We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not recommend”

Logis Auberge Saint Jean
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Logis Auberge Saint Jean
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ussac
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The hotel is set in the charming tiny village of Ussac which is very pretty and traditional.

Ussac village is lovely, the hotel is not!

We found the staff to be very rude and unhelpful. They made even the smallest requests seem like we'd asked for the Earth.

Our room was very tiny, there wasn't anywhere at all to move around. The room was also very dark and the furnishings were cheap and tacky.

We arrived in the midst of an extreme heat wave and due to the fact that the room was very small it was too hot and stuffy. We had to resort to sleeping in our car with the aircon on as we felt like we were going to suffocate in the hotel room!

The hotel was very overpriced and did not represent good value for money. We were expecting a lot more from the hotel and were very disappointed. From the outside the hotel looks charming...on the inside it's characterless.

The cleanliness of the the hotel was below average and there was dust and cobwebs galore around the corridors.

The hotel is really close to motorway which is ideal for onward travel but I'd advise staying in Brive-la-Gaillarde and getting better value for money and a better location.


The parking was awkward as it was around the back of the hotel. We were aware of this prior to our visit (by checking Google Earth) but the hotel doesn't make you aware of this.

There are absolutely no provisions in Ussac so plan ahead if you're going to stay there. The hotel cashes in on this and charges really highly for food and drinks. The food was really expensive.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ultraviolet-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    16
    1
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
13
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We chose this hotel to be close to Brive so we could return the car on Monday morning without a lot of traffic. This was not the best choice for us. We ended up driving into Brive for dinner on Sunday night when not much was open. We decided against dinner at the hotel due to the cost and menu and after seeing the condition of the room we did not have much confidence in the kitchen. We also did not have breakfast at the hotel at 7.5 E each. The room was terrible: small, bed was below average, chips all over the furniture and although the hotel was almost empty, someone was in the next room coughing all night. The bathroom drain barely worked and the shower stall was tiny and it was hard to close the door. Window opened but no screen so bugs were a problem. It was not worth 63.5 E for the night. Could not wait to leave.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moretrips51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmshore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were travelling south towards the Pyrenees and stayed one night at the Auberge Saint Jean. The strengths of this hotel are it's position, located in the lovely old village of Ussac, with panoramic views over the rolling French countryside and it's excellent restaurant and chef. We ate from the set menu and the steak was probably the best I've tasted.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. There is ample parking at the rear of the hotel. We were travelling with a small dog which was made welcome.

This hotel is a real find and we would stay there again. We suggest also that you take time out to explore the village.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScubaMike520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aumont Aubrac, France
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Very nice and quite place in a small and peacefull village very convenient to visit Brive-la-Gaillarde and the surouding. For the price of an hotel room in twon you'll get wonderfull food... You wont forget it !

Room Tip: Every room looks like being quite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchy39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Booked as a stop-over on our way south, this hotel is situated just a short way from the main route. The village is small but pleasant to stroll around with some lovely views over the countryside (Ussac seems to be on the top of a small mountain). The auberge staff were welcoming although mid-afternoon in late September there were not many around. The room was fairly small but all we wanted, and clean, comfortable and quiet. Wi-fi available in the room. Plenty of car parking in the private car-park at the back.
We had booked half-board and the meal was excellent although very limited choice due to the sensibly-priced demi-pension. The restaurant is fairly expensive but the food very good indeed (three pots, the highest Logis de France classification other than the very few Cuisine d'excellence that they have). See my photo of the dessert which was delicious, light as a feather with cherry sorbet and two cherries in kirsch on top. It matched the rest of the meal.
We will be stopping here again if we ever come close again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_the_bee_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

I stayed for one night only as a stopover on the way from Calais to my destination further south. I completely misjudged the length of the drive and arrived hours later than planned but kept the hotel informed. It was almost midnight by the time I arrived and the owner had stayed up to let me in and had arranged a delicious cold meal for me to eat in my room. This was all very reassuring as a single female traveller, by this time pretty exhausted.
The room was simple, clean and comfortable with a good shower and bed. Breakfast was fine and the staff pleasant and helpful.
Very pretty village location and I was sorry I couldn't stay longer. Peaceful location easily accessible from the road between Limoges and Toulouse. I would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nerys H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ussac
2.4 mi away
B&B Hotel Brive-la-Gaillarde
2.5 mi away
Chateau de Lacan
Chateau de Lacan
#3 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
88 reviews
2.5 mi away
Chateau de Castel-Novel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Mercure Brive Hotel
Mercure Brive Hotel
#2 of 4 in Ussac
320 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Kyriad Brive La Gaillarde Ouest
Hotel Kyriad Brive La Gaillarde ...
#15 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
18 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel le Collonges
Hotel le Collonges
#1 of 20 in Brive-la-Gaillarde
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Logis Auberge Saint Jean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Logis Auberge Saint Jean

Property: Logis Auberge Saint Jean
Address: 5 Place de l Eglise, 19270 Ussac, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Correze > Ussac
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Ussac
Hotel Class:2 star — Logis Auberge Saint Jean 2*
Number of rooms: 167
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Logis Auberge Saint Jean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Logis Auberge Saint Jean France/Ussac

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing