We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wake up to mesmerising Godavari!!”
Review of River Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rajahmundry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Bay
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rajahmundry
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Had stayed here for a week during one of my business visits to Rajahmundry. The location of the hotel is amazing, just on the banks of Godavari. The location makes it unique and special.

The reception is nice, reflects the culture of Rajahmundry. The parking is quite accomodating and its free too. The staff at reception are friendly and professional.
The rooms are decent enough, one has to spend some extra money to get the river facing rooms, they provide a nice ambience.

The sleep quality is good. The room service needs to straighten up, as sometimes they donot turn up at the right time.

The restaurant is great, the food is amazing. The breakfast is great and same is the buffet lunch. They have a great blend of variety to keep the taste buds going for more!!

The bar is again located at a nice place, beside the swimming pool and along the banks of godavari.

The fitness centre is good enough to keep one fit on the go and swimming pool looks professional too.

Thanking all the staff for making my stay memorable and would like to visit again!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhijeet03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for River Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 152 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2011

Myself with my wife and mother-in-law stayed for 2 nights and 3 days from 28/12 to 30/12/2010. The location of the hotel, sorry resort is very nice with a beautiful and spectacular backing of the great River Godavari and also surrounded one side by a few spiritual mutts and top of it - the beautiful ISKCON temple! The front office(reception) officials were well-behaving and co-operative. But the room service was found as expensive as the tariff of the resort which is little more on the higher side when compared to the size of the Rajahmundry township (which is not even a district head-quarter town). The maintenance of room's hygienic cleanliness requires more attention as it was observed not properly done everyday.The statues of the great men like Mahatma Gandhiji, Sir C V Raman, Abraham Lincoln are quite appreciable! The restaurant was looking nice and the variety of complimentary breakfast offered was quite tasty but otherwise we were told the vegetarian meal/food offered was not up to the mark which we did not venture which we happened to enjoy in the adjacent "aavakai" vegetarian restaurant run by the same management.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sampathkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

On check-in, we found our room was occupied by another person who actually refused to leave. After 24 hours of flying and a 10 hour train ride from Chennai, I really wasn't in a mood to put up with much.

The staff didn't miss a beat. They immediately upgraded our room to a suite that looked over the bay. The room was done in a modern theme. The bathroom had a tub which my wife was SO thankful for. Beds were very comfortable and the AC was remote controlled. It was great to wake up and sit on the patio drinking tea while watching the fishermen work on their nets and the water buffalo walk to a nearby island.

The restaurant had a breakfast bar with some western style cereals and other breakfast items. Dinner was good and the staff, as usual in India, was great.

I did see a rat scoot across the outdoor restaurant/bar area. However, being near the water, I don't hold this against the hotel. The staff seemed even more surprised than I did.
Speaking of staff, they are professional and very pleasant. They worked hard to make sure our stay was good. It appears this hotel is used by lots of affluent people who travel in the area.

One other note: the doorman to the hotel lobby is dressed up in a really neat traditional outfit. He plays the role extremely well and is very friendly to visitors. Opening the door was a joy for him. If you visit this hotel, make sure to get to know him. Really nice person.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobeTraveler_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2010

What a nice view of the Godavari River.The checkin was quite comfortable. Good responsive staff. Give complimentary fruits. Clean rooms. I stayed in their river facing deluxe room. The best part was the river view frim the room and the lush lawn restricted to the guests staying in those rooms. Bar gives complementary starters as the bill increases. Breakfast spread was average.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NaveenBN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2010

the location is good,the room ambience is not upto the mark.there is a problem with a/c.i had to spend 4 hours with out sleep.later i was shifted to the other room where i had a similar problem.and i was cjharged for that.the room service is very slow.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drbharathrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I stayed here with my family for a night during a week end trip from Hyderbad. This is a good resort and the attrraction is its location and the ambience. We did have some quality time in the water park near by (run by the same group) and good food and drinks in the restaurant. The water park is however operates only between 4.00 pm and 7.00 pm
What i liked the most was the silence (I am not sure how this would be during the peak season: school holidays). The rooms are however bit over priced for a town like Rajamundry and this is definitely not for budget travellers.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pvajith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

In single word Hotel River Bay is superb. It's location, ambiance, food is superb. It is situated on the bank of the river with a wonderful view of river from the room it self. Although i stayed there because of business but i would have enjoyed more if i would have gone there with my family. EXCELLENT

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiruMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rajahmundry hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Anand Regency
Hotel Anand Regency
#1 of 12 in Rajahmundry
121 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sri Aditya Inn
Sri Aditya Inn
#2 of 12 in Rajahmundry
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coasta Residency
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Shelton Rajamahendri
Hotel Shelton Rajamahendri
#1 of 14 in Rajahmundry
123 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Hospin Hotel & Resort
La Hospin Hotel & Resort
#3 of 14 in Rajahmundry
82 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leela Pavilion
Leela Pavilion
#5 of 26 in Rajahmundry
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bay

Address: 5-1-36 to 43, River Bay Road | Near Goutami Ghat, Rajahmundry 533101, India
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > East Godavari District > Rajahmundry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Rajahmundry
Price Range: $30 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel River Bay is located near to the Main Railway Station central located and it's just on the Bank of River Godavari and is a three star property. It has all categories of rooms and provides the best of services and food. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing