We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All true with one important exception - at least in our case.”
Review of Le Puits d'Athie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Puits d'Athie
Ranked #2 of 2 Appoigny B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 16, 2011

I agree with the other reviews except our host was not open (honest?) about which services were included and which he would charge us extra for. We found out only when he presented the bill as we were leaving that we were being charged for: the two glasses of wine he so graciously offered us when we arrived, the coffee he offered us at the end of the dinner he served, and the phone call he made to arrange for taxi transfer of our bags. We chose not to challenge the unexpected charges because we were counting on his good will to see to the transfer of our bags to our next stop.

We actually enjoyed our stayed. Were it not for that question of openness and honesty, we would have left feeling good about our visit. So instead we left feeling our host was trying to get every last euro out of us rather than trying to give us an enjoyable experience. We did feel the 43 dinners were not worth the price, but that wasn't a major issue.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
1  Thank KVVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 48 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

Le Puits d'Athie was a perfect base in Burgundy for exploring Castles, Vinyards, and the countryside. The rooms are large and lavishly appointed in tasteful colours. The owner Bruno was a perfect host, and gave us many suggestions to help fill our days. Every morning he provided a lovely continental breakfast with fruit, yoghurt, croissants, and home made jams.

The property features a beautiful garden, and a 15th century well. It is a relaxing environment, and we would certainly stay again.

Although there isn't much in the way of restaurants in Appoigny, we found ourselves dining in Auxerre each night, as it is only 15mins drive from Appoigny.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmcf171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We choosed the oriantal Suite with the Jaccuzzi; the owner brought the champagne with homemade snacks to our room.. The decoration is done with style and is just beautiful.
We enjoyed the long walks along the river with our Labrador who was most welcome at the hotel.
We definitly will come back and wish to share this address with everyone.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mauricup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La suite orientale avait une vue agréable sur le domaine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank zayouzayeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Silvia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Martine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Didier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Appoigny
6.2 mi away
Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres
Le Petit Manoir des Bruyeres
#1 of 1 in Villefargeau
69 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kyriad Auxerre - Appoigny
0.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Pressoir
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mercure Auxerre
Mercure Auxerre
#1 of 3 in Appoigny
416 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Le Puits d'Athie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Puits d'Athie

Address: 1 rue de l Abreuvoir, 89380 Appoigny, Auxerre, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Yonne > Auxerre > Appoigny
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Appoigny
Price Range: $105 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Puits d'Athie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Puits D'Athie France/Appoigny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing