We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Place for peaceful holiday”
Review of River Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rajahmundry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
River Bay
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Rajahmundry
Vasco da Gama, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Ideal Place for peaceful holiday”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hotel is located on the banks of Godavari river and most of the rooms are facing the mighty river. The view of the river and bridge from the rooms is magnificient. The rooms are spacious and are well maintained and professionally managed. The food is also good and tasty. Ideal for partying and away from the city crowd. orth the budget.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the river especially on the first floor are ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AKADAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    54
    36
    13
    4
See reviews for
40
15
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

we stayed here for 1 day in Nov 2008. Was around 2750 for one room. If you want resort style or little more room for kids to play around, this is probably the only option in Rajahmundry. Our stay was ok. If you know somebody in resort or go there through recommendation, you will probably enjoy it better. Got that feeling looking at the sort of people that are walking in and front desk or office staff treatment. :) Nothing bad. It is just the way things are.

View is very good. It is right on the river (Godavari). We didn't try any boating (no water at that time). I believe it's available right at the resort. View is the best part here.

No complaints on room. Pretty decent to sleep and relax.

Tried bar. It is a typical bar you will find in many towns. Totally dark. Can't make out much even for food you are eating. May be you are supposed to feel it is little dark activity. food was ok. No problems. Nothing that I remember to mention.

Needed internet access to book tickets and print. Their internet connection wasn't working at office. repair guy can't make it that day. Advised him if he can restart the dsl modem. He just panicked and took away my PC privileges (not free). :)

Unless there is a new one comes up, this looks the first option in Rajahmunsdry right now.

Room Tip: Don't assume about travel desk or other facilities. Ask before going if you need them. Also find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pratap_in_Blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Situated on the banks of Godavari, resort gives excellet view, however service quality is just okay. Non telugu people might confront language issue while dealing with staff othe than that at reception. Food is just okay, breakfast is working one. However,if you love nature and beauty of a river bank, this is a good option. Those lookig for luxury must avoid.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms on bank side on the first floor have excellent view.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank YogeshSriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has an OK location in Rajahmundry.

The cleaning was terrible, we found traces of "poop" on the toilet when we arrived. The breakfast was horrible, not even the eggs were edible and they opened the breakfast 20 min later than the information given, no excuse from the staff for the delay.

The pool area was often closed for cleaning and when opened occupied by non residents.

The Hotel is over all not well maintained.

If you are staying in Rajahmundry I would recommend Shelton instead.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grozzny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The hotel is located quite close to the city centre. The staff are helpful but the standard is quite bad. For about 10-15 years I guess this hotel was luxury but now they really need to renovate this hotel. The rooms we had was not good cleaned and had a low standard. The WIFI does not worked so well either.
If you want to have a better hotel I suggest you take a look at The Shelton hotel located in the city centre.

Room Tip: The rooms with view over the river are a little bit better but not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karl_Z83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
D Balaji K, Public Relations Manager at River Bay, responded to this review, September 16, 2015
We too agree that we have to renovate and however block wise renovation is being carried out.
Thank once again.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Riverbay is strategically located at the banks of Goutami River. What's more, you also have ISKCON temple, Amma math, water park adjacent to it. Only due to its beautiful location, I always book here.
Positives
1.amazing location
2. Cottage kind of rooms. Best rooms are towards river side as you get serene view of Goutami river.
3. Has got decent gym, swimming pool, snooker facility and spa.
4. Very very peaceful. Pin drop silence can be experienced here.
5. Morning 7:30 you get a complimentary Motor boat ride which is quite cool.
6.Plenty of space to walk or wander.
7. Hygienically maintained rooms.
8. Good food. They even have separate pure veg restaurant .
9. Tariff is ok.

What's not ok
1. This resort has high potential but needs some polished manager to look on the finer things/ hygiene.
2. Captain's Table restaurant , the tables are not cleaned properly and number of waiters just stand looking here and there. Perhaps they don't know what to do and how to maintain.
3. Once you have finished one course, waiters don't clear your plate until you ask to do.
4.The lighting just above the bathroom mirror is wrongly placed. You don't get enough illumination to shave properly.
5. Hand towels are not normally provided .
6. Cloth drying rolling wire is broken in rooms.
7. Finishing of tiles and drains is not proper.
8. Gym can be maintained in a better condition by adequate cleaning.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pankajverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Located on the banks of the Godavari, the location of this resort is ideal and idyllic.
However, the rooms are abysmal - the washroom taps were leaking, towels weren't clean at all. The television wasn't working. The room itself looked a lot run down.
Service was not great. Though the staff were well-intentioned, there were only two waiters a peak breakfast time - it seemed were overworked.
Overall, River Bay is avoidable.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the massive Godavari!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RajeevM19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rajahmundry hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Anand Regency
Hotel Anand Regency
#1 of 11 in Rajahmundry
120 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Hospin Hotel & Resort
La Hospin Hotel & Resort
#2 of 14 in Rajahmundry
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Sitara Grand
#8 of 24 in Rajahmundry
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sri Aditya Inn
Sri Aditya Inn
#3 of 11 in Rajahmundry
5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rathna Palace
Hotel Rathna Palace
#6 of 14 in Rajahmundry
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Leela Pavilion
Leela Pavilion
#4 of 24 in Rajahmundry
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Bay

Property: River Bay
Address: 5-1-36 to 43, River Bay Road | Near Goutami Ghat, Rajahmundry 533101, India
Location: India > Andhra Pradesh > East Godavari District > Rajahmundry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Rajahmundry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — River Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel River Bay is located near to the Main Railway Station central located and it's just on the Bank of River Godavari and is a three star property. It has all categories of rooms and provides the best of services and food. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing