We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once nice, now aging property, let down by indifferent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Collection Monterrey
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Once nice, now aging property, let down by indifferent service”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Week-long stay for business, property picked by client.

Obviously this hotel was very nice when new, but that's been some time ago. Lobby is worn (water feature is eating away the wall!) and furniture tired. The potted plants are often over watered so water pools before the farthest elevator, contributing to the musty smell.

Check in took at least 15 minutes because only two of the five staff behind desk are actually doing anything. Oddly, everyone from my company - 4 in total - had problems with the room keycards requiring recoding at least once and some twice a week.

My standard, king room was clean - and kept clean by excellent maidservice all week - but bath linens need replacing. The lack of washclothes was irritating, as was the incredibly slick shower floor.

Bottled water is sometimes placed in the room; whether you're charged or not for it is completely random, as is the in room coffee. There is no clock in the room, so plan to bring an alarm.

Room service is unpredictable; the waiters were very nice and eager to please but the food is not great. The restaurant was the opposite: service was remarkably slow but better food. Fortunately, there are some very good restaurants within a short walk.

The bed itself was the best feature of the room: firm but not hard and good linens.

The hotel is attached to what must be the best shopping mall in the city: stores like Ferragamo, Hugo Boss, Prada as well as Starbucks. But the only bank is at the opposite end and the hotel will not exchange currency at all. The exchange desk in the lobby was never open the entire week I was there.

Overall, it wasn't an actually bad hotel, but could be a very good one with just some attention to detail, especially with the desk service.

Room Tip: I was happy to have a room on a lower floor, as the elevators were slow and often crowded. Higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abgwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    169
    89
    36
    36
See reviews for
100
73
19
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I go often to Monterrey, and last week I decided to give it a try, because of it's location. I only could stand one night, my patience for poor service and bad installations is very short. I arrived at 7pm to do check in, and they tell me, my room is not ready, but that they would give me an upgrade. They put me in a Jr Suite, which I imagine are in the same condition as all the other rooms: old! the rug, looks old, the bathroom wc would not flush correctly and the facets from the sinks, spill the water all over (there is no easy way to control it). The bed was very comfortable (I have to admit it), but the TV, is small and very far away from the bed. And surprise, surprise, when I went to take a shower, NOT HOT WATER! and to top it all ... the wireless internet signal as TERRIBLE ... oh well there is a first time and a last time for everything!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PabloCPenaloza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Another work week with lots of space and comfort. Room space was tremendous and felt just like at home. Great view as well of the Monterrey landscape surrounding the city. I truly recommend this hotel which also has great friendly service!

Room Tip: The higher floor give you the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adeziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mexico
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

This time I stayed in a Jr Suite, the room is great, i had trouble with the wc cause it won't flush properly and the other problem I had was, that the water of the shower was in all the bathroom, it seems that they installed new floor and it was installed wrong, besides those two problems everything was ok

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AristidisPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is the first time I have stayed in this hotel. While I was hoping this would be an awesome place to stay, it's not. First they don't speak a lot of English at the front desk, at least at the time I was there. Once checked in the room is very modern and was clean.
Some things to know: Bring water to drink with you as they charge you for the one bottle in the room. $35.00 Pesos and in small writing it says +15% for service. The in room coffee maker is fine, but the second night I was here they only gave me decaf. On one of the coffee pouches it says $25 for Coffee Kit. I'm not sure if they charge you for it or not. At the desk there needs to be more plugs. The only one I could find is under the desk so you have to crawl under to plug it in. Wireless: you have to get a code from the front desk and it allows you 24 hours of connection for that one device. if you want other devices connected you'll have to ask for other codes.
Shower: I never really got really hot water, but it was warm enough. the shower head is a "rain" type but it could have more pressure. Sink: needs more water pressure and would be nice if it was a little taller. They also need to put something at the sinks to place the soap in after you wash your hands. If you are used to using a washcloth bring one with you as they don't have any.
I did not eat at the restaurant, but I looked at the breakfast offering. It looked OK but not very inviting. The same goes for the room, I felt like I walked into a cafeteria.
One last thing is that to turn on the power in the room you'll need to place your key in the slot. So if you want the AC to stay on while you eat, leave a card in the slot.

The hotel just doesn't have that home feel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
139 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

located in San Pedro, right beside the mall and close to the nicest restaurants in Monterrey and overlooking the beautiful hills with spacious, clean rooms, you can't go wrong with this hotel. It's also easy to get to the airport, $290 MXP (taxi), and to other areas in monterrey. if you are up to for a hike, the "M" is a must, it's a 10 min taxi ride to the trail head. you must get permision. check the internet for details.

Room Tip: choose room in floor 10 to stay close to the gym and ask for a room looking at the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celta r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel is beautiful, spaces are elegant and pretty, the rooms are huge and offer great space to be lounging about. The staff is not friendly at all. Food is also not that great. I did request a couple of things to be fixed in my room and they did it quickly and efficiently.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernanda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro Garza Garcia
4.1 mi away
Fiesta Inn Monterrey Tecnologico
1.6 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Valle
Safi Royal Luxury Valle
#5 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
336 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ms Milenium
Ms Milenium
#1 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quinta Real Monterrey
Quinta Real Monterrey
#6 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
276 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Monterrey Valle
Grand Fiesta Americana Monterrey...
#3 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
93 reviews
1.8 mi away
Live Aqua Urban Resort Monterrey
Live Aqua Urban Resort Monterrey
#7 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Monterrey

Property: NH Collection Monterrey
Address: Avenida Jose Vasconcelos 402, San Pedro Garza Garcia, Monterrey 66268, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey > San Pedro Garza Garcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Pedro Garza Garcia
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro Garza Garcia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Monterrey 4*
Number of rooms: 217
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Monterrey is located at the heart of San Pedro Garza Garcia, one of Mexico's most affluent areas and a world-renowned destination for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Collection Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Monterrey Hotel San Pedro Garza Garcia
NH Collection Monterrey Mexico/San Pedro Garza Garcia, Nuevo Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing