We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosting”
Review of Le Puits d'Athie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Puits d'Athie
Ranked #2 of 2 Appoigny B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We arrived travel weary after 8 hours on the road. The host Bruno Fevre suggested a relaxing caraf of wine in his tranquil garden, where he introduced us to American guests and suggested a dinner party for the 4 of us. We were a bit hesitant when we heard the price, 49 euro with wine, but it was served by our host, beautifully presented in a candle lit dining room, 5 courses, and fully entertaining. A lovely surprise. Comfortable room in a 400 year old house, reasonably priced- we had a small room, but he has a range going up to a whole beautifully decorated garden suite.

Room Tip: Pricewise reasonable, small but perfectly adequate for a night, I would have opted for a suite if I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 48 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2012

Bruno is a very kind, gentle host. His wife is a little more shy. We had the 2 room suite as we were three people. Lovely accom., outstanding 1700s? chateau/ villa, heaps of history to it, charming in every sense, lovely leafy quite village environment, the perfect first night to our country France trip. And a bargain price too.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank kent22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

When en route on the A6 take the exit at Appoigny and spend the night here. Even though "Le Puits d'Athie" is a little bit hidden, it's a good place to have a truly peaceful rest. As soon as you enter the gate you come into another world. A lovely garden and the exquisite rooms are waiting. Our room was huge with a big bathroom, quiet and comfortable. Its interior is tastefully decorated with the emphasis on detail. The breakfast was served in the dining room in the main building , we had croissants, bread, home made yoghurt as well as different jams. A great way to start the day. The welcome was very heartful, the price for the room in the upper range, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mortimer1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I agree with the other reviews except our host was not open (honest?) about which services were included and which he would charge us extra for. We found out only when he presented the bill as we were leaving that we were being charged for: the two glasses of wine he so graciously offered us when we arrived, the coffee he offered us at the end of the dinner he served, and the phone call he made to arrange for taxi transfer of our bags. We chose not to challenge the unexpected charges because we were counting on his good will to see to the transfer of our bags to our next stop.

We actually enjoyed our stayed. Were it not for that question of openness and honesty, we would have left feeling good about our visit. So instead we left feeling our host was trying to get every last euro out of us rather than trying to give us an enjoyable experience. We did feel the 43 dinners were not worth the price, but that wasn't a major issue.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank KVVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Le Puits d'Athie was a perfect base in Burgundy for exploring Castles, Vinyards, and the countryside. The rooms are large and lavishly appointed in tasteful colours. The owner Bruno was a perfect host, and gave us many suggestions to help fill our days. Every morning he provided a lovely continental breakfast with fruit, yoghurt, croissants, and home made jams.

The property features a beautiful garden, and a 15th century well. It is a relaxing environment, and we would certainly stay again.

Although there isn't much in the way of restaurants in Appoigny, we found ourselves dining in Auxerre each night, as it is only 15mins drive from Appoigny.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcf171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We choosed the oriantal Suite with the Jaccuzzi; the owner brought the champagne with homemade snacks to our room.. The decoration is done with style and is just beautiful.
We enjoyed the long walks along the river with our Labrador who was most welcome at the hotel.
We definitly will come back and wish to share this address with everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauricup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La suite orientale avait une vue agréable sur le domaine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zayouzayeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appoigny
6.2 mi away
Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres
Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres
#1 of 1 in Villefargeau
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kyriad Auxerre - Appoigny
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Pressoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 3 in Appoigny
416 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Le Puits d'Athie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Puits d'Athie

Address: 1 rue de l Abreuvoir, 89380 Appoigny, Auxerre, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Auxerre > Appoigny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Appoigny
Price Range: $105 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Puits d'Athie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Puits D'Athie France/Appoigny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing