We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Camino Real Monterrey
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This is really a beautiful hotel with very good service. It is located conveniently adjacent to a very large shopping plaza whic has reataurants, cafes, bar scenes and fast food court.
The breakfast in the restaurant is quite complete. However, this restaurant has the lousiest coffee I have ever tasted. I reported it to the waiters. The second day, I walked to Starbucks just a spit distance away to bring my coffee to the restaurant to enjoy with the otherwise nice breakfast. The choice of music they play in the mrning is also quite questionnable: dance music from the 70s and 80s at 8 in the morning and quite loud too! Not for me.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axxam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (397)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 397 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

Quite a strange hotel. Starting with the architecture - lobby looks like an intrance to a modern art museum built in the 80s, with lots of space and stone - so you get a cold feeling up front. Lobby staff neutral and cold. Rooms felt old-style and not too cozy. Was there in February, there was a smell of (but no sign of) remodelling both in the lobby and in the room. Layers of dust on hard to reach surfaces in the lobby.

On the other hand, breakfast was magnificent, best one I've had in years - it's probably one thing I'd come back for despite the rest.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nihsak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My company's sales division chose to have our annual meeting in Monterrey in the beginning of 2013. Many of the attendees of the meeting are frequent travelers to Monterrey and wanted something in the relatively safe and convenient Garza Garcia area. The Camino Real offered a great value to hold a meeting for 25 people and offered competitive room rates.

The hotel has a connecting walkway to the San Agustin plaza, which was convenient for lunch - it's a short walk to a handful of restaurants on the upper level of the plaza. The hotel offered a decent meeting room with friendly beverage and snack service, but I would recommend going elsewhere for meals. The lounge and restaurant in the mezzanine level seemed overpriced for the offerings. Breakfast there was good, but buffet style - the amount of food was a bit much after one day and I found breakfast elsewhere for less the next two days.

The rooms are comfortable, modern, and convenient for longer stays. The bathrooms feature all marble fixtures and a large wardrobe and set of drawers. The showerhead offers a rain-like shower, so if you like a high pressure shower, you may be disappointed. I like the rain-type. The bed was very comfortable and I had a nice view of the mountains from my window. The pool and fitness area were awesome, some of the better facilities I've seen in my travels.

The service, as others have said, was a little spotty. The meeting service was fantastic and the organizer was great to work with. The front desk was so-so. The room service was prompt, however, many of us were billed for mini-bar items which were not used during the stay. I did not notice this until the bill hit my credit card statement. That's unfortunate. I do, however, like the rooms here much better than the Safi across the street.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrd232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Lobby nice and modern. Visited the lounge on the 30th floor. I would not say it is worth the extra money for their breakfast but it is a nice space to work if you need to. We used this space two days in a row for working since access was included in my business partner's room. They serve you drinks and there are some snacks in there.

Breakfast at the restaurant was pretty good. Selection was varied, liked everything I tried except the huevos mexicanos, they tasted terrible (and I know what good huevos mexicanos should taste like, I have lived in Mexico for almost 3 years now).

Good location next to a mall with lots of dining options.

Friendly English-speaking staff. Helpful but not overbearing.

I had room xx12 and it was in a corner so it had an extra window or two. Nice night view. But the best part was the bathroom. Instead of a crappy closet they had built in solid wood drawers, dressing area and closet. So beautiful I took a pic so someday maybe I can have something built like this at home. The warmth of the wood made the bathroom very inviting. Then the rain shower took care of the rest.

Overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: xx12 is in the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABCinATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is good, with large rooms and comfortable. The bathroom is large but the shower area somewhat uncomfortable, think its spaces are not well used. The hotel service is not very warm. The advantages of this hotel is connected to a shopping center with dining options. Overall a comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorgecancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

An excelent place to be, great rooms with an amazing view to the rocky mountains,
With the swet nature of the Mexican people, a great know how of services.
Excelent food, provided by different restaurant, Vice, Kyo and a great room service if you dont want to move and a great spa, to take good care of your body and your sowl.

Room Tip: Room 2412 with a huge terrace a hamac, a jacuzi and the inmensity of the sierra madre just in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurvois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Location is a plus. Near San Agustin Plaza (shopping Mall). Rooms are great. Spacious, clean and well mainteined. Prices are reasonable but sneaky. They charge for bottled water and coffee in your room. I do not recommend the Bistro restaurant neitrher the Bar, they have a very slow service. But fortunately the hotel is close to a wide variety of excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chamukin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro Garza Garcia hotels
0.1 mi away
Quinta Real Monterrey
Quinta Real Monterrey
#6 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
312 reviews
0 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Valle
Safi Royal Luxury Valle
#7 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
372 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Monterrey
NH Collection Monterrey
#5 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Monterrey Valle
Grand Fiesta Americana Monterrey...
#1 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Monterrey Valle
Holiday Inn Monterrey Valle
#14 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ms Milenium
Ms Milenium
#2 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Monterrey

Address: Avenida Diego Rivera 2492, San Pedro Garza Garcia, Monterrey 66200, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey > San Pedro Garza Garcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Pedro Garza Garcia
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro Garza Garcia
Price Range: $133 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Monterrey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Camino Real account with Business Center, Droug Store, Pool, Gym , Spa , Bar , Meeting Rooms, Helipad, access Camino Real Club and Restaurants Bice Bistro and Kyo Grill. Our Schedule: Business Center and Droug Store Monday to Friday7:00 am - 10: 00 pm, Saturday and Sunday 09:00am to 17:00pm Bice Bisto Monday to Sunday 06:00 am - 1:00 am Kyo Grill Monday to Saturday 7:00 pm - 2:00 am Spa 8:30 am to 8:00 pm Pool 8:00 am to 8:00 pm Gym 6:00 am -11:00 pm The Hotel Camino Real is located in Valle Oriente , the most exclusive area of Monterrey where can perform tourist activities or business close to major attractions , for example by located steps from the Mall Plaza Fiesta San Agustin and Main Entrance a spacious outdoor area and terraces of restaurants Premium and Gourmet. Located just 20 minutes from Paseo Santa Lucia, 2.5 Km artificial lake . Also 12km south of Monterrey, is Chipinque , nature reserve, for walking , cycling practice , climbing, Free Flight , with a spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Camino Real Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Monterrey Hotel San Pedro Garza Garcia
Camino Real Monterrey Mexico/San Pedro Garza Garcia, Nuevo Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing