We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A top 3 for a great Monterrey stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Camino Real Monterrey
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Monterrey has cold winters and very hot summers. Monterre sees itself as a serious business city, despite that given its size and activity, it could also have some recreational travellers visit more often. The city' business orientation and proximity and influence from the Texas culture are evident everywhere. Pretty much all fast food chains operate in the city and business class hotels and inns are very popular, with even the European low-cost hotel chains have opened in the city.

The Camino Real is one of the newest openings and is located in what is considered to be the areas safest neighborhoods inside the municipality of San Pedro Garza Garcia. The hotel is adjacent and actually connected to one of the city' largest shopping malls. Neighboring are the flashier art-deco Safi hotel and the old-school Quinta Real.

My room was nicely appointed, but some intimacy is lost in the bathroom with open toilet areas and very thin door.

One BIG flaw is the lack of proper shades/curtains. Sunlight bursts into your room very early and it is ver difficult to sleep after 6 am.

The hotel's pool is very nice and actually offers very good relaxng opportunities. The gym is very adequate for a Monterrey business hotel. Bice Bistro is extremely popular with locals, so it can be difficult for guests to find a table for lunch or sunday brunch.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank Ultraplur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 385 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

Good location, full service hotel, safe and secure, very comfortable. Good choice for visiting Monterrey for business.

Rooms are nice but seeing some wear after only 5 years. Was given a dirty room upon check in, seem to have had problems with the computer and housekeeping.

Great breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Try to get a high room with a view of the "Cerro de la silla".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel8286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I stayed in that hotel for one night and it was Great. Great service with a large room great pool and great breakfast' really clean and really impressive.
It have a great location near a shopping center with great restaurant.

Room Tip: If You want a room with a private balcony that near the pool so ask to be in 2 floor. the room numbe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aviv A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I was only in Monterrey for a day but I enjoyed this hotel a lot: the architecture was fantastic and the staff was friendly and courteous. The rooms were large and mine had a balcony with a decent view of San Pedro. The Gym was sufficient and the pool was nice. Overall I can't complain.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EcuaMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

We paid 1,000 usd for a room that looked nice then their was 60 little animals their was an accident with their automatic curtains and pam at checkout i got hit with a 500 usd charge i spent 1500 usd for one night stay . Nobady go their go across the street to el safi awsome service!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eddierbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

The Camino Real is well located, and a good option for a business trip.

My wife and I visited on a family trip (over New Year's), and we did encounter several problems. First, our assigned room looked (and smelled) like it had not been used (or opened) in weeks. There was dust everywhere and the bathroom smelled like raw sewage, musty and damp.

We requested (and got) a room change in the same floor and although better, it showed signs of aging and lack of upgrades.

Our room faced east (mountain view). Nice view, but since the black-out shutters on the windows are so poorly designed and broken in some places it is IMPOSSIBLE to keep the light out and it will wake you up at around 5:30 to 6:00 AM.

Furthermore, there is a huge construction site just outside the hotel (also on the east-facing side) which is VERY loud and starts around 7AM. Not a problem when you have to wake up ealy for a business meeting, but a nightmare when you try to get a bit more sleep.

The rest of the infrastructure is good, although the BICE restaurant is not impressive. There is another Asian restaurant which we didn't go to, but it seems to be quite hip and popular.

Again, reasonable for a business trip, but if you plan some personal / vacation time there, I definitely suggest looking for other options.

Room Tip: If you plan to sleep later than 5:30 AM... DO NOT get an east (mountain) facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael-Mx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The Camino Real chain has about 15 properties in Mexico, The Monterrey hotel is is an attractive, safe part of the city adjacent to a mall. The style is Mexican contemporary, with lots of polished stone and colorful ceramics. As of Jan. 2012, prices were quire reasonable - $105 for a moderately large, well-furnished room with a king sized bed, desk and large well-appointed bathroom. But be aware of the room tax that a gets tacked on -- about 20% will be added to the bill. Wired internet costs about $10 a day and the bandwidth was more than adequate for email.

There's a nice buffet breakfast with Mexican specialties, fresh fruit and a limited selection of cereals the seemed tuned to kids. The coffee at breakfast was below par. The hotel staff was friendly and you won't be at a disadvantage if your only language is English.

Checking was smooth but the checkout process was painfully slow. The reserve charge put on your credit card has to be deleted and the actual charge put on it, and it took almost 10 minutes.

Whatever you may read in the paper about drug killings in Mexico, both Monterrey and the hotel felt quite secure.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msandman1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pedro Garza Garcia
0.1 mi away
Quinta Real Monterrey
Quinta Real Monterrey
#7 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
297 reviews
0.0 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Valle
Safi Royal Luxury Valle
#5 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
363 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Collection Monterrey
NH Collection Monterrey
#3 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Monterrey Valle
Grand Fiesta Americana Monterrey...
#1 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Monterrey Valle
Holiday Inn Monterrey Valle
#14 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
Safi Royal Luxury Towers
#14 of 96 in Monterrey
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camino Real Monterrey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camino Real Monterrey

Address: Avenida Diego Rivera 2492, San Pedro Garza Garcia, Monterrey 66200, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey > San Pedro Garza Garcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in San Pedro Garza Garcia
#7 Business Hotel in San Pedro Garza Garcia
Price Range: $122 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camino Real Monterrey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Camino Real account with Business Center, Droug Store, Pool, Gym , Spa , Bar , Meeting Rooms, Helipad, access Camino Real Club and Restaurants Bice Bistro and Kyo Grill. Our Schedule: Business Center and Droug Store Monday to Friday7:00 am - 10: 00 pm, Saturday and Sunday 09:00am to 17:00pm Bice Bisto Monday to Sunday 06:00 am - 1:00 am Kyo Grill Monday to Saturday 7:00 pm - 2:00 am Spa 8:30 am to 8:00 pm Pool 8:00 am to 8:00 pm Gym 6:00 am -11:00 pm The Hotel Camino Real is located in Valle Oriente , the most exclusive area of Monterrey where can perform tourist activities or business close to major attractions , for example by located steps from the Mall Plaza Fiesta San Agustin and Main Entrance a spacious outdoor area and terraces of restaurants Premium and Gourmet. Located just 20 minutes from Paseo Santa Lucia, 2.5 Km artificial lake . Also 12km south of Monterrey, is Chipinque , nature reserve, for walking , cycling practice , climbing, Free Flight , with a spectacular view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Camino Real Monterrey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camino Real Monterrey Hotel San Pedro Garza Garcia
Camino Real Monterrey Mexico/San Pedro Garza Garcia, Nuevo Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing