We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best holiday let I've ever stayed in”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Milk House

Brounckers Court Farm, looking at the Milk House parking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brounckers Court Farm, looking at the Milk House parking area
Looking at the Milk House east wing Our woods in front of the Milk House, lovely for private walks
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Brounckers Court Farm, looking at the Milk House parking area
Looking at the Milk House east wing
Our woods in front of the Milk House, lovely for private walks
The utility room with a washing, machine try and hanging drying rack
The downstairs walk-in shower room
The downstairs king sized bedroom
The deer at Erlestoke woods
The kitchen/dining room
The kitchen/dining room
The sitting room looking through to the kitchen
The orchard that backs on to the Milk House terrace
The sitting room
The sitting room and log fire with an unending supply of logs
The upstairs bedroom
The twin bedroom upstairs
The upstairs king sized bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Erlestoke, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
PVolpe
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“Best holiday let I've ever stayed in”
Reviewed June 18, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A very comfortable, well equipped house which felt spacious even with 7 adults gathered for a family wedding.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully decorated and well equipped kitchen
Liked least: Found using the shower in upstairs bathroom tricky so had to go downstairs to shower
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmob93
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Milk House is a wonderful getaway destination and everyone involved in its day to day running make it truly amazing.”
Reviewed March 6, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Accommodating from start to finish; excellent bedrooms, bathrooms, utilities, flexibility, history to the house.... Everything about The Milk House was nothing short of excellent from start to end.

Would love to return if time ever allows!

Rebecca and Rachel will look after you and make it feel like a home from home. 5 stars.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
francis d
Corbridge
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“well equipped kitchen”
Reviewed November 2, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

stayed a week with family including grandchildren.They were made very welcome by owners teenage children..Comfortable accomodation and the best equipped kitchen of any place we have stayed A full range of comestibles so no need to eat out just enjoy the comfortable kitchen We agree with the comments on storage and there is an issue with sound insulation between floors but overall a great place to stay

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 9, 2014
Thank you for your kind review, lovely to meet you all. Just to say that after the last few reviews we have out some attractive (as not many are), hanging rails and an extra set of drawers in the red bedroom, I hope that helps. We will put up some more hooks on bad of the bathroom doors, we have just put one on the kitchen door. All really helpful comments. Best wishes Becca
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DEBRA W
Romford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
Reviewed October 23, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a lovely suprise when we walked into the Milk House, it was like the Tardis only better! our 2 scotties could run freely and safely in the garden, Rebecca was a wonderful host and Rachel had left everything spick and span for our arrival. Weather was fabulous, if your a fisherman there is a lovely lake nearby across the road to the Railway Tavern in the nearby village. We would definately stay there again if we were in the area, only wishes would have been somewhere to hang clothes in the bedrooms, for a week living out of a suitcase was not ideal and made the room look messy, there are a few hooks but not that practical, a hanging rail and a few drawers would be welcome especially in the main bedroom, a hook on the back of the bathroom doors would be useful and a bread knife in the kitchen or electric knife, otherwise it is so well equipped you want for nothing. A very special treat to have stayed there. We tried to support the local pub that had only just opened but sadly they never did food on the nights we tried to eat so cannot comment on the experience there but the Three Daggers is a great option.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The scenery and ease of getting around
Liked least: Nothing it was the perfect stay
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JStephens...
Neyland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely family friendly house in a great location”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Rebecca and Rachel for a surperb stay at Milk House, even though the weather was a bit hit and miss we all had a great holiday and the house was ideal for all weathers. The house is so much bigger than it looks on the web and felt very spacious for the seven of us. We had a lovely welcome and everything we needed in the house. The house has been done to a very high standard and was an ideally placed for longleat, cheddar gorge, Stonehenge and Avebury. Thank you once again we had a brill family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephenVo...
Cranleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect house and location to spend a family holiday”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My family recently spent a week at the Milk House. Rebecca was a delight to deal with from booking right through to a prompt return of deposit - she could not have been more helpful. We found the Milk House to be very clean and extremely comfortable place to stay. The large kitchen is ideal for a family. The house is set in a beautiful location within walking distance of an archetypal Wiltshire village and a nice pub. There are many tourist attractions nearby including Salisbury Plain, the White Horse at Amesbury, Longleat etc. Many beautiful National Trust houses are an easy drive away. We have no hesitation in recommending the Milk House - you will not be disappointed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: The heavy rain on the last day!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allypink
maldon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Beautiful house in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed at the milk house for a week in July. We were very lucky to have lovely hot weather all week. The house is lovely and homely with everything you need. My little boy who is 2 and a half loved the toys especially the train set and also enjoyed the huge trampoline in the garden. All the bedrooms are lovely and comfy my only problem with them was the fourth bedroom where my little boy was going to stay was too far away from our bedroom it would have meant he walked through the utility room, kitchen and sitting room on his own in the night if he needed us. We ended up putting the matress for his bed on the floor in our bedroom which was fine. The sitting room is really cosy and the kitchen was great and huge with everything you need and a lovely big dining table. We used the table and chairs in the garden more as we had a few bbq's during our stay! The house is in a great setting with the farm so close, Tony the farmer is really friendly and let us watch him feed the sheep one evening and my little boy sit on the tractor which he thought was great! There are no chickens anymore though which was a shame. Lunch was eaten at the three daggers pub which was lovely and the farm shop attached to it is really lovely too and they do yummy cakes! We would definitely re-visit the milk house maybe in the winter when we could use the wood burner.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The fourth bedroom
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing