We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“basic decent hotel, nothing special, lots of families w children”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Monterrey Valle
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 11, 2010

Upon first impression, I thought this hotel was perfectly adequate. Nice sized room, flat screened tv, small fridge, and the thing that I liked best about it was the minimal white noise from the a/c and the fridge.
But my god - the hotel is chock full of families with screaming children that you absolutely can't get away from. Breakfast brunch is headache-inducing, the pool is packed, the music at the pool is blaring.
I would -not- recommend this hotel for the business travel looking to get some work done.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrpu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

69 - 75 of 322 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2010

The rooms are very outdated.
Having to share the pool with an outsider's birthday party not really pleasant, this happened almost on a daily basis.
Staff compared to any other Mexican hotels I've stayed ranks the worst.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Damiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

Location is fine, but it is 40 minutes from the airport, so it's not close. Service by all staff with no exceptions except one housekeeper who cracked a smile, is uniformly dry, efficient and unwelcoming. The room, a king, is actually a queen and is small. Bed is comfortable as are linens. Towels, one per person. Bathroom is a rectangle taking up part of the larger rectangle and walls are very thin and definitely not soundproof. You can hear toilet paper being ripped if you get the idea. Iron plugs in in bathroom only which is a pain. The instant Nescafe, creamer and cheap coffee machine make for awful morning coffee: that machine can also only be plugged in in the bathroom-handy.

Pool is nice and cold which is great in the heat, but it hardly makes up for a lackluster property.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BillLawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2008

I am writing this review from the hotel as it has free internet access -both wireless and wired. The wifi signal is strong in the 3 areas I have tried it: room, conference room & lobby area.

The room I have a room on the 13th floor with a king bed (which does have a mattress and box spring) that is quite comfortable. The bathroom is large, there is a tub, enough towels, and a clothes line in the tub if needed.

There is an ironing board and iron in the closet, the closet is large and has 8 hangers including 4 with pants clips. There is a safe in the closet that has instructions in English. It is large enough for a laptop. There are telephone directories in the room.

Coffee maker and supplies are in the room, a bottle of water, and a small refrigerator. There are drawers for storage and a suitcase shelf on the very long desk. There are adequate easily reached electrical outlets and LAN ports on the desk. The alarm clock is easily programmed. There is a ~27inch TV with ~15 channels in both English and Spanish.

The desk chair is farily comfortable, there is a small coffee table and another casual chair. There is a small day bed that would be appropriate for children sharing the room.

There are 2 large mirrors in the room (not counting those in the bathroom) which makes it convenient for more than one person to dress at the same time.

There is a small box on the wall near the door which controls the lights in the room - you must insert your key or the lights go out in about 10 minutes. This both saves energy as the lights go out when the key is removed as you leave the room, and it makes it easy to find the key that I often toss somewhere in the room. The door locks are adequate.

There is a shoe buffer near the elevator. There are three fairly quick elevators (1 of which is being serviced today) The floor map in the elevator explaining the named floors (PB & PM) is in both English and Spanish.

The restaurant service is quick, reliable and trilingual. The lunch buffet is quite good. There are hot foods, cold cuts, salads, a salad bar, and many very tasty desserts. It is about 13US with a diet coke and coffee.

Room service is quick and the Turkey /ham /cheese sandwich I had was nice and ~9USD. There is a free continental breakfast from 0400 -0600, and after that room service breakfast can be ordered by door hangtag or calling room service.

While I did not use the pool it looked very nice and it was much larger than most business hotel pools I have seen. The meeting rooms are nice and the staff seems efficient.

The front desk staff is helpful providing directions, suggesting a barbers shop, making change, and check in took less than 2 minutes. They do require you sign a blank credit card voucher, but this is a very common practice in Mexico and I have never had a problem nor do I expect one here when I check out.

There are plenty of taxis readily available. There are several restaurants nearby. I had to walk to a nearby building to go to a Big4 firm's office and I saw Italian, Mexican, Chinese, and a Sirlon Stockade within a block of the Novotel.

Adjacent to the Novotel is the Ibis- both Accor hotels (I have never stayed in an Ibis in Mexico but they are nice in Ireland) they share a parking garage and engineering staff which seems to be a plus as there were no problems with either. The A/C worked well in the room, and the valet parking was inexpensive.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank mdoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2008

This is not your tipycal American hotel, you can definetly feel the Euro-style in the room with some funky color and no mattress bed, on which I slept perfecly fine. Breakfast at the hotel was complementary and there was plenty of food to sattisfy anyone. The hotel parking was super cheap and using valet (Paid like $2 or $4) for the entire stay. The hotel is well located with many restaurants nearby (Including my favorite Pacifica), there is also a mall just a block away. Almost forgot to tell you about the hotel pool, it is very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank alonsoflor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2008

Spent 5 nights at the Novotel in January 2008. The hotel is clean and comfortable, though it helps to be tall to climb in and out of the shower/tub. Other than that, no complaints. The restaurant is open late and serves good food all day. The location is good, but not much within walking distance. Cabs are cheap and always available. My son is in university in Monterrey, so we will visit often, and I will most likely return to Novotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank beaurick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2006

Stayed here one night with my husband in a king non-smoking room that was clean and minimalist. The bed was very unconfortable (without box spring). The staff was friendly, the restaurant served very good breakfast.

The hotel shares the underground parking with the Ibis Hotel. It is located in probably one of Monterrey's main avenues (many car dealers around) A lot of traffic, but fortunatly we heard no noises at night (8th floor).

We did not use the pool, but the area looked nice. There is an Italian restaurant (Italianisimo) near by which was very good.

Our stay was only one night for business and since we did not knew the area we choose the hotel because it was very close to where we were going and the price was reasonable. But now that we've seen what is around, we will probably stay at the Presidente Intercontinental next time because is only a few blocks away and the beds are probably better.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laislapr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Pedro Garza Garcia hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Ibis Monterrey Valle
Hotel Ibis Monterrey Valle
#10 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
299 reviews
1.9 mi away
NH Collection Monterrey
NH Collection Monterrey
#5 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
725 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Fiesta Americana Monterrey Valle
Grand Fiesta Americana Monterrey...
#1 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fiesta Inn Monterrey Valle
Fiesta Inn Monterrey Valle
#4 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
425 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Monterrey Valle
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mon...
#9 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
20 reviews
1.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Monterrey Valle
Comfort Inn Monterrey Valle
#15 of 15 in San Pedro Garza Garcia
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Monterrey Valle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Monterrey Valle

Address: Ave Lazaro Cardenas 3000 | Esq Dr Alt Valle Oriente, San Pedro Garza Garcia, Monterrey 66269, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Northern Mexico > Nuevo Leon > Monterrey > San Pedro Garza Garcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Pedro Garza Garcia
#6 Business Hotel in San Pedro Garza Garcia
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Pedro Garza Garcia
Price Range: $81 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Monterrey Valle 4*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Novotel Monterrey Valle is a 4 star, located in the vibrant financial district of Valle Oriente, close to shopping centres, parks, restaurants and within easy reach of Mariano Escobedo International Airport. This hotel offers 238 modern and comfortable rooms, a restaurant, a bar, fitness centre, 8 conference rooms, wireless internet access and is ideally suited for business, seminars and social events. Take a break or enjoy a family weekend and enjoy the largest swimming pool in Monterrey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Novotel Monterrey Valle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Monterrey Valle Hotel San Pedro Garza Garcia
Novotel Nuevo Leon
Novotel Hotel Monterrey Valle
Nuevo León Novotel
Novotel Monterrey Valle Mexico/San Pedro Garza Garcia, Nuevo Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing