also. Of course I would have perhaps have enjoyed a slightly more modern bathroom. But being awkward is part of the charm of heritage hotels and this one is particularly nice. Furthermore the restaurant is excellent and service is efficient. I would definitely stay there again if I came back in the region.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrenchTraveler001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balaram123, Public Relations Manager at Balaram Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Thank you very much for the kind and encouraging words,As you have mentioned the charm of the place is in its awkwardness,But it is our constant endeavour to add more amenities for the comfort of our guest, We are carrying our renovation and have kept your request in mind of putting up a refridgerator. Stay connected with us on Facebook and other social media to know about the latest developments, Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 96 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

i love balaram resort ,nice location with clean garden and many sports activities .
specially i enjoy in starting of winter seasons very mild and pleasant weather .
food is awesome .
nice place for family holiday and also for couples.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vickmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balaram123, Public Relations Manager at Balaram Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Thank you very much Sir for the review, Such kind and encouraging words by a person like you gives us motivation to keep performing better each day. Balaram is indeed very beautiful and mesmerizing. Looking forward to welcome you this coming days. Hope you are connected with us on facebook and twitter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This very out-of-the-way former Maharaja's hunting lodge is really very beautiful from the outside. The grounds very well-maintained and impressive, on a par with, dare i say it, the Four Seasons in Florence, as an example. As is the case however with most (what in India are called) "Heritage" hotels the interior is very dated and very much not up to international standards. The rooms are large but are reminiscent of what i envisage 1970's Las vegas chic to be. Too few (and weirdly placed) plug sockets, issues with hot water, and just a bit run-down. We had a Gold Room which had a lovely terrace at the rear ruined however by its proximity to the kitchens and service areas so we had constant noise from the staff talking and shouting. The Royal Tents look very impressive from the outside but we did not see inside as they were all taken. The Platinum rooms in the main hotel were enourmous but again dated and quite average.

The food in the hotel restaurant was very good so no complaints on that front.

Upon checking out there was an issue with their CC machine so annoyingly we had to pay cash, and they didnt speak English well enough to understand that they could also take an imprint of the card.

Wifi worked throughout the hotel and in the rooms but cut-out on the way to the restaurant.

All in all recommended as a stop-off point if you are passing through the area but definitely not a destination in and of itself.

Room Tip: Royal Tent or Gold Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJINTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balaram123, Public Relations Manager at Balaram Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Thank you very much for taking timeout to write such a detalied and elaborate review, We are Balaram Palace resort are renovating presently and have kept your mentioned points in consideration while planning, It is our constant endeavour to give our guest the maximum comfort during their visit. Stay connected with us on facebook for regular updates, Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

My wife and I had just a one-night stay here. I don't know why, but our Delhi tour-operator made a reservation for a tented room. Not that it was bad - it had everything we needed, even a fan and AC - but I assume there are much nicer rooms in the main building. Perhaps they are not worth the price. Apart from the food - which was delicious though a bit slow in the morning - we will remember the resort mostly for the beautiful surroundings, its grand building and the garden. But - though meticulously maintained - it is a garden to look at, not to sit in as there is no place where you can sit in the shade. Wandering around and discovering the premises, we were so glad to find tranquillity, which is rare in crowded India. Then, suddenly I heard loud music, ruining the serenity of nature. It came from everywhere. Apparently, it came from everywhere indeed as speakers were hidden all around the building and in the bushes. Fortunately, they turned it off upon request. It may well have been started to please us, to bring some 'ambiance' to the place because the employees thought peace is so 'boring'… Instead of installing such amenities, they should better start repairing the swimming pool, down by the river. Though dilapidated, it is a lovely pool, presumably built together with the grand building and the gardens, also breathing the charm of yesterdays. It would add considerably to the value and charm of this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 20thCenturyCox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balaram123, Public Relations Manager at Balaram Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Thank you very much for the review sir.You have a great taste for all finer things in life. The tranquility and the beautiful surrounding are the main attraction points for people to come and rejeuvante themselves. We are presently renovating and having taken your feedback into consideration. Stay connected with us on facebook to know about the latest developments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Actually we had visited this place in 2007 for 2 Nights Package.

We had selected Cottage. There is a Palace where you gets rooms, and has a good garden also. Apart from this there is nothing much to explore. you can visit this place if the intention is to relax.

But most Important, the Food is excellent in test which is included in Package.

Room Tip: Good Resort, but not much activities. Can visit for short-break
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chetan_Yangalwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balaram123, Public Relations Manager at Balaram Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Thank you very much Sir for the review, Such kind and encouraging words by a person like you gives us motivation to keep performing better each day. Balaram is indeed very beautiful and mesmerizing. Looking forward to welcome you this coming days. Hope you are connected with us on facebook and twitter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

About 21/2 hours drive from Ahmedabad to wards Mt. Abu. Stop here if you have the time to be with yourself just take a Halt. We went with the family on our way back to Ahmedabad in Jan 2012. Its a heritage property now converted into a hotel. The place where Amitabh shot for Suryavansham. There is nothing much in terms of activities and amenities. Its amidst the jungle so only thing you can do is relax...You can be close to nature..Listen to the sounds of animals and birds. THe experience on full moon night at the resort was amazing..They had put some nice ghazal which you could listen in the corridors and terrace... Neat and clean rooms no matter what class you stay. Beautiful landscaped gardens. Read, relax and rejuvenate your self. Enjoy the laid back service. Food was good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shweta2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balaram123, Public Relations Manager at Balaram Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2016

Thank you very much ma'm for the review, Such kind and encouraging words by a person like you gives us motivation to keep performing better each day. Balaram is indeed very beautiful and mesmerizing. You definatelty have a great taste & have very well understood the essence of Balaram Palace resort, We are adding more amenities in our premises for our esteemed guest.Looking forward to welcome you this coming days. Hope you are connected with us on facebook and twitter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Far away from the so called civilization, 21/2 hours drive from Ahmedabad to wards Mt. Abu. Stop here if you have the time to be with yourself

Dont list what they dont have, just cherish what they have. Want to listen to the birds humming in the morning, a distant cry from the fox at the middle of the night. Neat and clean rooms no matter what class you stay. Beautiful landscaped gardens. Read, relax and rejuvenate your self.

Choice is yours solo if you love yourself or family and friends if you want to have a blast.

Enjoy the laid back service. Food is OK, Try the veg cutlet for breakfast.

Room Tip: Try the tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank haresh v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balaram123, Public Relations Manager at Balaram Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2016

Thank you very much Sir for the review, You have truly understood the true essence of Balaram,It is all about being with yourself and close members to make you relax & rejuvenate. We are adding more amenities in our offering. Looking forward to welcome you these coming days. Hope you are connected with us on facebook and twitter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palanpur
22 mi away
SHREE HOTEL
SHREE HOTEL
#1 of 2 in Ambaji
3 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Krishna Palace
Hotel Krishna Palace
#2 of 2 in Ambaji
13 reviews
4.7 mi away
Aravaali Trails - A Nature Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Silver Oak Country Yard
Silver Oak Country Yard
#9 of 16 in Abu Road
31 reviews
24.7 mi away
Hotel Luxura
Hotel Luxura
#1 of 4 in Sidhpur
4 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hotel Ambaji International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balaram Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balaram Palace Resort

Address: Chitrasani Village,Off Abu-Palanpur Highway No. 14 | District Banaskantha, Palanpur 385001, India
Location: India > Gujarat > Banaskantha District > Palanpur
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Palanpur
Price Range: $101 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Balaram Palace Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Also Known As:
Balaram Palace Hotel Palanpur
Balaram Palace Resort Palanpur, Gujarat, India

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing